Skip to main content

Environmental Studies Research Guide: Home

Information resources for Environmental Studies research and study.

Start Here / Best Databases

  • EBSCO Combined Search - Search Academic Search Complete; Business Source Complete; Environment Complete.
  • Web of Science - Indexes the world’s leading peer reviewed, journal literature in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities and provides searching of cited references from 1900 to the present.
  • Google Scholar - Scholarly literature across many disciplines and sources.
  • WorldCat - Catalog of materials in libraries worldwide.
  • Google Books - Snippet and full-text views of books as they are scanned by the Google Book Project.

Other Relevant Databases

For an overview of the Cycle of Scientific Communication click here: Scientific Communication.

For an outline of a Comprehensive Science Literature Review click here: Science Literature Review.

For tips on improving database search results click here: Improving Database Search Results.

 

Suggested databases:

  • AgEcon - Scholarly Literature of Agriculture and Applied Economics.
  • AGRICOLA - Agriculture, botany, forestry, grazing, range management, and Forest Service reports.
  • Agricultural & Environmental Sciences Database - Agricultural, environmental science and pollution literature.
  • Alternative Press Index - Alternative, radical and left periodicals, newspapers and magazines.
  • Business Source Complete - All subject areas related to business.
  • CAB Abstracts - Agriculture, forestry, animal health, nutrition, recreation and tourism, rural sociology, soils, and veterinary science.
  • Environment Complete - Environmental literature.
  • ERIC (Education Resources Information Center) - World's largest index to the literature of education.
  • HeinOnline - Law Journals and full text access to full runs of the Federal Register, Statutes at Large, presidential documents, Congressional Record, Supreme Court opinions. Access provided by the UM Law School.
  • PubMed - Health and medical literature, plus dentistry, molecular biology, nursing, parasitology, and veterinary medicine.
  • Science.Gov - Gateway to U.S. government science information.
  • SciTech Connect (USE DOE) - Energy related scientific and technical information collected by the U.S. Department of Energy.
  • TOXLINE - Index of toxicology literature.
  • Worldwide Political Science Abstracts - Political science and its complementary fields: international relations, law, and public administration/policy.
  • WorldWideScience.org - Federated searching of national and international scientific databases and portals.

Journals

Search specialized journals when looking for articles on your research topic. Some suggested browsing examples to look at are: Annual Review of Environment and Resources; Agriculture and Human Values; Ecological Restoration; Environmental Education Research; Environmental Health Perspectives; Environmental Science & Technology; Frontiers in Ecology and the Environment; Journal of Environmental Education; Journal of Environmental Psychology; Journal of Rural Studies; Natural Areas Journal; Society & Natural Resources.

 

To Browse Journal Titles click here: Mansfield Library Journals or here Citation Linker.

Browse or Search Ejournal Packages (note: Some allow keyword searching of article fulltext):

For an explanation of Popular vs. Scholarly (magazines versus research journals) click here: Popular vs. Scholarly.

For an explanation of Peer Review click here: Peer Review in 5 Minutes.

For an overview of placing article alerts click here: Article Alerts.

To evaluate, compare, and rank journals using citation data click on: Journal Citation Reports and/or on Scimago.

Book Catalogs

Book catalog resources:

  • WorldCat - All time periods; Library Union Catalog; Books, Media, Government Documents, etc.
  • Google Book Search - Snippet and full-text views of books as they are scanned by the Google Book Project.
  • OneSearch - Mansfield Library collections

For a detailed view of Dewey Decimal call numbers click on: Dewey Decimal Classification Summaries.

News & Current Events

  • Access NewspaperARCHIVE - Collection of digitized historical and recent newspapers from US and other countries.
  • Access World News: Research Collection - Research current and archived news content for information on topics, events, issues, people, businesses, and more.
  • BNA Environment Reporter - A source of legal, regulatory, and business information for professionals. Coverage spans the full range of legal practice areas, including tax & accounting, labor & employment, intellectual property, banking & securities, employee benefits, health care, privacy & data security, human resources, and environment, health & safety. Access provided by the UM Law School.
  • Bozeman & Great Falls Newspaper Index
  • ClimateWire - Coverage of the politics and business of climate change.
  • CQ Researcher Plus Archive - Original, comprehensive reporting and analysis on issues in the news.
  • Environment & Energy Publishing - Tracks environmental and energy action in Congress.
  • Environment News Service - Independently operated, daily, international wire service for issues and events affecting the environment.
  • Environmental News Network - Online environmental news and knowledge resources for environmental science.
  • Ethnic NewsWatch - Interdisciplinary database of non-mainstream viewpoints from the ethnic, minority and native press.
  • GenderWatch - Women’s studies and gender studies.
  • Google News - News headlines and events; also try archive search.
  • Greenwire - Coverage of environmental and energy politics and policy.
  • Lexis Nexis Academic - News sources on all topics, business information, legal journals, medical topics.
  • Missoulian - Also try Advanced Search Options.
  • Missoulian Index
  • Mother Nature Network - News and information on environmental and social responsibility issues.
  • New York Times Historical - (1851-2004) Full-text and full-image articles. Includes complete paper, cover-to-cover, with page and article images in downloadable PDF.
  • Yahoo News - Top news headlines and current events.

Dictionaries, Encyclopedias & Handbooks

  • AccessScience - online McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of Science and Technology.
  • Beacham's Guide to Environmental Issues & Sources (363.7 B365)
  • Encyclopedia of Agricultural Science (630.3 E56)
  • Encyclopedia of Earth
  • Encyclopedia of Energy Technology & the Environment (333.7903 E56)
  • Encyclopedia of Environmental Analysis & Remediation (628 E56)
  • Encyclopedia of Environmental Biology (574.503 E56)
  • Encyclopedia of Environmental Ethics and Philosophy and (179.1 E5641)
  • Encyclopedia of Environmental Issues (363.7003 E5636)
  • Encyclopedia of Environmetrics (363.700727 E5641)
  • Encyclopedia of Global Change (363.7 E563)
  • Encyclopedia of Global Warming and Climate Change - Online encyclopedia.
  • Encyclopedia of Human Biology (612.003 E56)
  • Encyclopedia of Hydrological Sciences - Covers the understanding and management of fresh water resources.
  • Encyclopedia of Inland Waters - Online encyclopedia covering the biology, chemistry, geology, and physics of inland aquatic habitats worldwide at all scales from marshes and swamps to ponds, lakes, streams and rivers.
  • Encyclopedia of Ocean Sciences (Second Edition) - Online encyclopedia covering the biology, chemistry, geology, and physics of the oceans.
  • Encyclopedia of World Environmental History (304.2 E5648)
  • Environmental Encyclopedia (363.7003 E61)
  • Information Sources in Environmental Protection (363.7 I434)
  • Issues and Controversies Online - Provides information on more than 800 hot topics in business, politics, government, education, and popular culture.
  • LEED Rating Systems - Information about Leadership in Energy & Environmental Design (LEED) an internationally recognized green building certification system.
  • McGraw Hill Encyclopedia of Environmental Science (304.203 M147)
  • Opposing Viewpoints Reference Center - Controversial social issues and current events.
  • Points of View Reference - Full-text essays that present multiple sides of a current issue.
  • Resources on Oil Spills....A Selected Bibliography
  • Rocky Mountain Mineral Law Foundation Digital Library - Scholarly articles dealing with all aspects of natural resources law published by the Rocky Mountain Mineral Law Foundation from 1955 to date. Access provided by the UM Law School.
  • Statistical Record of the Environment (363.730973 D6959s)
  • Wikipedia - An encyclopedia that is written & edited anonymously & collaboratively.
  • Wiley Encyclopedia of Energy and the Environment (333.7903 E56)
  • Wiley Encyclopedia of Environmental Pollution and Cleanup (628.5 M6138)

Legislation & Laws & Regulatory Information

Legislation & Laws & Regulatory Information: Public Notices of Regulatory Actions / Concerns: Administrative Laws Published in the Register and Codified: Permanent Edition of the Laws Passed in a Legislative Session: The Laws Currently in Effect:

Web Sites - Search Engines

For hints on how to use search engines effectively, take a look at the following: Finding and Evaluating Web Sites.

 

Some suggested search engines are:

Web Sites - Meta Sites & Directories

Citation Guides

Need help?

Barry Brown's picture
Barry Brown
Contact:
Barry Brown

Science Librarian

Head, Access & Collection Services

Mansfield Library, The University of Montana

32 Campus Drive. #9936

Missoula, MT 59812-9936

406-243-6811; Office ML 327