Start Here / Best Databases
- SciFinder - Comprehensive index to chemistry information and literature.
- Web of Science - Multidisciplinary index.
NOTE: The above databases will also be duplicated in the sections on databases and books.
Other Relevant Databases
For an overview of the Cycle of Scientific Communication click here: Scientific Communication.
For an outline of a Comprehensive Science Literature Review click here: Science Literature Review.
For tips on improving database search results click here: Improving Database Search Results.
Suggested databases:
- Academic Search Complete - Multidisciplinary, full-text database.
- Business Source Complete - All subject areas related to business.
- Dissertations, ProQuest Digital - Indexes doctoral dissertations.
- Environmental Science and Pollution Management - Environmental science and pollution literature.
- PubMed - Health and medical literature, plus dentistry, molecular biology, nursing, parasitology, and veterinary medicine.
- Science.gov - Gateway to U.S. government science information.
- Scirus - Science-specific Web search engine.
- Toxline - Index to toxicology literature.
Journals
Search specialized magazines and journals when looking for articles on your research topic. Some of the browsing examples to look at are: Analytical Chemistry; Biochemistry; Chemical Reviews; Chemical Society Reviews; Inorganic Chemistry; Journal of Combinatorial Chemistry; Journal of Medicinal Chemistry; Journal of Natural Products; Nature Chemistry; Organometallics; Surface Science Reports.
To Browse Titles or Journals by Subject, click here: Mansfield Library Journals.
Browse or Search Ejournal Packages (NOTE: Some allow keyword searching of article fulltext):
- American Chemical Society Web Editions
- Annual Reviews
- Chemistry Central
- ScienceDirect
- SpringerLink Ejournals
- Wiley
For an explanation of Popular vs. Scholarly (magazines versus research journals) click here: Popular vs. Scholarly.
For an explanation of Peer Review click here: Peer Review in 5 Minutes.
For an overview of placing article alerts click here: Article Alerts.
To evaluate, compare, and rank journals using citation data click on: Journal Citation Reports or on Eigenfactor.
To find full journal titles from abbreviations, especially older titles, use CAS Source Index.
Book Catalogs
- The University of Montana Catalog - All time periods: Books, Media, Government Documents, etc.
- WorldCat - All time periods; Library Union Catalog; Books, Media, Government Documents, etc.
- Google Book Search - Snippet and full-text views of books as they are scanned by the Google Book Project.k
For search hints, take a look at: UM Catalog Help.
Main Dewey Decimal call numbers for browsing Chemistry materials in the Mansfield Library book stacks or library catalog:
540 Chemistry & allied sciences- 541 Physical & theoretical chemistry
- 542 Techniques, equipment, materials
- 543 Analytical chemistry
- 544 Qualitative analysis
- 545 Quantitative analysis
- 546 Inorganic chemistry
- 547 Organic chemistry
- 548 Crystallography
- 549 Mineralogy
For a more detailed view of Dewey Decimal call numbers click on: Dewey Decimal Classification Summaries
Dictionaries & Encyclopedias
- AccessScience - Encyclopedia of Science & Technology Online
- Cassell Dictionary of Chemistry (540.3 H3216c)
- Comprehensive Chemometrics
- Concise Encyclopedia Chemistry (540.3 A111)
- Dictionary of Chemical Names and Synonyms (660.03 H851)
- Dictionary of Organometallic Compounds (547.0503 D554)
- Dictionary of Steroids (574.1924303 D554)
- Encyclopedia of Chemical Technology (660.3 E56)
- Encyclopedia of Computational Chemistry (542.85 E56)
- Encyclopedia of Inorganic Chemistry (546.03 E56)
- Encyclopedia of Physical Science and Technology (503 E56)
- Encyclopedia of Reagents for Organic Synthesis (547.2 E56)
- Encyclopedia of Spectroscopy and Spectrometry (543.0858 E5646)
- Facts on File Dictionary of Chemistry (540.3 F1428)
- German Dictionary of Chemistry, Langenscheidt Routledge (540.3 L275)
- Glossary of Chemical Terms (540.3 H229)
- Great Chemists (540 F219)
- Hawley's Condensed Chemical Dictionary (540.3 H396 1997)
- IUPAC Compendium of Chemical Terminology
- Macmillan Encyclopedia of Chemistry (540.3 M167)
- McGraw-HIll Dictionary of Chemistry
- Treatise on Geochemistry
- Wikipedia
- Women in Chemistry and Physics (540 W872)
Handbooks, Tables, and Data
- The Aldrich Library of 13C and 1H FT NMR Spectra (547.30877 A365)
- ChemBank
- The Chemical Database, University of Akron
- Chemical Engineer's Handbook (660.28 P465)
- Chemical Structure Lookup Service
- The Chemist's Ready Reference Handbook (543 S562)
- ChemlDplus NLM
- ChemSpider
- Comprehensive Biological Catalysis (572.7 C737)
- Comprehensive Natural Products Chemistry (547.7 C73784)
- Comprehensive Organic Transformations (547.2 L328c)
- Comprehensive Organometallic Chemistry (547.05 C737)
- CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics (541.9 H236)
- CRC Handbook of Data on Organic Compounds (547 C111)
- CRC Handbook of Pesticides (615.902 C111)
- Drugbank
- eMolecules
- The Elements (546 E559)
- Enhanced NMR Periodic Table
- Handbook of Critical Constants of Solids (530.412 H23649)
- Handbook of Data on Common Organic Compounds (547.00212 H236)
- The Handbook of Infrared and Raman spectra of inorganic compounds and organic salts (543.08543 N997 Q Oversize)
- Handbook of Spectroscopy (535.84 C111)
- Heterocycles
- Lange's Handbook of Chemistry (540 H236)
- The Merck Index: an encyclopedia of chemicals. drugs, and biologicals (615.103 M5558)
- NIST Chemistry WebBook
- Organic Compounds Database, Colby College
- Organic Syntheses
- Periodic Table (CRC Press)
- Periodic Table - Visual Interpretation
- Periodical Table - WebElements
- Physical Reference Data, NIST
- Polymer Handbook (547.7 P783)
- Properties of Aqueous Solutions of Electrolytes (541.372 P965)
- PubChem
- Quantities, Units, and Symbols in Physical Chemistry (541.3014 Q1)
- Registry of mass spectral data (545.33 S825r Q Oversize)
- Sigma-Aldrich Catalog
- Solvents Database, National Center for Manufacturing Sciences
- Spectral Database for Organic Compounds
- Stereoselective Synthesis: Methods of Organic Chemistry (541.223 S8382)
- Tables of Isotopes (541.388 L473)
- USGS Digital Spectral Library
Toxicology Databases
- Agency for Toxic Substances and Disease Registry
- Chemical Information (includes ChemlDplus)
- Cosmetic Safety Reviews
- Environmental Fate Data Base
- EPA Databases and Software
- EPA Envirofacts
- ExToxNet (Extension Toxicology Network)
- Household Products Database
- MSDS Index (SIRI)
- Toxic Release Inventory
- Toxipedia
- Toxline
- ToxNet (Toxicology Network)
- Where to find Material Safety Sheets (MSDS) on the internet
Grants and Funding Sources
Web Sites - Search Engines
For hints on how to use search engines effectively, take a look at the following: Finding and Evaluating Web Sites.
Some suggested search engines are:
Web Sites - MetaSites & Directories
- American Chemical Society
- BioChemWeb: Virtual Library of Biochemistry
- Chemical Information Sources
- Chemistry Center (Martindale's)
- Chemistry Databases on the Web
- Chemistry Information Resources on the Internet - Oxford
- ChemWeb Chemistry Portal
- Free Patents Online
- Google Patent Search
- Information Resources for Chemistry & Biochemistry (UCSB)
- International Union of Crystallography
- Links for Chemists
- Organic Chemistry Portal
- Selected Internet Resources for Chemistry
- SpectroscopyNOW
- U.S. Patents
- Virtual Chemistry
- WWW Chemistry Guide
- Yahoo Chemistry
Web Sites - Educational Resources for Instruction
- ChemCollective (NSDL)
- Chem Info for the Non-Practitioner SLA
- Chemical Education Resource Shelf
- Chemical Literature Course UCSB
- Chemistry for Kids
- Chemistry Information Sources
- Clearinghouse for Chemical Information Instructional Materials
- Information Competencies for Chemistry Undergraduates
- Journal of Chemical Education
- Journals - Chemistry Education
- LearnNet (RSC)
- Resources for Teaching Chemistry
- XCITR Chem Info Teaching Resources
Citation Guides
Here are some resources to help you manage your bibliographies:
- ACS ChemWorx
- The ACS Style Guide (808.06654 A187)
- ACS Style Guidelines Quick Guide
- EndNote
- Quick Guide to Citing - Using the ACS Style Guide, 3rd Ed.
- Refworks
Need help? |
Contact Info Barry Brown Science Librarian Head, Access & Collection Services Mansfield Library, The University of Montana 32 Campus Drive. #9936 Missoula, MT 59812-9936 406-243-6811; Office ML 327 Send Email Links: Profile & Guides |






Loading...
