Skip to main content

Forest Management Research Guide: Home

Information resources for Forest Management or Forestry research and study.

Start Here / Best Databases

  • Web of Science - Indexes the world’s leading peer reviewed, journal literature in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities and provides searching of cited references from 1900 to the present.
  • Treesearch - U.S. Forest Service publications.
  • Google Scholar - Scholarly literature across many disciplines and sources.
  • CAB Abstracts - Agriculture, forestry, animal health, nutrition, recreation and tourism, rural sociology, soils, and veterinary science.
  • Agricola - Agriculture, botany, forestry, grazing, range management, and Forest Service reports.

Other Relevant Databases

For an overview of the Cycle of Scientific Communication click here: Scientific Communication.

For an outline of a Comprehensive Science Literature Review click here: Science Literature Review.

For tips on improving database search results click here: Improving Database Search Results.

 

Suggested databases:

Journals

Search specialized journals when looking for articles on your research topic. Some suggested browsing examples are: Canadian Journal of Forest Research; Forest Science; Forest Ecology and Management; Tree Physiology; Journal of Forestry; Forest Products Journal; Southern Journal of Applied Forestry; Agroforestry Systems; Northern Journal of Applied Forestry.

 

To Browse Journal Titles click here: Mansfield Library Journals or here Citation Linker.

Browse or Search Ejournal Packages (NOTE: Some allow keyword searching of article fulltext):

For an explanation of Popular vs. Scholarly (magazines versus research journals) click here: Popular vs. Scholarly.

For an explanation of Peer Review click here: Peer Review in 5 Minutes.

For an overview of placing article alerts click here: Article Alerts.

To evaluate, compare, and rank journals using citation data click on: Journal Citation Reports or on Scimago.

Book Catalogs

Book catalog resources:

  • WorldCat - All time periods; Library Union Catalog; Books, Media, Government Documents, etc.
  • Google Books - Snippet and full-text views of books as they are scanned by the Google Book Project.
  • National Agricultural Library Catalog - All time periods, books, journal articles,media, government documents.
  • OneSearch - Mansfield Library collections.

Main Dewey Decimal call numbers for browsing Forestry materials in the Mansfield Library book stacks: 634.9 and 333.7

For a detailed view of Dewey Decimal call numbers click on: Dewey Decimal Classification Summaries.

Main Government Document call numbers for browsing Forestry materials in the Mansfield Library book stacks on Level One: A 13

Research Papers A 13.78 (Initials of Station - Number of Paper)
Research Notes A 13.79 (Initials of Station - Number of Note)
Resource Bulletin A 13.80 (Initials of Station - Number of Bulletin)
General Technical Report A 13.88 (Initials of Station - Number of Report)
U.S. Forest and Range Experiment Stations Station Initials
Forest Products Laboratory FPL
Intermountain Research Station INT
North Central Forest Experiment Station NC
Northeastern Forest Experiment Station NE
Pacific NorthWest Forest and Range Experiment Station PNW
Rocky Mountain Forest and Range Experiment Station RM
Southeastern Forest Experiment Station SE
Southern Forest Experiment Station SO
U.S.D.A., Forest Service, Washington, D.C. WO

See U.S. Forest Service Publications for more information.

Dictionaries, Encyclopedias and Handbooks

Web Sites - Search Engines

For hints on how to use search engines effectively, take a look at the following: Finding and Evaluating Web Sites.

 

Some suggested search engines are:

Citation Guides

Here are some resources to help you manage your bibliographies:

Need help?

Barry Brown's picture
Barry Brown
Contact:
Barry Brown

Science Librarian

Head, Access & Collection Services

Mansfield Library, The University of Montana

32 Campus Drive. #9936

Missoula, MT 59812-9936

406-243-6811; Office ML 327