Librarian contact
Welcome
Here you will find resources to connect you with current and historical government information.
COVID-19
Ben Franklin
Benjamin Franklin is the unofficial mascot for the Government Publishing Office (GPO).
What's New?
New Government Documents
Reviews of new government documents and resources.
Class Assessment
Finding Government Documents
Federal government information is still making its way online. Recent reports are often available online, but historical materials are slowly being digitized by agencies, libraries, and corporate vendors. The majority of historic government information is available in print at this time.
Tracking down older government information can be challenging (but worthwhile). Items from 1976-present should be in the library catalog, but items prior to 1976 are not necessarily in the catalog. The library is working on getting records for all of its government documents in the catalog, but it will take time to reflect 200 years worth of material in the catalog. If there isn't a record for the item you want in the catalog, the library may still own it; remember the 1976-present limitation. Try WorldCat, the digital Serial Set, or some of the print indexes to track down a call number.
You can always ask the Government Documents librarian for help in finding a government report. This is why we're here.
- ProQuest Congressional (Formerly LexiNexis)This database provides excellent access (1789-present) to Congressional hearings & select legislative histories. Provides call numbers for hearings and citation information for the Serial Set. Note the Serial Set volume number & the document number.
- U.S. Congressional Serial SetA treasure trove for historic government reports, this resource includes agency and exploration reports, publications of special commissions, bill reports, executive branch correspondence, and much more. The database allows full-text access to reports.
- Digital National Security ArchiveThe Digital National Security Archive contains more than 104,000 declassified documents regarding critical U.S. policy decisions. There are 44 complete collections, each offering specialized insights. Integrated searching allows exploration of policy across several different areas at once.
- Federal RegisterRegulations, proposed regulations, notices and presidential papers.
- HeinOnline This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
This database provides the full text of all Supreme Court opinions, the U.S. Statutes at Large (all public and private laws), treaties and agreements, Presidential documents, the Code of Federal Regulations, and the Federal Register.
- HeinOnline: American Indian Law CollectionWith more than 700 unique titles and 750,000 pages dedicated to American Indian Law, this collection includes an expansive archive of treaties, federal statutes and regulations, federal case law, tribal codes, constitutions, and jurisprudence.This collection also includes legislative histories and links to scholarly articles. Access provided by the UM Law School.
- HeinOnline: U.S. Congressional Documents LibraryFull text of the Congressional Globe (1833-1873), Congressional Record (1873-present), Statutes at Large (U.S. laws), American State Papers, Territorial Papers of the U.S. and more. Access provided by the UM Law School.
- Congressional RecordFree access to bound volumes of the Congressional Record
- HeinOnline: U.S. Federal Agency LibraryDecisions, opinions, and orders of many federal agencies. Access provided by the UM Law School.
- Catalog of Government Publications (CGP)This is the update to the Monthly Catalog of U.S. Government Publications. It covers documents from 1976 through the present, and provides links to new reports on the web. This is a free database.
- GovInfoProvides access to various congressional sources like the Congressional Record, bills & laws, Presidential reports, the Federal Register, the CFR from around the mid-1990's through the present, and much more. Contains official publications from all three branches of the Federal Government.
- USA.govUSA.gov is the U.S. government's official web portal to all federal, state, and local government web resources and services. As the catalyst for a growing electronic government, USA.gov helps citizens navigate through government red tape. At USA.gov, you can apply for benefits online, contact a government agency, or use the Internet's most comprehensive search of government websites—all from one easy location. This is a free database.
- Search Library CollectionsSearch the physical and electronic collections of Mansfield Library and other MUS libraries.
- Worldcat (FirstSearch)An advanced search of libraries around the world.
FDLP
This image of a stylized eagle with its wing encircling a book is the official symbol of the Federal Library Depository.
Additional Useful Databases
- Chronicling AmericaSearch America's historic newspaper pages from 1789-1922 or use the U.S. Newspaper Directory to find information about American newspapers published between 1690-present.
- Congress.govCongressional information 1973-present
- FBI-The VaultThe Vault is our new FOIA Library, containing 6,700 documents and other media that have been scanned from paper into digital copies so you can read them in the comfort of your home or office.
- Historical Statistics of the United States (HSUS) This link opens in a new windowA digital version of a classic Census publication cumulating historical statistics of the U.S. Provides easier access by subject and tables.
- Homeland Security Digital Library (HSDL) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Full text documents related to homeland security policy, strategy, and organizational management from sources including federal, state and local governments, international governments and institutions, nonprofit organizations and private sector entities, and think tanks, research centers, colleges and universities. Produced by the Center for Homeland Defense and Security (CHDS).
- National Climatic Data Center (NCDC)Provides access to current and historical weather data for the U.S. Free data for users from .edu domains.
- Science.govGateway to U.S. government science information--a free and powerful resource