Start Here / Best Databases
- Web of Knowledge Combined - Search Web of Science; Biosis; Medline; and Zoological Record combined.
- Google Scholar - Scholarly literature across many disciplines and sources.
- CAB Abstracts - Agriculture, forestry, animal health, nutrition, recreation and tourism, rural sociology, soils, and veterinary science.
- WorldCat - Catalog of materials in libraries worldwide.
- Google Books - Snippet and full-text views of books as they are scanned by the Google Book Project.
NOTE: The above databases will also be duplicated in the sections on databases and books.
All Relevant Databases
For an overview of the Cycle of Scientific Communication click here: Scientific Communication.
For an outline of a Comprehensive Science Literature Review click here: Science Literature Review.
For tips on improving database search results click here: Improving Database Search Results.
Suggested databases:
- Academic Search Complete - 1975-present; Multidisciplinary index to journal and magazine and newspaper articles; some full text articles.
- Agricola - 1970-present; Comprehensive index to agriculture and forestry (includes USFS research).
- Business Source Complete - All subject areas related to business.
- CAB Abstracts - 1900-present; Comprehensive index to agriculture, forestry, life sciences, recreation and tourism, rural sociology.
- Environment Complete - 1940's-present; Scholarly articles and books related to environmental issues and policy.
- Environmental Sciences and Pollution Management - 1967-present; Scholarly articles, books, conference proceedings, etc. related to environmental science.
- Forestry Databases - Forestry related databases from the University of Minnesota.
- FS Info - All time periods; Government Reports, books, conference proceedings, etc. related to forest recreation, etc.
- Google Scholar - All time periods; Scholarly articles, books, conference proceedings, etc; Multidisciplinary; Citation Tracking.
- Science.gov - Gateway to U.S. government science information.
- SPORTDiscus - All time periods; Scholarly articles, books, conference proceedings, etc. related to sports, recreation, etc.
- TreeSearch - All time periods but mostly 1998-present; Forest Service research publications available online.
- Web of Science - 1970-present; Articles; Comprehensive multidisciplinary science index; Citation Tracking.
- Wilderness.net - All time periods; Comprehensive information about wilderness, stewardship, laws, agency policies, etc.
Journals
Search specialized magazines and journals when looking for articles on your research topic. Some of the browsing examples to look at are: Annals of Tourism Research; Biological Conservation; Conservation Biology; Environmental Ethics; Environmental Values; Environmental Philosophy; Environmental Management; International Journal of Wilderness; Journal of Ecotourism; Journal of Environmental Management; Journal of Heritage Tourism; Journal of Leisure Research; Journal of Sustainable Tourism; Leisure Sciences; Leisure Studies; Mountain Research and Development; Natural Areas Journal; Parks; Tourism Management.
To Browse Titles or Journals by Subject, click here: Mansfield Library Journals.
Browse or Search Ejournal Packages (note: some allow keyword searching of article fulltext):
For an explanation of Popular vs. Scholarly (magazines versus research journals) click here: Popular vs. Scholarly.
For an explanation of Peer Review click here: Peer Review in 5 Minutes.
For an overview of placing article alerts click here: Article Alerts.
To evaluate, compare, and rank journals using citation data click on: Journal Citation Reports or on Eigenfactor.
Book Catalogs
- The University of Montana Catalog - All time periods: Books, Media, Government Documents, etc.
- WorldCat - All time periods; Library Union Catalog; Books, Media, Government Documents, etc.
- National Agricultural Library Catalog - All time periods, books, journal articles, media, government documents.
- Google Book Search - Snippet and full-text views of books as they are scanned by the Google Book Project.
For search hints, take a look at the following: UM Catalog Help.
Dictionaries, Directories, Encyclopedias & Handbooks
- America's Wilderness: the complete guide... (796.5 T581a)
- Federal Register
- Hiking Trails, Western U.S. (917.8 R161h)
- Local Hikes
- NatureServe
- Parks Directory of the U.S. (790.068 S645p)
- State by State Trails
- Trails.com
- Wikipedia
Legal, Legislative and News Information Sources
Web Sites - Search Engines
Web Sites - Meta Sites & Directories
- Agriculture Network Information Center
- American Trails
- BUG: Backpacker's Ultimate Guide
- Explore Nature (NPS)
- GORP Great Outdoors Recreation Page
- International Union for the Conservation of Nature (IUCN)
- Missoula City Parks & Recreation
- Montana Fish, Wildlife, & Parks
- Montana Natural Heritage Program
- Montana Recreation Activities
- Montana Wilderness Association
- National Biological Information Infrastructure
- National Recreation Trails
- National Trails System
- Parks, Forests, Public Lands (GORP)
- Protected Areas (UNEP)
- Recreation and Leisure Studies (Sociosite)
- Recreation and Leisure Studies (Yahoo)
- Recreation.gov
- Trail Journals
- UM Institute for Tourism & Recreation Research
- USDA Forest Service
- U.S. Department of the Interior
- U.S. National Marine Protected Areas
- U.S. National Wildlife Refuge System
- Water Trails
- Wilderness (Yahoo)
- World Commission on Protected Areas
- World Conservation Monitoring Centre (UNEP)
- World Heritage (UNESCO)
Citation Guides
Need help? |
Contact Info Barry Brown Science Librarian Head, Access & Collection Services Mansfield Library, The University of Montana 32 Campus Drive. #9936 Missoula, MT 59812-9936 406-243-6811; Office ML 327 Send Email Links: Profile & Guides |






Loading...
