Ask Us! We're Here to Help
Chat with a librarian
Our live chat is active from 10am-4pm Monday-Friday during semesters, otherwise you can leave an offline message!
View common questions about the library, including information about borrowing items, accessing online resources, using library space, and more!
Stay up-to-date with the latest library news, events, and research tips!
Welcome!
This guides brings together key resources to support your work in chemistry courses and projects. Inside, you will find access to databases for scholarly articles, chemistry journals, and trusted websites that provide background information and data. Whether you are beginning a research paper, looking for the latest scientific studies, or exploring reliable online tools, this guide is designed to help you find the information you need quickly and efficiently.
Databases
In addition to the resources below, see the Journals page for journal-specific databases.
-
American Chemical Society Publications This link opens in a new window
Full text of over 30 research journals covering the chemical and related sciences published from 1879-present. Includes the archives of the ACS Symposium Series ebooks published 1974-2008; post-2009 not licensed.
-
SciFinder This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive index of chemical substances, reactions, and literature—including journal articles, patents, conference papers, dissertations, reports, and more—spanning chemistry and related sciences. New users of SciFinder should refer to more… for instructions on completing the one-time registration. Existing users needing help with account access or expired logins should contact help@cas.org for assistance. Click the "?" icon above to explore tutorials for SciFinder and its related solutions.
SciFinder now includes these solutions. Direct links are below or select within the SciFinder app (via the vertical three dot menu).
CAS Analytical Methods – Log in with your SciFinder account. Search tools and information to find the best step-by-step method to get started or overcome roadblocks in the middle of a project.
CAS Formulas – Log in with your SciFinder account. Detailed, searchable information on product formulations across industries such as pharmaceuticals, cosmetics, food, and agriculture.
-
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive research platform that indexes high-quality, peer-reviewed journals across disciplines including science, social science, arts, and humanities. It offers powerful tools for citation analysis and enables users to track scholarly references from 1900 to the present.
-
Dissertations & Theses Global, ProQuest This link opens in a new window
Index to dissertations and theses from over 3,000 institutions in 88 countries. Full text coverage spans from 1743-present, with citation coverage dating back to 1637. Note: Dissertations & Theses Global may also be searched and accessed via Web of Science, as well as OneSearch.
-
PubMed This link opens in a new window
Includes MEDLINE, a leading database of scholarly journal articles in the life sciences, with a strong focus on biomedicine. The resource also features additional life science journals and online books, covering disciplines such as behavioral sciences, chemical sciences, and bioengineering.
To streamline your research process, consider installing the LibKey Nomad browser extension—it simplifies access to full-text articles and enhances navigation across academic platforms.
-
Science.govGateway to U.S. government science information.
-
TOXLINE
Effective Jun 13, 2025, the U.S. National Library of Medicine has retired TOXLINE and it will no longer be updated. Updated TOXLINE content is available in PubMed by searching with the search string: tox [su]. For toxicology research, see also ProQuest Central.
What Is a Library Database and Why Should I Use One?
A library database is an online collection of scholarly resources such as journal articles, research papers, reviews, and other academic materials. Unlike general internet searches, databases give you access to reliable and often full-text resources that you can’t always find freely online. View the video below to understand how to use a database, and which database to choose.