Skip to main content

Cellular & Molecular Biology, Genetics, Microbiology Research Guide: Home

Information resources for Cellular & Molecular Biology, Genetics, or Microbiology research and study.

Start Here / Best Databases

  • Web of Science - Indexes the world’s leading peer reviewed, journal literature in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities and provides searching of cited references from 1900 to the present.
  • Google Scholar - Scholarly literature across many disciplines and sources.
  • PubMed - Health and medical literature, plus dentistry, molecular biology, nursing, parasitology, and veterinary medicine.

Other Relevant Databases

For an overview of the Cycle of Scientific Communication click here: Scientific Communication.

For an outline of a Comprehensive Science Literature Review click here: Science Literature Review.

For tips on improving database search results click here: Improving Database Search Results.

 

Suggested databases:

  • GIDEON - Global Infectious Diseases & Epidemiology Online network is an interactive and comprehensive tool used for diagnosis and reference in the fields of tropical and infectious diseases, epidemiology, microbiology and antimicrobial chemotherapy.
  • IndexCat - Index Catalogue of the Library of the Surgeon General's Office, 1880-1961.
  • SciFinder - Comprehensive index to chemistry information and literature. Notes: login from library database page; see information about initial registration for first time users.

Journals

Search specialized journals when looking for articles on your research topic. Some suggested browsing examples to look at are: Annual Review of Biochemistry; Annual Review of Cell & Developmental Biology; Annual Review of Microbiology; Cell; Cell Host & Microbe; Clinical Microbiology Reviews; Genome Biology; Molecular Cell; Journal of Biological Chemistry; Journal of Virology; Nature; Nature Medicine; Nature Structural & Molecular Biology; Nature Reviews Microbiology; Physiology; PLoS Biology; Science.

 

To Browse Journal Titles click here: Mansfield Library Journals or here: Citation Linker.

Browse or Search Ejournal Packages (NOTE: Some allow keyword searching of article fulltext):

For an explanation of Popular vs. Scholarly (magazines versus research journals) click here: Popular vs. Scholarly.

For an explanation of Peer Review click here: Peer Review in 5 Minutes.

For an overview of placing article alerts click here: Article Alerts.

To evaluate, compare, and rank journals using citation data click on: Journal Citation Reports and/or on Scimago.

Book Catalogs

Book catalog resources:

  • WorldCat - All time periods; Library Union Catalog; Books, Media, Government Documents, etc.
  • Google Book Search - Snippet and full-text views of books as they are scanned by the Google Book Project.
  • Bookshelf - Life science and healthcare.
  • OneSearch - Mansfield Library collections.

For a detailed view of Dewey Decimal call numbers click on: Dewey Decimal Classification Summaries.

Dictionaries, Encyclopedias & Handbooks

Web Sites - Search Engines

For hints on how to use search engines effectively, take a look at the following: Finding and Evaluating Web Sites.

 

Some suggested search engines are:

Citation Guides

Here are some resources to help you manage your bibliographies:

Need help?

Barry Brown
Contact:
Barry Brown

Science Librarian

Head, Access & Collection Services

Mansfield Library, The University of Montana

32 Campus Drive. #9936

Missoula, MT 59812-9936

406-243-6811; Office ML 327