Start Here / Best Databases
- Web of Knowledge Combined - Search Web of Science; Biosis; Medline; and Zoological Record combined.
- Google Scholar - Scholarly literature across many disciplines and sources.
- Agricola - Agriculture, botany, forestry, grazing, range management, and Forest Service reports.
- WorldCat - Catalog of materials in libraries worldwide.
- Google Books - Snippet and full-text views of books as they are scanned by the Google Book Project.
NOTE: The above databases will also be duplicated in the sections on databases and books.
Other Relevant Databases
For an overview of the Cycle of Scientific Communication click here: Scientific Communication.
For an outline of a Comprehensive Science Literature Review click here: Science Literature Review.
For tips on improving database search results click here: Improving Database Search Results.
Suggested databases:
- Academic Search Complete - 1975-present; Multidisciplinary index to journals and magazines; Some full-text articles.
- Agricola - 1970-present; Comprehensive index to agriculture and forestry (includes USFS research).
- CAB Abstracts - Agriculture, forestry, animal health, nutrition, recreation and tourism, rural sociology, soils, and veterinary science.
- Fire Ecology Database - Citations of fire ecology literature produced by the Tall Timbers Research Stations
- Fire Sciences Lab - Citation Retrieval System (CRS) - 1890-present; Comprehensive index to fire literature.
- Forestry Databases (University of Minnesota) - Index to publications relating to Forestry.
- Google Scholar - Scholarly literature across many disciplines and sources.
- Science.gov - Gateway to U.S. government science information
- Treesearch - U.S. Forest Service publications.
- Web of Science - Multidisciplinary science index.
Journals
Search specialized magazines and journals when looking for articles on your research topic. Some of the browsing examples to look at are: Canadian Journal of Forest Research; Fire Management Today; Forest Ecology and Management; International Journal of Wildland Fire; Wildfire .
To Browse Titles or Journals by Subject, click here: Mansfield Library Journals.
Browse or Search Ejournal Packages (note: Some allow keyword searching of article fulltext):
For an explanation of Popular vs. Scholarly (magazines versus research journals) click here: Popular vs. Scholarly.
For an explanation of Peer Review click here: Peer Review in 5 Minutes.
For an overview of placing article alerts click here: Article Alerts.
To evaluate, compare, and rank journals using citation data click on: Journal Citation Reports or on Eigenfactor.
Book Catalogs
Consider various subject headings appropriate to your research topic when searching for books in catalogs. A partial list of headings to use are: wildfires; wildfire; forest fires; fire ecology; fire management.
Book catalog resources:
- The University of Montana Catalog - All time periods: Books, Media, Government Documents, etc.
- WorldCat - All time periods; Library Union Catalog; Books, Media, Government Documents, etc.
- National Agricultural Library Catalog - All time periods, books, journal articles, media, government documents.
- Google Book Search - Snippet and full-text views of books as they are scanned by the Google Book Project.
For search hints, take a look at: UM Catalog Help.
For a detailed view of Dewey Decimal call numbers click on: Dewey Decimal Classification Summaries.
Dictionaries, Encyclopedias & Handbooks
- AccessScience - McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of Science & Technology
- Dictionary of Forestry (634.903 T319)
- Dictionary of Natural Resource Management (333.703 D926d)
- Encyclopedia of Environmental Biology (574.503 E56)
- Encyclopedia of Fire (363.3703 N561f)
- Encyclopedia of Forest Sciences
- Encyclopedia of World Timbers (634.97 B778)
- Fire Effects Information System - Plant & Animal Information
- Fire in North American Wetland Ecosystems...bibliography
- Forestry Glossaries
- References on the American Indian Use of Fire in Ecosystems
- The Literature of Forestry and Agroforestry (634.9 L776)
- Terminology of Forest Science: Technology, Practice and Byproducts (634.903 T319)
- Wikipedia
Legal, Legislative and News Information Sources
Web Sites - Search Engines
For hints on how to use search engines effectively, take a look at the following: Finding and Evaluating Web Sites.
Some suggested search engines are:
Web Sites - Meta Sites & Directories
- Active Fire Mapping
- Agriculture Network Information Center
- Canadian Interagency Forest Fire Centre
- European Forest Fire Information System
- Federal Wildland Fire Management Policy
- Fire and Park Resources (Sequoia; Kings Canyon)
- Fire Information for Resource Management System
- Fire Management Employment
- Fires and Smoke
- FireWise
- Forest Fire in Canada
- GeoMAC Wildland Fire Support
- Global Fire Monitoring Center
- InciWeb (Incident Information System)
- Montana DNRC Forestry - Fire
- Montana Fire Conditions
- Montana Wildfire Smoke Updates
- National Interagency Fire Center
- Northern Rockies Coordinating Group
- Northern Rockies Coordination Center
- UM National Center for Landscape Fire Analysis
- United Nations FAO Forests and Fire
- U.S. Drought Monitor
- U.S. Forest Service Fire & Aviation Management
- U.S.F.S. - RMRS - Fire Sciences Lab
- Wildland Fire Restrictions
- WRAS - Wildland Fire Assessment System
Citation Guides
Need help? |
Contact Info Barry Brown Science Librarian Head, Access & Collection Services Mansfield Library, The University of Montana 32 Campus Drive. #9936 Missoula, MT 59812-9936 406-243-6811; Office ML 327 Send Email Links: Profile & Guides |






Loading...
