Finding Journal Articles in Art Education
Locating articles will help you find more about current trends, research, and sometimes lesson plans in art education. You will need your NetID and password when you access these databases from outside the Mansfield Library.
One quick strategy to locate art-related material within the general education databases such as Education Full Text and Professional Development Collection is to type the search terms "Art -- Study & teaching" (spelled out with the hyphens and ampersand) in the first text box and select "SU" or subject from the drop down box. Then type in a more specific term in the second text box. Note, this strategy only works with the EBSCO platform databases.
- Art Index Retrospective This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Index to articles, interviews, film reviews, book reviews, bibliographies, exhibition listings, conference reports, anthologies, and editorials on a variety of art topics appearing in publications throughout the world from 1929-1984.
- Education Full TextCovers over 350 education-related periodicals from 1996 through present. Index contained in the Omnifile Full Text Mega database.
- Educator's Reference Complete This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full text articles from scholarly, professional, trade, and news publications covering education from preschool to college and all educational specialties. - ERIC (Education Resources Information Center) This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window- This link opens in a new window
Index to education-related scholarly and professional journal articles, research reports, curriculum and teaching guides, conference papers, books, and government publications from 1966-present. Project of the U.S. Department of Education.
Art Curriculum Materials
Browse books by call number on level 2 of the library:
* 371.9044
* 372.5
* 707
* 740
* These items are mainly located in the Curriculum Collection and Children's Collection.
Browse books by subject:
Books on Art Education
- Art--Study and Teaching BROKENClick here to browse more materials on art education. The link will take you to another index of links with subheadings. Simply click on the subject link that interests you.
Browse books by call number on both level 2 and level 4 of the library:
* 707
* 740
Browse books by subject:
Journal titles in Art Education
Browse or perform keyword searches within these journal titles online.
- Art EducationClick on this link to view issues from 2002-present.
- Arts and ActivitiesClick on this link to access issues from 1990 through the present.
- Arts Education Policy ReviewClick on this link to access issues from 1997-present.
- International Journal of Education and the ArtsClick on the above link to access issues from 2000-present.
- International Journal of Education Through ArtClick on the above link to access issues from 2005 through the present.
- Journal of Social Theory and Art EducationClick on the above link to access issues from 2010-present.
- Scholastic ArtClick on the link above to access issues from 1999-2002.
- Teaching Artist JournalClick on the above link to access issues from 2003-present.
- Teaching ToleranceSearch issues from 1996 through the present.
Internet Resources For Art Education
- The Gateway to 21st Century SkillsContains a plentiful number of teaching resources. You can search by discipline (such as art) or by keyword.
- Library of Congress' Classroom Materials -- For TeachersYou can browse lesson plans according to a theme or according to a discipline. You can also find lesson plans that incorporate primary resources held at the Library of Congress which have been digitized.
- NAEA Featured PortfoliosSearch portfolios and lesson plans of teachers and art education students.
- National Gallery of Art (NGA) Lessons and ActivitiesYou can find free classroom resources for teachers from the National Gallery of Art. Browse through lesson plans by subject at the bottom of the page or you can perform a keyword search.
- OER (Open Educational Resources) CommonsContains about 30,000 teaching and learning materials that are free to use through Creative Commons licenses.
- "What Do You Need to Know" by Olivia GudeE-Portfolio of Olivia Gude