Research Guides: Visual and Performing Arts Resources Research Guide: Dance Periodical Indexes

Dance Periodical Indexes

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
You may have already used this article database for other course work, but it can provide you with a multidisciplinary approach to dance research.

Need an article from a dance-related academic journal or magazine? Here are some dance- and performing arts-specific resources to help you get started.

You can also browse our periodical holdings in the subject area of dance by clicking here.

You will need your NetID and password in order to connect to these resources from off campus. Click here for more information.

Access World News: Research Collection This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full text current and archived articles from U.S. and global news sources. Date coverage varies with individual newspaper.
ERIC (Education Resources Information Center) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Although geared towards general education, you can also locate dance-related education articles.
Humanities & Social Sciences Index Retrospective: 1907-1984 This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Index to articles and book reviews covering a wide-range of humanities, social sciences, and interdisciplinary fields from core scholarly English-language periodicals, as well as a number of lesser-known specialized magazines. Produced by H.W. Wilson.

International Index to the Performing Arts Full Text
This resource covers a wide array of performing arts-- including dance. In many cases, you can access the full text of the articles from the results lists.

JSTOR This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This can help you find full text of historical scholarly dance articles. If you need current scholarly research on a dance topic, please use Project Muse, IIPA, Research in Dance, or others.
ARTstor on JSTOR
Existing ARTstor logins automatically work on JSTOR. The separate artstor.org platform will be available until Aug 1, 2024, when it is scheduled to be retired.

Open Access books on JSTOR
More than 10,000 open access (OA) books from 125+ publishers, including Brill, Cornell University Press, University College of London, and University of California Press.

19th Century British Pamphlets
Nearly 26,000 pamphlets from collections in seven universities spanning more than one million pages. Brings together a corpus of primary sources for the study of sociopolitical and economic factors impacting 19th-century Britain.

New Collections Added Aug 2023
Thematic Collections
Three collections focusing on emerging areas of research and containing multiple types of content, including journals and open research reports. Collections include:
•Lives of Literature - Academic journals devoted to the deep study of writers and texts associated with core literary movements.
•Security Studies - Academic and open policy research on international and national security problems and foreign policy issues.
•Sustainability - Academic and open policy research on environmental stresses and their impact on society. Looks at sustainability and resilience through a broad lens spanning more than 30 disciplines.

Primary Sources
Global Plants
A growing collection of nearly three million high-resolution type plant specimens and related materials from over 300 community contributors around the world.

Struggles for Freedom: Southern Africa
27,000 objects and 190,000 pages of documents and images related to the liberation struggles and end of Apartheid in Southern Africa during the 20th Century, with an emphasis on Botswana, Mozambique, Namibia, South Africa, and Zimbabwe.

World Heritage Sites: Africa
More than 86,000 objects of visual, contextual, and spatial documentation of African heritage and rock art sites.
Nexis Uni (formerly LexisNexis Academic) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This resource can help you find information on contemporary dancers, dance concert reviews, or choreographers. Lexis Nexis Academic mainly searches newspaper articles from major U.S. and World resources.
New York Times Historical This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
(1851-2020) Full text digitized newspaper articles. Includes complete paper, cover-to-cover.
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full text scholarly journals in the fields of: area and ethnic studies; art and architecture; creative writing; education; film, theater, and performing arts; history; language and linguistics; library science and publishing; literature; medicine and health; music; philosophy; religion; science, technology, and mathematics; social sciences; studies by time period; women's studies, gender, and sexuality.

Research in Dance Education (NDEO Dance Education Literature and Research Descriptive Index
Covers articles and other forms of literature related to dance education. There is no full-text access from this resource, but you can write down the source or article and journal titles to search them in the catalog.