How Do I Find Sound Recordings?
We have over 10,000 CDs, nearly 8,000 LPs, and subscription access to two sound recording databases: NAXOS Music Library and Music Online.
In this list, I've also included links to Internet sites which may allow you to freely listen to and/or download music covered under Creative Commons licenses.
- Music Online: Listening This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Streaming audio collection of over 10 million tracks, with new content added monthly. Provides coverage in breadth and depth across the key musical genres of classical, jazz, world, american, and popular. Access limited to 3 users. See more...for a listing of the genre collections included.
- Naxos Music Library This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Streaming tracks from over 2.2 million Naxos and affiliated labels, including classical, world, folk, jazz, and Chinese music, and background information about the tracks. Includes tools for creating playlists to be enjoyed by individuals or groups.
- ccMixterTracks in this site are covered by CC licenses. Search function may not be the greatest, but they have a large library of music to browse.
- IMSLP RecordingsIMSLP provides access to public domain scores and has recently added recordings covered by Creative Commons licenses.
- Internet Archive-- Audio ArchiveThe Internet Archive contains audio files and you can browse several sub-collections. Many contain historical recordings.
- JamendoSound recordings here are available for free download under Creative Commons Licenses.
- MusopenSound recordings available from this site, but they could still be under copyright or are under a Creative Commons license. You need to create a free account to access the recordings.