Research Guides: Visual and Performing Arts Resources Research Guide: World Dance

Finding articles

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full text scholarly journal, trade publication, magazine and newspaper articles, books, book reviews, reports, and Associated Press video content, covering all subject areas.
Access World News: Research Collection This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full text current and archived articles from U.S. and global news sources. Date coverage varies with individual newspaper.
Performing Arts Periodicals Database (formerly International Index to the Performing Arts Full Text) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Index to over 395 scholarly and popular performing arts journals, plus full text coverage of over 160 of those titles from 1964-present.
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full text scholarly journals in the fields of: area and ethnic studies; art and architecture; creative writing; education; film, theater, and performing arts; history; language and linguistics; library science and publishing; literature; medicine and health; music; philosophy; religion; science, technology, and mathematics; social sciences; studies by time period; women's studies, gender, and sexuality.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full text of all 2,800+ academic journals on JSTOR that span more than 60 disciplines across the humanities, social sciences, and natural sciences, along with millions of primary sources across four collections: Global Plants, 19th Century British Pamphlets, Struggles for Freedom: Southern Africa, and World Heritage Sites: Africa. Also explore 3+ million images from ARTstor and over 10,000 open access books. Note: The library does not license any collections of fee-based books from JSTOR.
ARTstor on JSTOR
Existing ARTstor logins automatically work on JSTOR. The separate artstor.org platform will be available until Aug 1, 2024, when it is scheduled to be retired.

Open Access books on JSTOR
More than 10,000 open access (OA) books from 125+ publishers, including Brill, Cornell University Press, University College of London, and University of California Press.

19th Century British Pamphlets
Nearly 26,000 pamphlets from collections in seven universities spanning more than one million pages. Brings together a corpus of primary sources for the study of sociopolitical and economic factors impacting 19th-century Britain.

New Collections Added Aug 2023
Thematic Collections
Three collections focusing on emerging areas of research and containing multiple types of content, including journals and open research reports. Collections include:
•Lives of Literature - Academic journals devoted to the deep study of writers and texts associated with core literary movements.
•Security Studies - Academic and open policy research on international and national security problems and foreign policy issues.
•Sustainability - Academic and open policy research on environmental stresses and their impact on society. Looks at sustainability and resilience through a broad lens spanning more than 30 disciplines.

Primary Sources
Global Plants
A growing collection of nearly three million high-resolution type plant specimens and related materials from over 300 community contributors around the world.

Struggles for Freedom: Southern Africa
27,000 objects and 190,000 pages of documents and images related to the liberation struggles and end of Apartheid in Southern Africa during the 20th Century, with an emphasis on Botswana, Mozambique, Namibia, South Africa, and Zimbabwe.

World Heritage Sites: Africa
More than 86,000 objects of visual, contextual, and spatial documentation of African heritage and rock art sites.
Nexis Uni (formerly LexisNexis Academic) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full text content from more than 15,000 news, legal, and business sources. Includes print and online journals, television and radio broadcasts, newswires and blogs, as well as local, regional, national and international newspapers, legal sources for federal and state cases and statutes, business information on U.S. and international companies and executives.

Encyclopedias (online and in print)

Print resources will have a call number underneath the linked title. Online resources will not. Please click on the linked title to learn more about the item.

Garland Encyclopedia of World Music
780.9 G233
Grove Music Online (now Oxford Music Online)
New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians, The New Grove Dictionary of Opera, and The New Grove Dictionary of Jazz. Access limited to 8 concurrent users.
International Dictionary of Modern Dance
Q 792.803 I61

Search Google Scholar for World Dance topics

Media

JVC Anthology of World Music and Dance
Call Number: DVD 01845

Ethnographic Video Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Streaming classic and contemporary ethnographies, documentaries and shorts from every continent as well as full text transcripts, interviews, field notes, and study guides covering human culture and behavior, including culture and cultural change, kinship and family, economic systems and globalization, gender and sexuality, religion and ritual, and language and communication. Note: The library only owns the videos in volume I of the collection.
Naxos Music Library This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Streaming tracks from over 2.2 million Naxos and affiliated labels, including classical, world, folk, jazz, and Chinese music, and background information about the tracks. Includes tools for creating playlists to be enjoyed by individuals or groups.