Government Information Librarian
Suggested Readings
Rulemaking by Call Number: KF5411 .K47 2011 (William J. Jameson Law Library)ISBN: 0872893375Publication Date: 2010-08-05Rulemaking is the single most important function performed by government agencies. While Congress and the president provide the general framework for the government′s mission, rulemaking fills in the details that define the law and delineate how each agency carries out its responsibilities. Cornelius Kerwin, and new co-author Scott Furlong, update this highly regarded text with new data, fresh analysis of interest groups′ participation in rulemaking, as well as coverage of the Obama administration′s early actions, from executive orders and key personnel to agencies′ responses to changes. An invaluable and accessible guide to this intensely political process, Rulemaking contains the most current scholarship on a crucial yet understudied subject.
Contemporary Regulatory Policy by Call Number: KF5411 .E58 2006 (William J. Jameson Law Library)ISBN: 1588264114Publication Date: 2006-07-01What is regulation? Why do governments regulate, and how does regulatory change take place? Exploring these and other questions, the second edition of Contemporary Regulatory Policy demystifies the field of regulatory politics. Eisner, Worsham, and Ringquist have completely updated their examination of the regulatory process in seven major areas: antitrust, banking and securities, telecommunications, environmental protection, occupational safety and health, consumer products, and energy. They also address the extent to which presidential partisanship, ideological shifts in Congress, and other forces, both within and external to government bureaucracy, influence regulation. Recognizing that no single theory can sufficiently explain regulatory politics, the authors offer students a comprehensive set of tools for navigating recent policy transitions and considering the future direction of US regulation.
The Regulators by Call Number: 342.73066 S6293r (Mansfield Library)ISBN: 0742519082Publication Date: 2003-02-25This book addresses Formal Methods (FMs) applicable to the specification, verification, implementation, and testing of complex distributed systems and communication protocols. The early, pioneering phases in the development of Formal Methods, with their conflicts between evangelistic and skeptical attitudes, are essentially over. Many Fms have reached maturity, and a number of papers in this book report on successful experiences in specifying and verifying real distributed systems and protocols. The main topics covered are: model checking theory and applications; verification and theorem proving; testing theory and applications; multicast protocol analysis and simulation; hardware specification, implementation, and testing; FMs for security. /LIST Formal Methods for Distributed System Development compiles the proceedings of the Joint International Conference on Formal Description Techniques for Distributed Systems and Communication Protocols (FORTE XIII) and Protocol Specification, Testing, and Verification (PSTV XX), which was sponsored by the International Federation for Information Processing (IFIP) and held in Pisa, Italy, in October 2000. This volume is suitable as a secondary text for graduate-level courses on software engineering, distributed systems, and communications, and as a reference both for researchers and for industry practitioners.
Citation Guide
Need help with APA, MLA, Chicago, etc. citations? Check the Citation Style Guides and Management Tools LibGuide.
Search Across Journals in Key Databases
- Worldwide Political Science Abstracts This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Index to the international journal articles and citations to book reviews drawn from over 750 core serials publications, as well as abstracts of books, book chapters, dissertations, and working papers in political science and its complementary fields, including international relations, law, and public administration and policy. Coverage 1975-present.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full text of all 2,800+ academic journals on JSTOR that span more than 60 disciplines across the humanities, social sciences, and natural sciences, along with millions of primary sources across four collections: Global Plants, 19th Century British Pamphlets, Struggles for Freedom: Southern Africa, and World Heritage Sites: Africa. Also explore 3+ million images from ARTstor and over 10,000 open access books. Note: The library does not license any collections of fee-based books from JSTOR.
- Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full text scholarly journals in the fields of: area and ethnic studies; art and architecture; creative writing; education; film, theater, and performing arts; history; language and linguistics; library science and publishing; literature; medicine and health; music; philosophy; religion; science, technology, and mathematics; social sciences; studies by time period; women's studies, gender, and sexuality.
- Nexis Uni (formerly LexisNexis Academic) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- ProQuest Congressional (U.S. Congressional) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Index to primary source congressional documents from 1789-present.
Browse Individual E-Journals in Political Science
Search Across Journals in Key Environmental Databases
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full text scholarly journal, trade publication, magazine and newspaper articles, books, book reviews, reports, and Associated Press video content, covering all subject areas.
- AGRICOLA This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window- This link opens in a new window
Index to journal articles, monographs, proceedings, theses, patents, translations, audiovisual materials, computer software, technical reports, U.S. Bureau of Land Management and U.S. Forest Service literature, and printed works dating back to the 15th century. Subjects include agriculture, botany, forestry, grazing, and range management. Produced by the National Agricultural Library.
- Agricultural & Environmental Science Database This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full text titles from around the world (1960-present), including scholarly journals, trade and industry journals, magazines, technical reports, conference proceedings, and government publications. It incorporates specialized, editorially-curated abstracting and indexing resources as well as the AGRICOLA and TOXLINE databases and content previously available in ESPM (Environmental Sciences and Pollution Management) and Environmental Impact Statements (EIS).
- Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full text of more than 2,000 scholarly journal and magazine articles, covering all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, accounting, banking, and finance. - Environment Complete This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window- This link opens in a new window
Index to journals, books, and monographs in the fields of agriculture, ecosystem ecology, energy, environmental law, and affiliated areas of study, from the U.S. and international publishers dating back more than 100 years. Also contains full text for 1200 journals and monographs. Created by the International Academy at Santa Barbara. - GeoRef This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Index to journal articles, books, maps, conference papers, reports, all publications of the U.S. Geological Survey, and theses and dissertations from U.S. and Canadian institutions. Coverage includes North America from 1693-present and the geology of the rest of the world from 1933-present. Produced by the American GeoSciences Institute. The link above is for the ProQuest database platform. GeoRef may also be accessed via GeoScienceWorld.
- GeoScienceWorld Journals This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full text of 46 top-tier scholarly journals in the geological and earth sciences from 2000-present.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full text of all 2,800+ academic journals on JSTOR that span more than 60 disciplines across the humanities, social sciences, and natural sciences, along with millions of primary sources across four collections: Global Plants, 19th Century British Pamphlets, Struggles for Freedom: Southern Africa, and World Heritage Sites: Africa. Also explore 3+ million images from ARTstor and over 10,000 open access books. Note: The library does not license any collections of fee-based books from JSTOR.
- Web of Science This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Indexes the world's leading peer reviewed journal literature in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities and provides searching of cited references from 1900-present.
- Wildlife & Ecology Studies Worldwide This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Index to scholarly journal and magazine articles, books, conference papers, reports, and dissertations about wild mammals, birds, reptiles and amphibians, including studies on individual species, habitat types, wildlife behavior, and ecotourism and zoology from 1892-present.
Book A Research Consultation
I'm more than happy to help with your research project or assist with your questions about the library. Feel free to email me at ben.chiewphasa@umontana.edu to set up a time for your consultation.
Assessment
Please fill out assessment forms for the library instruction you received. Your feedback is important to us!
Assessment Forms