Research Guides: Public Administration Research Guide: Case Study Assignment

Finding Context for Your Chosen Regulation

Regulations.gov
Regulations.gov is your source for information on the development of Federal regulations and other related documents issued by the U.S. government. Through this site, you can find, read, and comment on regulatory issues that are important to you.
Reginfo.gov
Reginfo.gov displays regulatory actions and information collections currently at The Office of Information and Regulatory Affairs (OIRA) for review.
GovInfo
Provides access to various congressional sources like the Congressional Record, bills & laws, Presidential reports, the Federal Register, the CFR from around the mid-1990's through the present, and much more. Contains official publications from all three branches of the Federal Government.
Code of Federal Regulations
When a rule is finalized it goes to the Code of Federal Regulations (CFR). Also provides when it was first made a rule and when it was amended.

HeinOnline This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full text law journals and full runs of the Federal Register, Statutes at Large, presidential documents, the Congressional Record, and Supreme Court opinions.

Finding Your Regulation in the Federal Register

Federal Register
The Federal Register (the daily newspaper of the Federal government) is a legal newspaper published every business day by the National Archives and Records Administration (NARA). The Federal Register contains: Federal Agency Regulations, Proposed Rules and Public Notices, Executive Orders, Proclamations, and Other Presidential Documents. Tip: Record the RIN or Docket Number to keep track of relevant documents.

Federal Register Library (Hein Online) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full text of all editions of the Code of Federal Register and the entire Federal Register Library (1938-present).

News Media Outlets

Newspaper Articles

Use the OneSearch to locate newspaper articles. Enter your search terms and refine the search to Newspaper Articles.

Go to the Newspapers Library Guide.

Access NewspaperARCHIVE This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full text digitized pages of U.S. and global newspapers from 1607-present. Every newspaper in the archive is fully searchable by keyword and date.
Access World News: Research Collection This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full text current and archived articles from U.S. and global news sources. Date coverage varies with individual newspaper.
Environment & Energy Publishing (E&E News) This link opens in a new window
Full text of five daily publications from E&E News, a news organization focusing on energy and environment issues at the federal policy level and around the nation. Titles include Energywire, Climatewire, E&E Daily, Greenwire, and E&E News PM from 3 years ago-present. Also provides Land Letter published 2009-2012.
Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full text of current newspaper, magazine, and journals of the ethnic and minority press, as well as historical coverage of Native American, African American, and Hispanic American periodicals from 1959-1989. Specific ethnic groups include African American/Caribbean/African, Arab/Middle Eastern, Asian/Pacific Islander, European/Eastern European, Hispanic, Jewish, and Native. See also the Diversity Collection to search Ethnic NewsWatch, GenderWatch and Alt-PressWatch in one platform.
Opposing Viewpoints in Context This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full text news resource on controversial social issues and current events, covering pro/con viewpoints, reference articles, interactive maps, infographics, and more.

The Daily Climate
An independent media organization working to increase public understanding of climate change, including its scope and scale, potential solutions and the political processes that impede or advance them.
Mountain West News
Daily compilation of top environmental news stories in the West.

Search Across Journals in Key Environmental Databases

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full text scholarly journal, trade publication, magazine and newspaper articles, books, book reviews, reports, and Associated Press video content, covering all subject areas.
AGRICOLA This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Index to journal articles, monographs, proceedings, theses, patents, translations, audiovisual materials, computer software, technical reports, U.S. Bureau of Land Management and U.S. Forest Service literature, and printed works dating back to the 15th century. Subjects include agriculture, botany, forestry, grazing, and range management. Produced by the National Agricultural Library.
Agricultural & Environmental Science Database This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full text titles from around the world (1960-present), including scholarly journals, trade and industry journals, magazines, technical reports, conference proceedings, and government publications. It incorporates specialized, editorially-curated abstracting and indexing resources as well as the AGRICOLA and TOXLINE databases and content previously available in ESPM (Environmental Sciences and Pollution Management) and Environmental Impact Statements (EIS).
Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full text of more than 2,000 scholarly journal and magazine articles, covering all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, accounting, banking, and finance.
Environment Complete This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Index to journals, books, and monographs in the fields of agriculture, ecosystem ecology, energy, environmental law, and affiliated areas of study, from the U.S. and international publishers dating back more than 100 years. Also contains full text for 1200 journals and monographs. Created by the International Academy at Santa Barbara.
GeoRef This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Index to journal articles, books, maps, conference papers, reports, all publications of the U.S. Geological Survey, and theses and dissertations from U.S. and Canadian institutions. Coverage includes North America from 1693-present and the geology of the rest of the world from 1933-present. Produced by the American GeoSciences Institute. The link above is for the ProQuest database platform. GeoRef may also be accessed via GeoScienceWorld.
GeoScienceWorld Journals This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full text of 46 top-tier scholarly journals in the geological and earth sciences from 2000-present.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full text of all 2,800+ academic journals on JSTOR that span more than 60 disciplines across the humanities, social sciences, and natural sciences, along with millions of primary sources across four collections: Global Plants, 19th Century British Pamphlets, Struggles for Freedom: Southern Africa, and World Heritage Sites: Africa. Also explore 3+ million images from ARTstor and over 10,000 open access books. Note: The library does not license any collections of fee-based books from JSTOR.
ARTstor on JSTOR
Existing ARTstor logins automatically work on JSTOR. The separate artstor.org platform will be available until Aug 1, 2024, when it is scheduled to be retired.

Open Access books on JSTOR
More than 10,000 open access (OA) books from 125+ publishers, including Brill, Cornell University Press, University College of London, and University of California Press.

19th Century British Pamphlets
Nearly 26,000 pamphlets from collections in seven universities spanning more than one million pages. Brings together a corpus of primary sources for the study of sociopolitical and economic factors impacting 19th-century Britain.

New Collections Added Aug 2023
Thematic Collections
Three collections focusing on emerging areas of research and containing multiple types of content, including journals and open research reports. Collections include:
•Lives of Literature - Academic journals devoted to the deep study of writers and texts associated with core literary movements.
•Security Studies - Academic and open policy research on international and national security problems and foreign policy issues.
•Sustainability - Academic and open policy research on environmental stresses and their impact on society. Looks at sustainability and resilience through a broad lens spanning more than 30 disciplines.

Primary Sources
Global Plants
A growing collection of nearly three million high-resolution type plant specimens and related materials from over 300 community contributors around the world.

Struggles for Freedom: Southern Africa
27,000 objects and 190,000 pages of documents and images related to the liberation struggles and end of Apartheid in Southern Africa during the 20th Century, with an emphasis on Botswana, Mozambique, Namibia, South Africa, and Zimbabwe.

World Heritage Sites: Africa
More than 86,000 objects of visual, contextual, and spatial documentation of African heritage and rock art sites.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Indexes the world's leading peer reviewed journal literature in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities and provides searching of cited references from 1900-present.
Wildlife & Ecology Studies Worldwide This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Index to scholarly journal and magazine articles, books, conference papers, reports, and dissertations about wild mammals, birds, reptiles and amphibians, including studies on individual species, habitat types, wildlife behavior, and ecotourism and zoology from 1892-present.

Books

Find books and media by searching OneSearch.

Find books that we do not have in the Mansfield Library collection by searching WorldCat and request them through Interlibrary Loan.