Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Library Guide to Finding Articles

Getting full text from Library Databases and other search engines

It may be helpful to conduct a search in OneSearch if you are coming from a database or another service like WorldCat and the UM full text services menu cannot locate any sources for you. Some results cannot display in the full text services menu due to the way in which certain content is ingested by our library system. One quick way to run a search is to copy the citation from the UM full text services menu, click on NEW SEARCH at the top of the menu, and paste the text into the search box. Complete an interlibrary loan request if a direct search in OneSearch cannot retrieve full text either. 

WorldCat record Search University of Montana link

How to initiate a new search from the UM full text services menu

Full text record found in OneSearch for item not found by UM full text services menu

Tip: Open the NEW SEARCH in a new browser tab so that you can return to the UM menu to place an interlibrary loan request if full text is not found.

If OneSearch does not produce a full text result for the citation, take these additional steps:

  • Click on Google Scholar from the "no results" message in OneSearch (shown below). Paste the name of the article into Google Scholar and run a search.

Article with no full text offered in OneSearch link to Google Scholar

 

  • No luck finding full text? Return to the UM menu and submit an interlibrary loan request.

Request from another library link (interlibrary loan)

Problems linking to full text? Go to Troubleshooting full text linking problems in OneSearch