Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Library Guide to Finding Articles

Full text linking problems in OneSearch

OneSearch records may sometimes fail at the point of linking to the full text. The online link may not directly retrieve the article (landing the user at the issue, journal, or publication home page) or may produce an error message. Should you have such a problem, try finding the issue and pages that the article appears in or doing a search for the article title on the source website. 

Another option is to locate the journal record and drill down to the issue containing the article. Journal records may be found in OneSearch or through the Journals A-Z, a searchable list of journals the library offers electronically and in print. OneSearch pools together all possible content types, so the journal finder can help focus the scope of your search without the need for further filtering.

Mansfield Library Journal A-Z List

How this works: With the citation in hand, locate the journal by title or ISSN. Browse the list of online sources offered and the coverage dates. Click through to a matching source, browse the back issue or archival listing, and drill down to the issue containing the article.  

For example:

Example of article citation in OneSearch

Use the journal A-Z to locate a record for Ecological research.

Next, locate an online source matching the article's date (2016-05) and/or enumeration (vol 31, issue no. 3).

Journal record for Ecological research in OneSearch

Tip: If you encounter an access problem with a source, go back to the journal record and check if another option is available.

Note: Aggregator databases often contain issue-by-issue full text for journals, but may have incomplete coverage compared to publisher sites and may lack a certain percentage of articles, because they do not have rights to reproduce them. FYI-Click here to view a list of the full text aggregators at the library. Online source menus are configured to present full text from publisher sites ahead of aggregators to minimize potential availability problems.

OneSearch online services menu for Ecological research