Research Guides: Conservation Genetics Research Guide: Home

Start Here / Best Databases

Web of Science This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Indexes the world's leading peer reviewed journal literature in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities and provides searching of cited references, from 1900-present. Install the LibKey Nomad extension to improve your research experience.

Google Scholar
Scholarly literature across many disciplines and sources.

Other Relevant Databases

For an outline of a comprehensive science literature review, click here: Science Literature Review

For tips on improving database search results, click here: Improving Database Search Results

AGRICOLA This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Index to journal articles, monographs, proceedings, theses, patents, translations, audiovisual materials, computer software, technical reports, U.S. Bureau of Land Management and U.S. Forest Service literature, and printed works dating back to the 15th century. Subjects include agriculture, botany, forestry, grazing, and range management. Produced by the National Agricultural Library.
PubMed This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Indexes MEDLINE, a database of scholarly journal articles in the life sciences with a focus on biomedicine, and additional life science journals and online books. Fields include behavioral sciences, chemical sciences, and bioengineering. Install the LibKey Nomad extension to improve your research experience.
Wildlife & Ecology Studies Worldwide This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Index to scholarly journal and magazine articles, books, conference papers, reports, and dissertations about wild mammals, birds, reptiles and amphibians, including studies on individual species, habitat types, wildlife behavior, and ecotourism and zoology, from 1892-present.

Journals

Search specialized journals when looking for articles on your research topic. Some suggested browsing examples to look at are:

American naturalist, The
Backfile: JSTOR
Annual review of ecology, evolution, and systematics.
Backfile: Annual Reviews
Annual review of genetics.
Backfile: Annual Reviews
Biological conservation.
Backfile: ScienceDirect
Biodiversity and conservation.
Backfile: Springer
Conservation biology
Conservation genetics
Conservation ecology
Ecological applications : a publication of the Ecological Society of America.
Backfile: JSTOR
Ecology.
Backfile: JSTOR
Evolution : international journal of organic evolution.
Backfile: JSTOR
Evolutionary Biology (ISSN: 0071-3260)
Subject: Biology - Genetics
Genetics
mansfield / red205
Heredity
Journal of evolutionary biology
Journal of heredity
Journal of zoological systematics and evolutionary research (Zeitschrift für zoologische)
Molecular Ecology
Nature genetics
Trends in ecology & evolution.
Backfile: ScienceDirect

To browse journal titles, click here: Mansfield Library Journals.

Browse or search ejournal packages (NOTE: Some allow keyword searching of article full text):

Annual Reviews This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full text journal review articles synthesizing current research and understandings in science and social science disciplines. Complete archives-present provided for most AR titles. NOTE: This Ejournal Package was cancelled beginning Jan 2021. Click more... for details.
Package title list: Annual Reviews
See the Library Guide to Finding Articles for information about the cancellations and other resources for obtaining full text.
Post-2020 perpetual access will include:
• Volume 1 through 2020.
BioOne Complete This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full text of over 200 journals in the biological, ecological, and environmental sciences.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full text of all 2,800+ academic journals on JSTOR that span more than 60 disciplines across the humanities, social sciences, and natural sciences, along with millions of primary sources across four collections: Global Plants, 19th Century British Pamphlets, Struggles for Freedom: Southern Africa, and World Heritage Sites: Africa. Also explore 3+ million images from ARTstor and over 10,000 open access books. Note: The library does not license any collections of fee-based books from JSTOR. New collections added Aug 2023, are identified below. See more... for details.
ARTstor on JSTOR
Existing ARTstor logins automatically work on JSTOR. The separate artstor.org platform will be available until Aug 1, 2024, when it is scheduled to be retired.

Open Access books on JSTOR
More than 10,000 open access (OA) books from 125+ publishers, including Brill, Cornell University Press, University College of London, and University of California Press.

19th Century British Pamphlets
Nearly 26,000 pamphlets from collections in seven universities spanning more than one million pages. Brings together a corpus of primary sources for the study of sociopolitical and economic factors impacting 19th-century Britain.

New Collections Added Aug 2023
Thematic Collections
Three collections focusing on emerging areas of research and containing multiple types of content, including journals and open research reports. Collections include:
•Lives of Literature - Academic journals devoted to the deep study of writers and texts associated with core literary movements.
•Security Studies - Academic and open policy research on international and national security problems and foreign policy issues.
•Sustainability - Academic and open policy research on environmental stresses and their impact on society. Looks at sustainability and resilience through a broad lens spanning more than 30 disciplines.

Primary Sources
Global Plants
A growing collection of nearly three million high-resolution type plant specimens and related materials from over 300 community contributors around the world.

Struggles for Freedom: Southern Africa
27,000 objects and 190,000 pages of documents and images related to the liberation struggles and end of Apartheid in Southern Africa during the 20th Century, with an emphasis on Botswana, Mozambique, Namibia, South Africa, and Zimbabwe.

World Heritage Sites: Africa
More than 86,000 objects of visual, contextual, and spatial documentation of African heritage and rock art sites.
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The library's ScienceDirect journal package was cancelled for 2024, changes took effect on January 1, 2024. See the Post-cancellation access to Elsevier ScienceDirect articles guide for further details and options for obtaining articles from cancelled journals.
Springer This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full text of over 50,000 scholarly e-books published by Springer 2005-2015, and over 2,200 current e-journals, with coverage dating back to volume 1 for many titles. Subjects include: biomedicine; business and management; chemistry; computer science; earth sciences; economics; education; engineering; geography; history; law; life sciences; literature; materials science; mathematics; medicine & public health; pharmacy; philosophy; physics; political science and international relations; psychology; social sciences; statistics. Deselect 'Include Preview-Only' from the top of a subject or content page to limit browsing to titles licensed by the library. NOTE: This Ejournal Package was cancelled beginning Jan 2021. Click more... for details.
Ejournal package title list: Springer
See the Library Guide to Finding Articles for information about the cancellations and other resources for obtaining full text.
Post-2020 perpetual access will include:
•All titles in the collection as of 2010 from Volume I through 1996.
•No perpetual access for 1997 to 2005.
•Perpetual access to all titles for 2006-2020.
Wiley Online Library This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full text of over 1,600 e-journals covering life, health and physical sciences, social science, and the humanities. Coverage is generally 1997-present. The library does not license all content offered on the Wiley site. The 'Full Access' lock icon denotes content available to UM users.

Peer Review in 3 Minutes
How do articles get peer reviewed? What role does peer review play in scholarly research and publication? This video will explain.
Video: Types of Sources
Watch the video for an explanation of types of information sources

To evaluate, compare, and rank journals using citation data, click on Journal Citation Reports or Scimago.

Journal Citation Reports This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Resource tool for journal evaluation, using citation data drawn from over 11,000 journals dating back to 1997 and includes virtually all specialties in the areas of science, technology, and social sciences. Shows journal impact factors, highest impact journals, most frequently used journals, hottest journals and largest journals.

Book Catalogs

Book catalog resources:

WorldCat (Discovery) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Catalog of library resources held by institutions around the world. Find materials and place interlibrary loan requests for resources not owned locally.
WorldCat on the former FirstSearch platform is available from http://libguides.lib.umt.edu/worldcat-firstsearch

Google Book Search
Snippet and full-text views of books as they are scanned by the Google Book Project.
Biodiversity Heritage Library
Digitized, historic natural history literature.

OneSearch This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The search engine for materials owned by the library, both on the shelf and online. Also provides millions of full text article and citation records harvested from publishers, open access repositories, and a large percentage of the library's licensed databases. Click here to view a list of databases with content not findable or only partially findable in OneSearch.
Tip: Remember to check "Include Results without Full Text" in the left-hand facets of OneSearch to expand your results set to citations matching your research interests; full-text can be acquired through interlibrary loan and delivered to you free of charge in a short amount of time.

For a detailed view of Dewey Decimal call numbers, click on: Dewey Decimal Classification Summaries.

Dictionaries, Encyclopedias & Handbooks

Atlas of Mammalian Chromosomes
Beacham's Guide to International Endangered Species (333.9542 B3656)
Birds of the World
Conservation Biology (Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy)
A Dictionary of Ecology, Evolution, & Systematics (570.3 L738)
Encyclopedia of Animal Behavior - Online encyclopedia
Encyclopedia of Entomology - Online encyclopedia
Encyclopedia of Evolution (576.803 E5641)
Encyclopedia of Genetics (576.5 E5642)
Encyclopedia of Inland Waters - Online encyclopedia covering the biology, chemistry, geology, and physics of inland aquatic habitats worldwide at all scales from marshes and swamps to ponds, lakes, streams and rivers
Encyclopedia of Molecular Biology (572.8 C914e)
Encyclopedia of Ocean Sciences (Second Edition) - Online encyclopedia covering the biology, chemistry, geology, and physics of the oceans
Endangered Species Program (USFWS)
Federal Register - Endangered & threatened species
Global Biodiversity: status... (333.9511 G562)
IUCN Red List of Threatened Species
Montana Animal Species of Concern
Montana Plant Species of Concern
National Invasive Species Information Center
Species Information (NOAA Fisheries)
Wikipedia - An encyclopedia written and edited anonymously and collaboratively

Grants and Funding Sources

Foundation Directory Online This link opens in a new window
Directory of 108,000 foundations, corporate giving programs and grant-making public charities in the U.S.; a database of three million recently awarded grants; and a database of one million recently filed IRS forms 990 and 990-PF. Provides over 10,000 sources to help users identify scholarships, fellowships, or grants. This help article outlines how to search the database for grants to individuals.
Foundation Grants to Individuals This link opens in a new window
Content now available through Foundation Directory Online.

National Science Foundation Award Search

Web Sites - Search Engines

Some suggested search engines are:

Web Sites - Meta Sites & Directories

Citation Guides

Here are some resources to help you manage your bibliographies:

RefWorks This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Web-based bibliographic research management, writing, and collaboration tool. Designed for researchers to gather, organize, store and share all types of information and to generate formatted citations and bibliographies.

Related Library Guides

Cellular & Molecular Biology, Genetics, Microbiology

Ecology and Wildlife Biology

Environmental Studies

Maureen and Mike Mansfield Library

Conservation Genetics Research Guide

Need Help?

Quick Links