Historical Topics

American Periodicals Series This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full text digitized reproductions of more than 1,500 eighteenth and nineteenth century American newspapers and periodicals archived at the Center for Research Libraries (CRL). Titles include general interest, children's, women's, early scientific, and professional publications that chronicle the development of America across 150 years published from 1740-1940.
GenderWatch This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full text of scholarly and popular articles and gray literature titles focusing on the evolution of gender roles in society. Covers topics related to gay, lesbian, bisexual, and transgender studies; family studies; gender studies, and women's studies from 1970-present. See also the Diversity Collection to search Ethnic NewsWatch, GenderWatch and Alt-PressWatch in one platform.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full text of all 2,800+ academic journals on JSTOR that span more than 60 disciplines across the humanities, social sciences, and natural sciences, along with millions of primary sources across four collections: Global Plants, 19th Century British Pamphlets, Struggles for Freedom: Southern Africa, and World Heritage Sites: Africa. Also explore 3+ million images from ARTstor and over 10,000 open access books. Note: The library does not license any collections of fee-based books from JSTOR.
ARTstor on JSTOR
Existing ARTstor logins automatically work on JSTOR. The separate artstor.org platform will be available until Aug 1, 2024, when it is scheduled to be retired.

Open Access books on JSTOR
More than 10,000 open access (OA) books from 125+ publishers, including Brill, Cornell University Press, University College of London, and University of California Press.

19th Century British Pamphlets
Nearly 26,000 pamphlets from collections in seven universities spanning more than one million pages. Brings together a corpus of primary sources for the study of sociopolitical and economic factors impacting 19th-century Britain.

New Collections Added Aug 2023
Thematic Collections
Three collections focusing on emerging areas of research and containing multiple types of content, including journals and open research reports. Collections include:
•Lives of Literature - Academic journals devoted to the deep study of writers and texts associated with core literary movements.
•Security Studies - Academic and open policy research on international and national security problems and foreign policy issues.
•Sustainability - Academic and open policy research on environmental stresses and their impact on society. Looks at sustainability and resilience through a broad lens spanning more than 30 disciplines.

Primary Sources
Global Plants
A growing collection of nearly three million high-resolution type plant specimens and related materials from over 300 community contributors around the world.

Struggles for Freedom: Southern Africa
27,000 objects and 190,000 pages of documents and images related to the liberation struggles and end of Apartheid in Southern Africa during the 20th Century, with an emphasis on Botswana, Mozambique, Namibia, South Africa, and Zimbabwe.

World Heritage Sites: Africa
More than 86,000 objects of visual, contextual, and spatial documentation of African heritage and rock art sites.
New York Times Historical This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
(1851-2021) Full text digitized newspaper articles. Includes complete paper, cover-to-cover.
Readers' Guide Retrospective: 1890-1982 This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Index to over three million articles from 550 magazines, includes all content from the print volumes of the Readers' Guide to Periodical Literature, a comprehensive index of popular general interest periodicals published in the U.S. during the 20th Century. Produced by H.W. Wilson.
U.S. Congressional Serial Set, 1817-1994 This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full digitized texts from the bound sequentially numbered volumes of all the reports, documents, and journals of the U.S. Senate and House of Representatives. Includes maps published in the set that are searchable by location, subject, personal or issuing agency name, and date. Note: Go to Readex AllSearch to include American State Papers in your search.
Washington Post Historical Archive This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
(1877-2008) Full text digitized newspaper. Includes the complete paper, cover-to-cover.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Indexes the world's leading peer reviewed journal literature in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities and provides searching of cited references from 1900-present.