Research Guides: Chemistry and Biochemistry Research Guide: Home

Need Help?

Email Me

Contact:

Barry Brown

Science Librarian

Head, Access & Collection Services

Mansfield Library, The University of Montana

32 Campus Drive. #9936

Missoula, MT 59812-9936

406-243-6811; Office ML 327

Subjects: Biological Sciences, Chemistry & Biochemistry, Computer Science, Ecosystem and Conservation Sciences, Environmental Studies, Forest Management, Geosciences, Mathematical Sciences, Physics and Astronomy, Resource Conservation, Society and Conservation, Wildlife Biology

Quick Links

Start Here / Best Databases

Google Scholar
Scholarly literature across many disciplines and sources.

SciFinder-n This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Index to chemical substances and reactions, as well as journal articles, patents, conference papers, dissertations, reports, and more, in chemistry and related sciences. Users new to SciFinder should see more... for details on completing the one-time registration. Current users in need of account assistance or help regaining access to an expired login should contact help@cas.org.
Click here to complete the initial registration for SciFinder Note that first-time registration requires a valid UM email address. See also: UM email support page for students OR UM email support page for faculty and staff
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Indexes the world's leading peer reviewed journal literature in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities and provides searching of cited references, from 1900-present. Install the LibKey Nomad extension to improve your research experience.

Other Relevant Databases

For an outline of a comprehensive science literature review, click here: Science Literature Review.

For tips on improving database search results, click here: Improving Database Search Results.

Suggested databases:

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full text scholarly journal, trade publication, magazine and newspaper articles, books, book reviews, reports, and Associated Press video content, covering all subject areas.
Agricultural & Environmental Science Database This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full text titles from around the world (1960-present), including scholarly journals, trade and industry journals, magazines, technical reports, conference proceedings, and government publications. It incorporates specialized, editorially-curated abstracting and indexing resources as well as the AGRICOLA and TOXLINE databases and content previously available in ESPM (Environmental Sciences and Pollution Management) and Environmental Impact Statements (EIS).
Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full text of more than 2,000 scholarly journal and magazine articles, covering all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, accounting, banking, and finance.
Dissertations & Theses Global, ProQuest This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Index to dissertations and theses from over 3,000 institutions in 88 countries. Full text coverage spans from 1743-present, with citation coverage dating back to 1637. NOTE: Dissertations & Theses Global may also be searched and accessed via Web of Science, as well as OneSearch.
PubMed This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Indexes MEDLINE, a database of scholarly journal articles in the life sciences with a focus on biomedicine, and additional life science journals and online books. Fields include behavioral sciences, chemical sciences, and bioengineering. Install the LibKey Nomad extension to improve your research experience.

Science.gov
Gateway to U.S. government science information.

TOXLINE This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Index to specialized journals and other sources covering the biochemical, pharmacological, physiological, and toxicological effects of drugs and other chemicals, from 1840s-present; most citations include Chemical Abstract Service (CAS) Registry Numbers.

Journals

Search specialized journals when looking for articles on your research topic. Some suggested browsing examples to look at are:

Analytical chemistry.
Backfile: American Chemical Society
Biochemistry.
Backfile: American Chemical Society
Chemical reviews.
Backfile: American Chemical Society
Chemical society reviews
Chemistry central
Inorganic chemistry.
Backfile: American Chemical Society
Journal of combinatorial chemistry
Journal of medicinal chemistry.
Backfile: American Chemical Society
Journal of natural products.
Backfile: American Chemical Society
Nature chemistry
Organometallics
Surface science reports

To browse journal titles, click here: Mansfield Library Journals.

Browse or search ejournal packages (NOTE: Some allow keyword searching of article full text):

American Chemical Society Publications This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full text of over 30 research journals covering the chemical and related sciences, from 1879-present. Includes the archives of the ACS Symposium Series ebooks published 1974-2008; post-2009 not licensed.
Annual Reviews This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full text journal review articles synthesizing current research and understandings in science and social science disciplines. Complete archives-present provided for most AR titles. NOTE: This Ejournal Package was cancelled beginning Jan 2021. Click more... for details.
Package title list: Annual Reviews
See the Library Guide to Finding Articles for information about the cancellations and other resources for obtaining full text.
Post-2020 perpetual access will include:
• Volume 1 through 2020.
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full text of 2,500 scholarly journals and over 3,000 book series volumes and reference works, published by Elsevier in the fields of health sciences, life sciences, physical sciences & engineering, and the social sciences & humanities. Library licenses most ScienceDirect journals offered, including archival content dating back to volume 1 for many titles. Other than volumes published as part of book series, the library has minimal licensed books.
Springer This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full text of over 50,000 scholarly e-books published by Springer 2005-2015, and over 2,200 current e-journals, with coverage dating back to volume 1 for many titles. Subjects include: biomedicine; business and management; chemistry; computer science; earth sciences; economics; education; engineering; geography; history; law; life sciences; literature; materials science; mathematics; medicine & public health; pharmacy; philosophy; physics; political science and international relations; psychology; social sciences; statistics. Deselect 'Include Preview-Only' from the top of a subject or content page to limit browsing to titles licensed by the library. NOTE: This Ejournal Package was cancelled beginning Jan 2021. Click more... for details.
Ejournal package title list: Springer
See the Library Guide to Finding Articles for information about the cancellations and other resources for obtaining full text.
Post-2020 perpetual access will include:
•All titles in the collection as of 2010 from Volume I through 1996.
•No perpetual access for 1997 to 2005.
•Perpetual access to all titles for 2006-2020.
Wiley Online Library This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full text of over 1,600 e-journals covering life, health and physical sciences, social science, and the humanities. Coverage is generally 1997-present. The library does not license all content offered on the Wiley site. The 'Full Access' lock icon denotes content available to UM users.

Peer Review in 3 Minutes
How do articles get peer reviewed? What role does peer review play in scholarly research and publication? This video will explain.
Video: Types of Sources
Watch the video for an explanation of types of information sources

To evaluate, compare, and rank journals using citation data, click on Journal Citation Reports and/or Scimago.

Journal Citation Reports This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Resource tool for journal evaluation, using citation data drawn from over 11,000 journals dating back to 1997 and includes virtually all specialties in the areas of science, technology, and social sciences. Shows journal impact factors, highest impact journals, most frequently used journals, hottest journals and largest journals.

Book Catalogs

WorldCat (Discovery) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Catalog of library resources held by institutions around the world. Find materials and place interlibrary loan requests for resources not owned locally.
WorldCat on the former FirstSearch platform is available from http://libguides.lib.umt.edu/worldcat-firstsearch

Google Book Search
Snippet and full-text views of books as they are scanned by the Google Book Project.

OneSearch This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The search engine for materials owned by the library, both on the shelf and online. Also provides millions of full text article and citation records harvested from publishers, open access repositories, and a large percentage of the library's licensed databases. Click here to view a list of databases with content not findable or only partially findable in OneSearch.
Tip: Remember to check "Include Results without Full Text" in the left-hand facets of OneSearch to expand your results set to citations matching your research interests; full-text can be acquired through interlibrary loan and delivered to you free of charge in a short amount of time.

Main Dewey Decimal call numbers for browsing chemistry materials in the Mansfield Library book stacks:

540 Chemistry & allied sciences

541 Physical & theoretical chemistry
542 Techniques, equipment, materials
543 Analytical chemistry
544 Qualitative analysis
545 Quantitative analysis
546 Inorganic chemistry
547 Organic chemistry
548 Crystallography
549 Mineralogy

For a more detailed view of Dewey Decimal call numbers, click on: Dewey Decimal Classification Summaries

Dictionaries & Encyclopedias

Cassell Dictionary of Chemistry (540.3 H3216c)
Comprehensive Chemometrics
Concise Encyclopedia Chemistry (540.3 A111)
Dictionary of Chemical Names and Synonyms (660.03 H851)
Dictionary of Organometallic Compounds (547.0503 D554)
Dictionary of Steroids (574.1924303 D554)
Encyclopedia of Chemical Technology (660.3 E56)
Encyclopedia of Computational Chemistry (542.85 E56)
Encyclopedia of Inorganic Chemistry (546.03 E56)
Encyclopedia of Physical Science and Technology (503 E56)
Encyclopedia of Reagents for Organic Synthesis (547.2 E56)
Encyclopedia of Spectroscopy and Spectrometry (543.0858 E5646)
Facts on File Dictionary of Chemistry (540.3 F1428)
German Dictionary of Chemistry, Langenscheidt Routledge (540.3 L275)
Glossary of Chemical Terms (540.3 H229)
Great Chemists (540 F219)
Hawley's Condensed Chemical Dictionary (540.3 H396 1997)
IUPAC Compendium of Chemical Terminology
Macmillan Encyclopedia of Chemistry (540.3 M167)
McGraw-Hill Dictionary of Chemistry
Treatise on Geochemistry
Wikipedia
Women in Chemistry and Physics (540 W872)

Handbooks, Tables, and Data

The Aldrich Library of 13C and 1H FT NMR Spectra (547.30877 A365)
Chemical Engineer's Handbook (660.28 P465)
Chemical Structure Lookup Service
The Chemist's Ready Reference Handbook (543 S562)
ChemSpider
Comprehensive Biological Catalysis (572.7 C737)
Comprehensive Natural Products Chemistry (547.7 C73784)
Comprehensive Organic Transformations (547.2 L328c)
Comprehensive Organometallic Chemistry (547.05 C737)
CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics (541.9 H236)
CRC Handbook of Data on Organic Compounds (547 C111)
CRC Handbook of Pesticides (615.902 C111)
DrugBank
eMolecules
The Elements (546 E559)
Handbook of Critical Constants of Solids (530.412 H23649)
Handbook of Data on Common Organic Compounds (547.00212 H236)
The Handbook of Infrared and Raman spectra of inorganic compounds and organic salts (543.08543 N997 Q Oversize)
Handbook of Spectroscopy (535.84 C111)
HeteroCycles
Lange's Handbook of Chemistry (540 H236)
The Merck Index: an encyclopedia of chemicals. drugs, and biologicals (615.103 M5558)
NIST Chemistry WebBook
Organic Compounds Database, Colby College
Organic Syntheses
Periodic Table - Visual Interpretation
Periodical Table - WebElements
Physical Reference Data, NIST
Polymer Handbook (547.7 P783)
Properties of Aqueous Solutions of Electrolytes (541.372 P965)
PubChem
Quantities, Units, and Symbols in Physical Chemistry (541.3014 Q1)
Registry of mass spectral data (545.33 S825r Q Oversize)
Sigma-Aldrich Catalog
Spectral Database for Organic Compounds
Stereoselective Synthesis: Methods of Organic Chemistry (541.223 S8382)
Tables of Isotopes (541.388 L473)
USGS Digital Spectral Library

Toxicology Resources

Grants and Funding Sources

Foundation Directory Online This link opens in a new window
Directory of 108,000 foundations, corporate giving programs and grant-making public charities in the U.S.; a database of three million recently awarded grants; and a database of one million recently filed IRS forms 990 and 990-PF.
Foundation Grants to Individuals This link opens in a new window
Directory of close to 10,000 foundation and public charity programs that fund students, artists, researchers, and other individual grant seekers. Covers scholarships, fellowships, loans, and internships; awards, prizes, and grants by nomination; research and professional support; and general welfare and special needs.

Federal R&D Project Summaries

Web Sites - Search Engines

Some suggested search engines are:

Web Sites - MetaSites & Directories

BioChemWeb

Web Sites - Educational Resources for Instruction

Citation Guides

Here are some resources to help you manage your bibliographies:

The ACS Style Guide (808.06654 A187)
EndNote

RefWorks This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Web-based bibliographic research management, writing, and collaboration tool. Designed for researchers to gather, organize, store and share all types of information and to generate formatted citations and bibliographies.

Related Library Guides

Cellular & Molecular Biology, Genetics, Microbiology

Geosciences

Environmental Studies

Pharmacy Information Resources

Maureen and Mike Mansfield Library

Chemistry and Biochemistry Research Guide