Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Introduction to Map Resources in Archives and Special Collections
What's in This Guide?
This guide is organized by the different types of maps available in Archives and Special Collections and, to a lesser extent, the Mansfield Library's general collection and other online resources. Use the tabs above or the links below to navigate this guide.
How to Use This Guide
This guide is for people who want to learn more about maps and find maps in Archives and Special Collections, the Mansfield Library, and online. You will find the following information and resources in this guide:
- Learn how and why to use maps
- Learn how to find maps by reading call numbers and using library tools and other resources.
- Locate historic and current maps of Montana and the Northwestern United States.
- Locate historic and current maps of the rest of the United States.
- Access thousands of digitized maps held by other institutions.
Quick Links to Helpful Map Resources
Montana Public and Private Land Ownership
This web page provides access to two pre-built map series using the USGS 1:100,000 scale topographic map boundaries as the indexing system. Both Land Management and Private Land Ownership maps are available for each 100k quadrangle, representing separate looks at land ownership.
USGS Map Locator & Downloader
This map locator allows you to navigate to a point of interest, place a marker, and download map files related to that location.
Latitude - Longitude Conversion
Tools that allow you to convert coordinates between the formats.
Latitude and Longitude of a Point
Find the latitude and longitude of a point by clicking on the interactive map or enter cordinates to find a location.
An excellent source for locating geologic, hydrologic and other scientific maps and data.
USGS Bureau of Geographic Names
The U.S. Board on Geographic Names maintains uniform geographic name usage throughout the Federal Government. The Board comprises representatives of Federal agencies concerned with geographic information, population, ecology, and management of public lands.
University of Montana Campus Plans
Campus plans are more than just intricate drawings showing the layout of the university. They have information about land purchases, private property, landscaping, building location and much more. Archives and Special Collections has campus plans from 1895 to 1971. To view the plans, visit Archives and Special Collections. Some of these plans and drawings have been digitized and are available to view on ScholarWorks.
Interactive Map Resources
Create interactive maps by using one or more of these free, open-source options.
Create maps, plot points, embed into your website, organize geodata.
This tool helps you tell a story online by plotting points on a map and fixing text, images and / or audio to the points.
Upload data set to create story layers or create layers from scratch. Combine layers with images, audio, and video to share information with others.
Combine text, interactive maps, and multimedia content to map and share stories.
The University of Montana acknowledges that we are in the aboriginal territories of the Salish and Kalispel people. We honor the path they have always shown us in caring for this place for the generations to come.