Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Where to Go Next
This page provides additional map resources for research, citation, and the history of cartography and mapping the Northwestern United States.
Additional Online Resources
Atlas of Canada
Includes complete coverage of Canada and 5 maps of common Canada/United States boundary areas prepared by the United States Geological Survey (USGS).
CIA World Factbook
The CIA World Factbook provides current, simple maps of countries and regions.
Early Irish Maps
Digitized maps from the State Papers Ireland collection at The National Archives (United Kingdom).
Explore thousands of interactive historical data maps from the first US Census in 1790 to the present.
United Nations Cartographic Section
Political maps of the world and maps of UN missions.
Maps as Art
“There has always been art in cartography. Maps by definition are utilitarian. Cartographers have long known that deploying artistic skills and techniques can enhance a map’s effect. Now the relationship between maps and art has swung around; artists are using maps to further their artistic purposes. Artists have found in cartography a rich vein of concepts and imagery to mine.” - Katharine Harmon, The Map as Art: Contemporary Artists Explore Cartography
The Map as Art by
Publication Date: 2010-09-01
This volume by Katharine Harmon, author of our best-selling book You Are Here , extends that book's celebration of mapmaking to the world of artists' maps.It is little surprise that in an era of globalized politics, culture, and ecology contemporary artists are drawn to maps to express their visions. Using paint, salt, souvenir tea towels, or their own bodies, map artists explore a world free of geographical constraints.
You Are Here by
Call Number: 912 H2882y
Publication Date: 2003-10-01
You Are Here is a wide-ranging collection of superbly inventive maps. These are charts of places you're not expected to find, but a voyage you take in your mind: an exploration of the ideal country estate from a dog's perspective; a guide to buried treasure on Skeleton Island; a trip down the road to success; or the world as imagined by an inmate of a mental institution. With over 100 maps from artists, cartographers, and explorers, You are Here gives the reader a breath-taking view of worlds, both real and imaginary.
Maps of the Imagination by
Call Number: 809.392 T932m
Publication Date: 2007-08-28
In Maps of the Imagination, Peter Turchi posits the idea that maps help people understand where they are in the world in the same way that literature, whether realistic or experimental, attempts to explain human realities. Turchi traces the history of maps, from their initial decorative and religious purposes to their later instructional applications. He describes how maps rely on projections in order to portray a three-dimensional world on the two-dimensional flat surface of paper, which he then relates to what writers do in projecting a literary work from the imagination onto the page.
Map Citation Guide
For information on citing maps in your research, check out this handy guide created by North Carolina State University.
Using Maps as Primary Sources
The Information-Literate Historian by
Publication Date: 2006-08-31
The Information-Literate Historian is the only book specifically designed to teach today's history student how to most successfully select and use sources--primary, secondary, and electronic--to carry out and present their research. In addition to discussing questions to ask about sources and their authors’ search strategies, it provides an insightful overview of maps that covers their historical uses and includes tips for understanding the components of modern maps, reading and evaluating maps, finding maps to use in research, and more. Presnell’s book teaches readers about how maps used for navigation and commercial use, as political tools, propaganda, territory markers, and how they are used in war.
Print Resources about Maps and Cartography
Call Number: 912 M2977
Publication Date: 2007-11-15
Built around the functions of maps—the kinds of things maps do and have done—Maps confirms the vital role of maps throughout history in commerce, art, literature, and national identity. A companion volume to the most ambitious exhibition on the history of maps ever mounted in North America, Maps will challenge readers to stretch conventional thought about what constitutes a map and how many different ways we can understand graphically the environment in which we live.
Historical Atlas of the United States by
Call Number: 979.501 H4171h
Publication Date: 2006-10-17
Using more than 500 historical maps from collections around the world, this stunning book is the first to tell the story of America's past from a unique geographical perspective. Covering more than half a millennium in U.S. history--from conception to colonization to Hurricane Katrina--this atlas documents the discoveries and explorations, the intrigue and negotiations, the technology and the will that led the United States to become what it is today.
Mapping the Transmississippi West 1540-1861 by
Call Number: 978 W556m
Publication Date: 1957
One of the single most important resources on maps of the American West. This five-volume set provides a chronological study of maps beginning in the 1540s and traces the paths of explorers through the region
Catography and Geographic Information Science (CaGIS) by
Call Number: 526.05 A512; online access
Publication Date: 1986-
"Cartography and Geographic Information Science (CaGIS) is the official publication of the Cartography and Geographic Information Society. The Cartography and Geographic Information Society supports research, education, and practices that improve the understanding, creation, analysis, and use of maps and geographic information."