Scientific Maps in the Mansfield Library Overview
The Mansfield Library hold a number of scientific map resources available in paper and online. Montana-specific scientific maps are available in the Archives and Special Collections Montana Room. A few examples include geologic maps, national forest and wilderness area maps, forest health protection (PEST) maps and BLM mineral management maps.
For more information about maps related to GIS data, aerial imagery, click on this link.
Mansfield Library Topographic Map Resources
Topographic (topo) maps show physical features of a given area of land. Archives and Special Collections maintains both full and partial sets of various sizes of Montana topo maps. The Mansfield Library maintains partial sets of topo maps of Montana and other states. These maps can be found using the library's online catalog, OneSearch.
Archives and Special Collections retains current and older editions of Montana topos available in scales of 1:24,000 (7 1/2-minute), 1:62,500 (15-minute), 1:100,000 (30- x 60-minute), and 1:250,000. These maps are available for browsing in the Montana Room on Level 4 and cannot be checked out.
Standard topo maps (1:24,000 scale) are shelved alphabetically by quadrangle name. Topographical maps of other scales (1:62,500, 1:100,000, and 1:250,000) are filed by call number.
Topo maps of Montana and other states that can be checked out are located on Level 1. These maps are filed alphabetically by quadrangle name. An index to the quadrangles is located on top of the map cases near the topo map drawers. The library only maintains a partial set of any given year and scale.
Online Topographic Map Resources
- Montana Geographic InformationThrough federal tribal, state, and local inter-agency data coordination and partnerships. Montana State Library develops and maintains an extensive collection of Montana's geographically referenced information about the cultural and natural resources for the state.
- Montana Public Land Survey Subsection FinderThis form allows you to specify a Public Land Survey subsection whose location you want us to estimate.
- USGS Topographic Mapping BookletA guide published by the USGS that defines what a topographic map is and how topo maps are currently created. It also includes information about the history of the USGS topographic mapping project.
- USGS Historic Topographic MapsA new site created by the USGS for historic topographic maps. This is an on-going project and the site currently has 90,000 maps available with plans to upload more.
- USGS Special CollectionsUSGS Special Collections can help locate out of print and historic topographic maps for the entire United States.
- Broer Map LibraryCooperative online map collection features topos of Montana, Idaho, Wyoming and Washington.
- Western Association of Map LibrariesThis page provides the number of topo maps that are produced for each state.
Wildland Fire Map Resources
Wildland Fire Danger Estimation and Mapping by ISBN: 981238569XPublication Date: 2003-10-01The book presents a wide range of techniques for extracting information from satellite remote sensing images in forest fire danger assessment. It covers the main concepts involved in fire danger rating, and analyses the inputs derived from remotely sensed data for mapping fire danger at both the local and global scale.
- Active Fire Mapping ProgramThis site has a map showing current large wildfire incidents across the country and a short synopsis of national fire activity for the day.
- GeoMAC Wild Fire InformationThe Geospatial Multi-Agency Coordination Group or GeoMac, is an internet base mapping application originally designed for fire managers to access online maps of current fire locations and perimeters across the country. In addition the site has historic maps of wildland fires from 2000-2010.
- Montana DNRC Fire MapGIS fire map showing everything from DNRC offices, land boundaries, fire districts, to information from NOAA, INCIweb, MDOT and other local, state and federal agencies.
- Northern Rockies Coordination Center (NRCC)The Northern Rockies Coordination Center (NRCC) is the interagency focal point for coordinating the mobilization of resources for wild land fire and other all-hazard incidents throughout the Northern Rockies Area and, when necessary, for assignment throughout the United States.
- National Interagency Fire Center (NIFC)The National Interagency Fire Center (NIFC), located in Boise, Idaho, is the nation's support center for wildland firefighting. Eight different agencies and organizations are part of NIFC. The site provides links current fire maps, fire season outlook information and geospatial data.
- InciWebInciWeb is an interagency all-risk incident information management system. The site provides maps, photographs and information about wildfires. The site allows visitors to search by state, incident name and status of the incident.
- LANDFIRELANDFIRE, also known as the Landscape Fire and Resource Management Planning Tools Project, is a five-year, multi-partner project producing consistent and comprehensive maps and data describing vegetation, wildland fuel, and fire regimes across the United States.
Mansfield Library Geologic and Hydrologic Map Resources
According to the USGS, geologic maps use a combination of lines, symbols, and colors to show the composition and structure of earth materials and their distribution across and beneath the Earth's surface. They generally show bedrock formations like granite or limestone, sediment deposited by glaciers or rivers, and structures like folds and faults. Geologic maps can be used to identify geologic hazards, locate natural resources, and facilitate land-use planning. Access this USGS publication for information on color and symbol coding.
Use the library's online catalog, OneSearch, to locate geologic and hydrologic maps, as well as the USGS paper indices. Consult the following resources to identify map call numbers:
USGS paper indices are located on Level 1 of the Mansfield Library in the Map Reference Area.
- Publications from 1879-2000 (call # MAP REF I 19.14:)
- Publication from 1978-2002 (call # MAP REF I 19.14/4
- Publications from July 2003-present (USGS Publications Warehouse)
- Guide to U.S. Government Maps : Geologic and Hydrologic Maps 1928-1979, 1986 and 1992 (call # MAP REF 557.3 X G946
- A Cartobibliography of Separately Published U.S. Geological Survey Special Maps and River Surveys (call # MAP REF 912.73 X S795c)
You might also try the USGS Publications Warehouse. This site provides the citation information for the map you need and may include a scan of the document.
Online Geologic and Hydrologic Map Resources
- National Geologic Map DatabaseThis site provides access to USGS map tools and resources including its map catalog, stratigraphy, MapView, and TopoView.
- USGS Publications WarehouseAn excellent source for locating geologic and other scientific maps
- Hydrologic Unit MapsUSGS website that explains hydrologic maps.
- Mineral Resources On-Line Spatial DataInteractive maps and downloadable data for regional and global Geology, Geochemistry, Geophysics, and Mineral Resources.
- National Wetlands MapperFish and Wildlife Services national wetlands interactive mapping tool and inventory.
- Earth Resources Observation and Science Center (EROS)Earth Resources Observation and Science (EROS) Center is a remotely sensed data management, systems development, and research field center for the U.S. Geological Survey's (USGS) Climate and Land Use Change Mission Area. The site contains aerial photography, satellite imagery, elevation, land cover, digitized maps and image gallery collections.
More Online Scientific Map Resources
- National Land Cover Database (NLCD)The National Land Cover Database is maintained by the Multi-Resolution Land Characterization (MRLC) a consortium is a group of federal agencies who coordinate and generate consistent and relevant land cover information at the national scale for a wide variety of environmental, land management, and modeling applications.
- Federal Geographic Data CommitteeThe Federal Geographic Data Committee (FGDC) is an interagency committee that promotes the coordinated development, use, sharing, and dissemination of geospatial data on a national basis. This nationwide data publishing effort is known as the National Spatial Data Infrastructure (NSDI).
- Agricultural Census of the United StatesSeries of maps based on agricultural census. Topics include number of farms, value of land, size, buildings etc. Census occurs every five years.
- NOAA Nautical Chart Catalog and ViewerThis sites allows you to view any of NOAA's 1000+ nautical charts and download general use charts.