Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Maps Research Guide: Introduction to Map Resources

A compilation of print and online resources on how to locate and use maps.

Introduction to Map Resources in Archives and Special Collections

image of Missoula, Montana, map

What's in This Guide?

This guide is organized by the different types of maps available in Archives and Special Collections and, to a lesser extent, the Mansfield Library's general collection and other online resources. Use the tabs above or the links below to navigate this guide.

Your Librarian

Hannah Soukup's picture
Hannah Soukup
Contact:
Archives and Special Collections
Mansfield Library
32 Campus Dr. #9936
Missoula, MT 59812
406-243-2053

Map Apps

These resources created by U.S. Geological Survey and the National Park Service provide information on how to use map apps such as Avenza to convert geospatial data into pdfs on your mobile device for easier access.

PDF Maps for Smartphones and Tablets

Using U.S. Topo and Historic Topo Maps on Mobile Devices

How to Use This Guide

This guide is for people who want to learn more about maps and find maps in Archives and Special Collections, the Mansfield Library, and online. You will find the following information and resources in this guide:

  • Learn how and why to use maps
  • Learn how to find maps by reading call numbers and using library tools and other resources.
  • Locate historic and current maps of Montana and the Northwestern United States.
  • Locate historic and current maps of the rest of the United States.
  • Access thousands of digitized maps held by other institutions.

Quick Links to Helpful Map Resources

University of Montana Campus Plans


Campus plans are more than just intricate drawings showing the layout of the university. They have information about land purchases, private property, landscaping, building location and much more. Archives and Special Collections has campus plans from 1895 to 1971. To view the plans, visit Archives and Special Collections. Some of these plans and drawings have been digitized and are available to view on ScholarWorks.

Interactive Map Resources

Create interactive maps by using one or more of these free, open-source options.

Land Acknowledgment

The University of Montana acknowledges that we are in the aboriginal territories of the Salish and Kalispel people. We honor the path they have always shown us in caring for this place for the generations to come.