Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Social Science Data
ICPSR: Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research
Social science data repository, management, and curation consortium. The majority of datasets may be downloaded for analysis and data can be uploaded for preservation archiving and sharing. The ICPSR Bibliography of Data-related Literature is an index dating back to 1962, containing over 80,000 citations of works using data from the archive, including journal articles, books, book chapters, government and agency reports, working papers, dissertations, conference papers, and more.
Statistical Abstract of the United States
Statistics on U.S. social, political, and economic conditions, published annually, 2013-current edition. Content for the 1878-2012 editions are available at the U.S. Census website or via Hein Online.
American Community Survey
An ongoing Census Bureau survey that provides data every year, giving communities the current information they need to plan investments and services.
Population, housing, economic and geographic data from the U.S. Census Bureau.
Bureau of Economic Analysis
Provides data on national accounts, as well as state and local area personal income, GDP for states and metropolitan areas, and a link to the Survey of Current Business.
The activities of the U.S. Congress; contains all floor action.
Data and Statistics about the U.S.
Census and other agency statistics sources.
Federal, State & Local Governments
Provides source and amount of income, labor force information, program participation and eligibility data, and general demographic characteristics to measure the effectiveness of existing federal, state and local programs.
Montana Legislature Information
Click on Bills to access Montana legislative activity from 1999 to present.
Public School District Profiles
Compiled by the National Center for Education Statistics.
State Data Center
The State Data Center Program makes data available locally to the public through a network of state agencies, universities, libraries, and regional and local governments.
This portal combines fifteen databases and 55 million records from different UN agencies with more expected in the future. Major topics include agriculture, employment, education, energy, environment, health, human development, industry, information and communication technology, population, refugees, trade, and tourism.
Uniform Crime Reports
Data on crime in the United States from the FBI.
For those researching policy at the state, municipal or tribal level, use USA.gov to find the appropriate sites. Also good for finding reports on policy from government agencies.
Other Data Sources
American National Election Studies
Data from ANES surveys on voting, public opinion and political participation.
Follow the Money
Great resource for data and reports on campaign contributions and funding on the state level. Covers a wide variety of topics.
State Health Facts
A project of the Henry J. Kaiser Family Foundation, this site provides free, up-to-date and easy-to-use health data for all 50 states on more than 700 health topics.
Daily news, polls, and public opinion on government, politics, economics, and management.
Free links to recent Harris Poll results, as well as the "Harris Vault" archive of past data.
Pew Research Center
Provides information on the issues, attitudes and trends shaping America and the world. Pew conducts public opinion polling and social science research, analyzes news coverage, and holds forums and briefings.
Ask Us! We're Here to Help
Chat with a Librarian
Use the Chat in the lower right corner of library webpages, from 10am-4pm Monday-Friday during spring semester. Submit questions using the Email a Librarian link outside of those hours.
Ask a Librarian
We will respond to messages within 24-48 hours Monday-Friday.
Follow us on Facebook
Follow us on Instagram