What are Role Playing Games?
A role-playing game (RPG and sometimes roleplaying game) is a game in which players assume the roles of characters in a fictional setting. Players take responsibility for acting out these roles within a narrative, either through literal acting or through a process of structured decision-making or character development. Actions taken within many games succeed or fail according to a formal system of rules and guidelines.
There are several forms of RPG. The original form, sometimes called the tabletop RPG, is conducted through discussion, whereas in live action role-playing games (LARP) players physically perform their characters' actions. In both of these forms, an arranger called a game master (GM) usually decides on the rules and setting to be used and acts as referee, while each of the other players plays the role of a single character. -Wikipedia
Dungeons and Dragons
5th Edition
Player's Handbook (5th edition) by Call Number: Level 3 Game Shelves -- GM 066ISBN: 9780786965601Publication Date: 2014-08-19Create heroic characters for the world's greatest roleplaying game. The Player's Handbook is the essential reference for every Dungeons & Dragons roleplayer. It contains rules for character creation and advancement, backgrounds and skills, exploration and combat, equipment, spells, and much more.
Monster Manual (5th edition) by Call Number: Level 3 Game Shelves -- GM 068ISBN: 9780786965618Publication Date: 2014-09-30The Monster Manual teaches you how to how to fill your Dungeons & Dragons games with monsters--how to populate the game with pesky goblins and mighty dragons for players to battle or beguile, outwit or outrun. Inside the Monster Manual you'll find more than 150 classic D&D creatures, with vivid illustrations and rich descriptions to help breathe life into your zombies and liches.
Dungeon Master's Guide (5th edition) by Call Number: Level 3 Game Shelves -- GM 067ISBN: 9780786965625Publication Date: 2014-12-09All you need to run a Dungeons & Dragons game is your imagination, some dice, and this book. The Dungeon Master's Guide teaches you how to how to run D&D adventures for your players-- how to invent monsters for them to fight, mysteries for them to solve, and fantasy worlds for them to explore.
Tales from the Yawning Portal by Call Number: Level 3 Game Shelves -- GM 108ISBN: 9780786966097Publication Date: 2017-04-04Within this tome are seven of the most compelling dungeons from the 40+ year history of Dungeons & Dragons. Some are classics that have hosted an untold number of adventurers, while others are some of the most popular adventures ever printed. The seeds of these stories now rest in your hands. D&D's most storied dungeons are now part of your modern repertoire of adventures. Enjoy, and remember to keep a few spare character sheets handy.
4th Edition
Player's Handbook (4th edition) by Call Number: Level 3 Game Shelves -- GM 053ISBN: 9780786948673Publication Date: 2008-06-06The Player's Handbook presents the official Dungeons & Dragons Roleplaying Game rules as well as everything a player needs to create D&D characters worthy of song and legend: new character races, base classes, paragon paths, epic destinies, powers, more magic items, weapons, armor, and much more.
Monster Manual (4th edition) by Call Number: Level 3 Game Shelves -- GM 052ISBN: 9780786948529Publication Date: 2008-06-06The Monster Manual presents more than 300 official Dungeons & Dragons Roleplaying Game monsters for all levels of play, from aboleth to zombie. Each monster is illustrated and comes with complete game statistics and tips for the Dungeon Master on how best to use the monster in D&D encounters.
Dungeon Master's Guide (4th edition) by Call Number: Level 3 Game Shelves -- GM 051ISBN: 9780786948802Publication Date: 2008-06-06The Dungeon Master's Guide gives the Dungeon Master helpful tools to build exciting encounters, adventures, and campaigns for the 4th Edition Dungeons & Dragons Roleplaying Game, as well as advice for running great game sessions, ready-to-use traps and non-player characters, and more. In addition, it presents a fully detailed town that can serve as a starting point for any D&D game.- Dungeon Master's Screen (4th edition rules reference) byCall Number: Level 3 Game Shelves -- GM 050Publication Date: 2008
Keep on the Shadowfell by Call Number: Level 3 Game Shelves -- GM 048ISBN: 9780786948505Publication Date: 2008-05-20A D&D adventure for characters of levels 1-3. The town of Winterhaven stands watch over a ruined keep that was once a bastion of good in the realm. This keep overlooks the Shadow Rift, a dark scar in the world that was once a gateway to the Shadowfell but has been dormant for many years. Now, an evil cleric of Orcus, Demon Lord of the Undead, seeks to re-open the gate, and the only thing standing in his way is a small yet determined band of heroes from Winterhaven.
Thunderspire Labyrinth by Call Number: Level 3 Game Shelves -- GM 049ISBN: 9780786948727Publication Date: 2008-07-15A 4th Edition D&D® adventure for characters of levels 4-6. Beneath Thunderspire Mountain lies a sprawling network of mazes, tombs, and caverns collectively known as the Labyrinth of Lost Souls. In recent years, this vast labyrinth has become a living dungeon where trade between the surface and subterranean worlds is possible. However, beyond the well-lit halls where prospectors, merchants, and traders convene lies a darker world where adventurers battle monsters and fiendish beings perform secret rituals for their dark masters.
3.5 Edition
Monster Manual (3.5 edition) by Call Number: Level 3 Game Shelves -- GM 104ISBN: 9780786928934Publication Date: 2003-07-01Describes the characteristics and attributes of a variety of monsters, zombies, demons, giants, werewolves, animals, and aliens for use in the Dungeons and Dragons game.
Player's Handbook (3.5 edition) by Call Number: Level 3 Game Shelves -- GM 105ISBN: 9780786962464Publication Date: 2012-09-18This reprint of the v.3.5 core rulebooks keeps this popular version of the D&D game in print and available to 3rd Edition players seeking to replace their old books as well as new players seeking a 3rd Edition game experience. This book includes the most up-to-date Player's Handbook errata.
Dungeon Master's Guide (3.5 edition) by Call Number: Level 3 Game Shelves -- GM 106ISBN: 9780786928897Publication Date: 2003-07-01Offers tips, advice, and strategies for creating worlds and adventures that players can enjoy while playing Dungeons & Dragons.
Pathfinder
"The Pathfinder Roleplaying Game puts you in the role of a brave adventurer fighting to survive in a world beset by magic and evil. Will you cut your way through monster-filled ruins and cities rife with political intrigue to emerge as a famous hero laden with fabulous treasure, or will you fall victim to treacherous traps and fiendish monsters in a forgotten dungeon?" (Core Rulebook, product listing)
Core Rulebook (1st edition) by Call Number: Level 3 Game Shelves -- GM 041ISBN: 9781601251503Publication Date: 2009-09-01Your fate is yours to decide with this giant Core Rulebook that provides everything a player [or Gamemaster] needs to set out on a life of adventure and excitement!
Pathfinder roleplaying game : beginner box (1st edition) by Call Number: Level 3 Game Shelves -- GM 036Publication Date: 2011This beginner's box contains the simple rules as a first step into a world of fantasy adventure. Players can create and customize their own hero along with challenging adventures and deadly battles against villainous monsters.
Pathfinder roleplaying game : GM screen by Call Number: Level 3 Game Shelves -- GM 042Publication Date: 2010This four-panel screen is designed to speed up play and reduce the time spent by the Game Master searching through rulebooks.
GURPS
"With GURPS, you can be anyone you want – an elf hero fighting for the forces of good, a shadowy femme fatale on a deep-cover mission, a futuristic swashbuckler carving up foes with a force sword in his hand and a beautiful woman by his side . . . or literally anything else! Thanks to its flexibility, quality writing, and ease of use, GURPS has been the premiere universal roleplaying game for over three decades!" (SJGames.com)
GURPS Basic Set by Call Number: Level 3 Game Shelves -- GM 044ISBN: 9781556347290Publication Date: 2004-08-01GURPS is the most flexible roleplaying system ever created. With just this book, you can adventure in any world you can imagine. Use all types of weapons from clubs to lasers...magic and martial arts...psionics and superpowers. Create exactly the character you want to play...your favorite fictional hero, or your own invention.
Gurps Basic Set by Call Number: Level 3 Game Shelves -- GM 045ISBN: 9781556347306Publication Date: 2008-08-01This book is intended for Game Masters and advanced players. It covers physical feats, combat, vehicles and technology, animals and monsters, world design, and Game Mastering.
GURPS - Space by Call Number: Level 3 Game Shelves -- GM 046ISBN: 9781556347979Publication Date: 2009-03-18This volume will help you create campaigns of every style, from science fantasy to space opera to realistic. Recreate your favorite science-fiction background, or develop an original world of your own.
GURPS - Supers by Call Number: Level 3 Game Shelves -- GM 047ISBN: 9781556347719Publication Date: 2008This volume is a comprehensive playbook to the supers genre and to capturing it in your campaign. It is focused on drama and characterization.
