Digital Collection from the Meeting of Frontiers project, "a bilingual, multimedia English-Russian digital library that tells the story of the American exploration and settlement of the West, the parallel exploration and settlement of Siberia and the Russian Far East, and the meeting of the Russian-American frontier in Alaska and the Pacific Northwest."

Russian Books from the Metropolitan Museum of Art libraries - rare, digitized books from the 19th and early 20th centuries.

Roger Fenton's Letters from the Crimea - Written by the English photographer during the Crimean War.

Atlases from the 18th, 19th and early 20th centuries.

The British Museum's collection of features icons in chronological order from the 15th to early 20th centuries. 

Hermitage Museum's Digital Collection - Includes a very helpful advanced serch feature.

Metropolitan Museum of Art's advanced collection search feature allows you to target a search of over 3000 Russia-related items.

The Russian Museum features a searchable database.

19th-century Siberian Digital Photos Collection  

Atkinson, Thomas Witlam. Oriental and Western Siberia: A Narrative of Seven Years' Exploration and Adventures in Siberia, Mongolia, the Kirghis Steppes, Chinese Tartary, and a Part of Central Asia. New York: Harper & Bros, 1858.
Call Number: 957 A778o (Level 2)

Bek, Anna Nikolaevna, and Anne Dickason Rassweiler. The Life of a Russian Woman Doctor: A Siberian Memoir, 1869-1954. Bloomington: Indiana University Press, 2004. Electronic Resource.

Belliustin, I.S., and Gregory L. Freeze. Description of the Clergy in Rural Russia: The Memoir of a Nineteenth-Century Parish Priest. Ithaca: Cornell University Press, 1985.
262.140947 B444Z.Ef (Level 4)

Buckinghamshire, John Hobart, and Adelaide D'Arcy Collyer. The Despatches and Correspondence of John, Second Earl of Buckinghamshire, Ambassador to the Court of Catherine II. of Russia 1762-1765. London: Longmans, Green, and Co, 1900.  

Burnaby, Fred. A Ride to Khiva: Travels and Adventures in Central Asia. New York: Harper & Brothers, 1885.
Call Number: 958.508 B963r.n  (Level 2)

Catherine, and Oleg Nikolaevich Mikhaĭlov. Sochinenii︠a︡ Ekateriny II. Moskva: Sov. Rossii︠a︡, 1990.
Call Number: 891.722 C361ab 1990 (Level 2)

Chekhov, Mikhail Pavlovich, and Eugene Alper. Anton Chekhov: A Brother's Memoir. New York: Palgrave Macmillan, 2010.
Call Number: 891.723 C5159v (Level 2)

Clyman, Toby W., and Judith Vowles. Russia through women's eyes: autobiographies from Tsarist Russia. New Haven: Yale University Press, 1996.
920.720947 R969 (Level 2)

Collins, Perry McDonough. Siberian Journey: Down the Amur to the Pacific, 1856-1857. Madison: University of Wisconsin Press, 1962.
Call Number: 957.7 C712s (Level 2)

Custine, Astolphe. Custine's Eternal Russia: A New Edition of Journey for Our Time. Miami: Center for Advanced International Studies, University of Miami, 1976. (1839)
Call Number: 947.45 C987r.Ek 1976 (Level 2)

Demidov, Anatolii, and Denis Auguste Marie Raffet. Travels in Southern Russia and the Crimea: Through Hungary, Wallachia, & Moldavia, During the Year 1837. London: J. Mitchell, 1855.
Call Number: 947 D379t 1855 (Level 2)

Dillon, Emile Joseph. Russian Characteristics. London: Chapman and Hall, Ld, 1892.
Call Number: 947 D579r (Level 2)

Dixon, Simon. Britain and Russia in the Age of Peter the Great: Historical Documents. London: School of Slavonic and East European Studies, 1998.
Call Number: 327.41047 B86211 (Level 2)

Dmytryshyn, Basil. Imperial Russia; A Source Book, 1700-1917. Hinsdale, Ill: Dryden Press, 1974.
Call Number: 947 D629i 1974 (Level 2)

Dostoyevsky, Fyodor, Alexander Eliasberg, and Ethel Colburn Mayne. Letters of Fyodor Michailovitch Dostoevsky to His Family and Friends. London: Chatto & Windus, 1914.
Call Number: 891.733 D724Z4Em (Level 2) 

Durova, N. A., and Mary Fleming Zirin. The Cavalry Maiden: Journals of a Russian Officer in the Napoleonic Wars. Bloomington: Indiana University Press, 1988.
Call Number: 940.27 D964Z (Level 2)  

Gogolʹ, Nikolaĭ Vasilʹevich, and Carl R. Proffer. Letters of Nikolai Gogol. Ann Arbor: University of Michigan Press, 1967.
Call Number: 891.733 G13Z.Ep (Level 2) 

Haxthausen, August. Studies on the Interior of Russia. Chicago: University of Chicago Press, 1972
Call Number: 947.07 H411s.Es (Level 2)

Hommaire de Hell, Xavier, and Adèle Hommaire de Hell. Travels in the Steppes of the Caspian Sea: The Crimea, the Caucasus, &C. London: Chapman and Hall, 1847.
Call Number: 947 H768t (Level 2)

Georg, and Charles MacDonnell. Diary of an Austrian Secretary of Legation at the Court of Czar Peter the Great. London: Bradbury & Evans, 1863.
Call Number: 947.05 K84d.Em (Level 2)

Kanatchikov, S., and Reginald E. Zelnik. A Radical Worker in Tsarist Russia: The Autobiography of Semën Ivanovich Kanatchikov. Stanford, Calif: Stanford University Press, 1986.
Call Number: 322.20947 K16Z.Ez (Level 2)

Ledyard, John, and Stephen D. Watrous. Journey Through Russia and Siberia, 1787-1788: The Journal and Selected Letters. Madison: University of Wisconsin Press, 1966.
947.06 L476j (Level 2)

Manstein, Cristof Hermann, and David Hume. Memoirs of Russia, Historical, Political, and Military, from the Year MDCCXXVII, to MDCCXLIV: A Period Comprehending Many Remarkable Events in Particular the Wars of Russia with Turky and Sweden with a Supplement Containing a Summary Account of the State of the Military, the Marine, the Commerce, &C. of That Great Empire. London: Printed for T. Becket and P.A. De     Hondt, 1770.

MacKay, John. Four Russian Serf Narratives. Madison, Wis: University of Wisconsin Press, 2009. Electronic resource.

Mendes-Flohr, Paul R., and Jehuda Reinharz. The Jew in the Modern World: A Documentary History. New York: Oxford University Press, 2011. Call Number: 909.04924 J591 2011 (Level 2)

Newcomb, Raymond Lee, and Richard W. Bliss. Our Lost Explorers: The Narrative of the Jeannette Arctic Expedition As Related by the Survivors, and in the Records and Last Journals of Lieutenant De Long. Hartford: American Pub. Co, 1882.
Call Number: 998 B649o (Level 2)

Nikitenko, Aleksandr. Up from serfdom: my childhood and youth in Russia, 1804-1824. New Haven, Conn: Yale University Press, 2002.
Call Number: 891.709 N692Zj (Level 2) as well as electronic resource.

Norman, Henry, and Leo Tolstoy. All the Russias; Travels and Studies in Contemporary European Russia, Finland, Siberia, the Causasus, and Central Asia. New York: C. Scribner's Sons, 1902.
947 N842a (Level 2)

Parkinson, John, and William Collier. A Tour of Russia, Siberia and the Crimea, 1792-1794. London: Cass, 1971.
Call Number: 947.07 P247t

Putnam, Peter. Seven Britons in Imperial Russia, 1698-1812. Princeton: Princeton University Press, 1952. 947 P992s (Level 2)

Purlevskii, Savva Dmitrievich, and Boris B. Gorshkov. A Life Under Russian Serfdom: Memoirs of Savva Dmitrievich Purlevskii, 1800-1868. Budapest: Central European University Press, 2005.
306.365 P9858L (Level 2) or as an electronic book.

Rubinchek, Leonid S., and Leona Wilhelmine Eisele. A Digest of the Krasnyi Arkhiv (Red Archives) A Historical Journal of the Central Archive Department of the U.S.S.R. Cleveland: Cleveland Public Library, 1947. (1801 – 1917)
Call Number: 947.08 K91 (Level 2)

Russia, Alexander V. Muller, and Feofan. The Spiritual Regulation of Peter the Great. Seattle: University of Washington Press, 1972.
Call Number: 344.4709 R969r.Em (Level 2)

Radishchev, Aleksandr Nikolaevich, and Leo Weiner. A Journey from St. Petersburg to Moscow. Cambridge, Mass: Harvard University Press, 1958.
Call Number: 309.147 R129p.Ew (Level 2)

Rayfield, Donald. Anton Chekhov: A Life. New York: Henry Holt, 1998.
Call Number: 891.733 C515Za.Em (Level 2) 

Reeves, Francis B. Russia Then and Now, 1892-1917; My Mission to Russia During the Famine of 1891-1892, with Data Bearing Upon Russia of to-Day. New York: G.P. Putnam's Sons, 1917.
Call Number: 947.08 R332r (Level 2)

Seebohm, Henry. The Birds of Siberia; A Record of a Naturalist's Visits to the Valleys of the Petchora and Yenesei. London: J. Murray, 1901. Call Number: 598.2957 S451b (Level 5)

Shcherbatov, M. M., and A. Lentin. On the Corruption of Morals in Russia. London: Cambridge U.P., 1969.
Call Number: 309.147 S538o.EL (Level 2)

Stanislavsky, Konstantin, and Jean Benedetti. My life in art. London: Routledge, 2008.
Call Number: 792.23309 S7865M (Level 4)

Taylor, Bayard. Travels in Greece and Russia, with an Excursion to Crete. New York: G. P. Putnam, 1859.
Call Number: 940.285 T238t (Level 2)

Tolstoy, Leo, and Reginald Frank Christian. Tolstoy's Letters. New York: Scribner, 1978.
Call Number: 891.733 T654Z2.Ec (Level 2)

Turgenev, Ivan Sergeevich, and Edgar H. Lehrman. Letters,: A Selection. New York: Knopf, 1961.
Call Number: 891.733 T936Z4 (Level 2) 

Weber, Friedrich Christian. The Present State of Russia. New York: Da Capo Press, 1968. (1722)
Call Number: 947.06 W373v.En (Level 2)

These collections, spanning the from the Rus period through the Soviet era, often provide excerpts of English-translated primary documents and can serve as a great starting point.

Barker, Adele Marie, and Bruce Grant. The Russia Reader: History, Culture, Politics. Durham, NC: Duke University Press, 2010.

Call Number: 947 R9692 (Level 2)

Bisha, Robin. Russian Women, 1698-1917: Experience and Expression: an Anthology of  Sources. Bloomington, Ind: Indiana University Press, 2002.

Call Number: 305.40947 R9695 (Level 2)

Kaiser, Daniel H., and Gary Marker. Reinterpreting Russian History: Readings, 860-1860's. New York: Oxford University Press, 1994.

Call Number: 947 R374 (Level 2)

Levi, Scott, C and Ron Sela. Islamic Central Asia: an Anthology of Historical Sources. Bloomington: Indiana University Press, 2010.
Call Number: 958 I824 (Level 2)

Riha, Thomas. Readings in Russian Civilization. Chicago: University of Chicago Press, 1964. 

Call Number: 947 R572r (Level 2) This is a three-volume work. Also available as an electronic resource.

Vernadsky, George, and S. G. Pushkarev. A Source Book for Russian History from Early Times to 1917. New Haven [Conn.]: Yale University Press, 1972.

Call Number: 947 S724 (Level 2)

Walsh, Warren B. Readings in Russian History from Ancient Times to the Post-Stalin Era. [Syracuse, N.Y.]: Syracuse University Press, 1963.

Call Number: 947 W228r 1963 (Level 2)