It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
To access these or other journals, from the library homepage click on the Journals tab above the search box and then type in the name of a specific journal in the box. The results will indicate if the library provides online access or paper access to the journal, or if you will need to request it via Interlibrary Loan.
Provides basic intelligence on the history, people, government, economy, energy, geography, environment, communications, transportation, military, terrorism, and transnational issues for 266 world entities.
Full text of over 300 reference volumes published by Cambridge History, with a concentration on political and cultural history, literature, philosophy, religious studies, music and the arts. NOTE: The library has only licensed books published through 2016.
Full text digitized declassified government documents from 1945-present regarding U.S. policy toward critical world events, with each module organized around a distinct topic and time period. See more for a listing of the specific modules acquired by the library. Produced by the nongovernmental National Security Archive.
• Afghanistan: The Making of U.S. Policy, 1973–1990
• Argentina, 1975-1980: The Making of U.S. Human Rights Policy
• The Berlin Crisis, 1958–1962
• Chile and the United States: U.S. Policy toward Democracy, Dictatorship, and Human Rights, 1970–1990
• China and the United States: From Hostility to Engagement, 1960–1998
• CIA Covert Operations: From Carter to Obama, 1977-2010
• CIA Covert Operations II: The Year of Intelligence, 1975
• CIA Family Jewels Indexed
• Colombia and the United States: Political Violence, Narcotics, and Human Rights, 1948-2010
• The Cuban Missile Crisis, 1962
• The Cuban Missile Crisis: 50th Anniversary Update
• The Cuban Missile Crisis Revisited: An International Collection, From Bay of Pigs to Nuclear Brink
• Death Squads, Guerrilla War, Covert Ops, and Genocide: Guatemala and the United States, 1954-1999
• Electronic Surveillance and the National Security Agency: From Shamrock to Snowden
• El Salvador: The Making of U.S. Policy, 1977–1984
• El Salvador: War, Peace, and Human Rights, 1980–1994
• Iran: The Making of U.S. Policy, 1977–1980
• The Iran-Contra Affair: The Making of a Scandal, 1983–1988
• Iraqgate: Saddam Hussein, U.S. Policy and the Prelude to the Persian Gulf War, 1980–1994
• Japan and the United States: Diplomatic, Security, and Economic Relations, 1960–1976
• Japan and the United States: Diplomatic, Security, and Economic Relations, 1977–1992
• Japan and the United States: Diplomatic, Security, and Economic Relations, Part III, 1961-2000
• The Kissinger Conversations, Supplement: A Verbatim Record of U.S. Diplomacy, 1969–1977
• The Kissinger Conversations, Supplement II: A Verbatim Record of U.S. Diplomacy, 1969-1977
• The Kissinger Telephone Conversations: A Verbatim Record of U.S. Diplomacy, 1969-1977
• The Kissinger Transcripts: A Verbatim Record of U.S. Diplomacy, 1969-1977
• Mexico-United States Counternarcotics Policy, 1969-2013
• Nicaragua: The Making of U.S. Policy, 1978–1990
• Peru: Human Rights, Drugs and Democracy, 1980-2000
• The Philippines: U.S. Policy During the Marcos Years, 1965–1986
• Presidential Directives on National Security, Part I: From Truman to Clinton
• Presidential Directives on National Security, Part II: From Truman to George W. Bush
• South Africa: The Making of U.S. Policy, 1962–1989
• The Soviet Estimate: U.S. Analysis of the Soviet Union, 1947–1991
• Terrorism and U.S. Policy, 1968–2002
• U.S. Espionage and Intelligence, 1947–1996
• U.S. Intelligence and China: Collection, Analysis and Covert Action
• The U.S. Intelligence Community: Organization, Operations and Management, 1947–1989
• The U.S. Intelligence Community After 9/11
• U.S. Intelligence on Weapons of Mass Destruction: From World War II to Iraq
• U.S. Military Uses of Space, 1945–1991
• U.S. Nuclear History, 1969-1976: Weapons, Arms Control, and War Plans in an Age of Strategic Parity
• U.S. Nuclear History: Nuclear Arms and Politics in the Missile Age, 1955–1968
• U.S. Nuclear Nonproliferation Policy, 1945–1991
• U.S. Policy in the Vietnam War, Part I: 1954-1968
• U.S. Policy in the Vietnam War, Part II: 1969-1975
• The United States and the Two Koreas, Part II, 1969-2010
• The United States and the Two Koreas (1969-2000)
Full text of over 180,000 English-language books, tracts, and printed ephemera published between 1701 and 1800. This collection includes multiple English-language primary sources related to Muscovy/Russia including travel accounts, treaties and trade-related documents.
Streaming classic and contemporary ethnographies, documentaries and shorts from every continent as well as full text transcripts, interviews, field notes, and study guides covering human culture and behavior, including culture and cultural change, kinship and family, economic systems and globalization, gender and sexuality, religion and ritual, and language and communication. NOTE: The library only owns the videos in volume I of the collection.
Explore Russian cultural influences, as well as those of the former Soviet Socialist Republics. Learn about Viking decorative arts, Kievan Rus cathedrals, 18th century metalwork, or Soviet painters.
"Too many concurrent users" indicates that the database is already being used by the maximum allowable number of users. Try to access the database at a different time.
It is recommended that users of this database do the following to limit concurrency turnaways and to allow for other users to gain access to the database: 1) Ensure all browsers are set to enable cookies or the system may log each individual piece of content on a page as a new request and register it as a separate session; 2) Log out completely after finishing a session. If the log out button is not selected upon exiting the database, it may take up to 20 minutes for the session to expire; 3) Use only one open browser per session. Multiple browser windows may be logged as separate sessions.
Full text scholarly journals in the fields of: area and ethnic studies; art and architecture; creative writing; education; film, theater, and performing arts; history; language and linguistics; library science and publishing; literature; medicine and health; music; philosophy; religion; science, technology, and mathematics; social sciences; studies by time period; women's studies, gender, and sexuality.
More than 343,000 works of English, American, African American and Canadian poetry from the eighth century to the present day. Includes hundreds of full-text Early English works of drama, poetry and literature.
ProQuest One Literature searches these literature collections. Use the Literature collection filter within the ProQuest interface to select individual modules to include in your search.
•African American Poetry: The early history of African American poetry, from the first recorded poem by an African American to the major poets of the nineteenth century.
•African Writers Series: Key texts of modern African literature published in the Heinemann's African Writers Series since 1962. (NEW)
•American Drama (1714-1915): Over 1,500 American dramatic works.
•American Poetry: Over 40,000 poems by more than 200 American poets from the Colonial Period to the early twentieth century.
•Bertolt Brechts Werke: The dramatic, poetical and theoretical texts of Bertolt Brecht (1898 - 1956). (NEW)
•Black Short Fiction and Folklore: 82,000 pages and more than 11,000 works of short fiction produced by writers from Africa and the African Diaspora from the earliest times to the present. (NEW)
•Black Women Writers: 100,000 pages of literature and essays on feminist issues, written by authors from Africa and the African diaspora. (NEW)
•Canadian Poetry: 19,000 poems by 177 poets from the eighteenth century to the early twentieth.
•Caribbean Literature: Literature produced by descendants of the African, Indian, and South Asian populations brought to the Caribbean between the 15th and 19th centuries. (NEW)
•Die Deutsche Lyrik in Reclams Universal-Bibliothek: Almost 500 years of German lyric poetry and includes the work of over 500 authors from the 15th to the 20th century. (NEW)
•Digitale Bibliothek Deutscher Klassiker: Series published since 1981, covers the works of more than thirty German authors spanning eleven centuries. (NEW)
•Early American Fiction (1789-1875): Full text of 875 first editions of American novels and short stories.
•Early English Prose Fiction (1500-1700): More than 200 works from the period 1500–1700, exploring English prose fiction in the period preceding the emergence of the realist novel as its dominant form.
•Eighteenth-Century Fiction (1700-1780): 96 complete works of English prose from the period 1700–1780, by writers from the British Isles.
•English Drama: More than 3,900 plays in verse and prose tracing the development of drama in English.
•English Poetry (1700-1780): Essentially the complete English poetic canon from the 8th century to the early 20th.
•English Poetry, Second Edition: Comprehensive canon of English poetry of the British Isles and the British Empire from the 8th century to the early 20th, and representing more than 2,700 poets.
•The Faber Poetry Library (1925-1999): Collection of fifty of the most influential poets of the twentieth century, includes the poetry of Thom Gunn, Siegfried Sassoon, T.S. Eliot, Ted Hughes, Sylvia Plath, Wendy Cope and Seamus Heaney.
•Goethes Werke: Complete text of the Weimar Edition of the works of Johann Wolfgang von Goethe (1749-1832). (NEW)
•Irish Women Poets of the Romantic Period: More than 80 volumes of poetry by approximately 50 Irish women writing between 1768 and 1842. (NEW)
•Kafkas Werke: A critical edition of the complete works of Franz Kafka (1883-1924), Franz Kafka, Kritische Ausgabe, Schriften und Tagebücher. (NEW)
•Latin American Women Writers: 100,000 pages of literary works, along with memoirs and essays, in their original language, by Latin American women from the colonial period in the 17th century to the present. (NEW)
•Latino Literature: Poetry, Drama, and Fiction: 100,000 pages of poetry, short fiction, novels, and more than 450 plays. (NEW)
•Literary Theory: Works that have had a significant bearing on English and American traditions of theory and criticism, or which have influenced contemporary theoretical debate in the English-speaking world.
•Nineteenth-Century Fiction (1782-1903): 250 British and Irish novels from the period 1782 to 1903, stretching from the golden age of Gothic fiction to the Decadent and New Woman novels of the 1890s.
•Schillers Werke: Schillers Werke. Nationalausgabe, presents the works of Friedrich Schiller (1759-1805), German playwright, poet, and philosopher. (NEW)
•Scottish Women Poets of the Romantic Period: 60 volumes of Romantic poetry composed by Scottish women, includes contemporary criticism and essays. (NEW)
•South and Southeast Asian Literature in English: Thousands of pages of English-language fiction, short fiction, and poems written from the end of the colonial era to the present. (NEW)
•Teatro Español del Siglo de Oro: Full text of the most important dramatic works of sixteenth and seventeenth century Spain - more than 800 plays written by 16 dramatists. (NEW)
•Twentieth-Century African American Poetry (1901-1999): Modern and contemporary African American poetry, featuring almost 9,000 poems by 62 of the most important African American poets of the last century.
•Twentieth-Century American Poetry (1901-2000): 50,000 poems drawn from 750 volumes by over 300 poets.
•Twentieth-Century American Poetry, Second Edition: Over 100,000 poems representing the full range of American poetry of the last century. (NEW)
•Twentieth-Century Drama: Essential collection of published plays from throughout the English-speaking world, covering the history of modern drama from the 1890s to the present day. (NEW)
•Twentieth-Century English Poetry: A collection of 598 volumes of poetry by 283 poets from 1900 to 2000.