Your Librarian
Associate Professor
MLIB 324
Maureen and Mike Mansfield Library
University of Montana
Missoula, Montana 59812
406/243-2864
Welcome!
Welcome to the LibGuide for Russian Studies. This guide will help you get started in your research. Click on any of the tabs above to get more information on Library resources, Web resources, and University programs and offices.
General Russian Studies Links
Russia Links (University of Wisconsin-Madison) - Excellent organization of links, including the language of the suggested sites, with occasional evaluation of sites.
Russian Webliography - Comprehensive list of resources related to the study of Russian language and culture, created by the Slavic and East European Language Resource Center at Duke University.
School of Russian and Asian Studies Library - "Everything and Anything about Russia and Eurasia."
Dictionaries and Transliteration Guides
Library of Congress Transliteration Tables for Cyrillic Alphabets
Multitran - Russian-English and English-Russian dictionary
Translit Plus - Online transliteration tool
Finding Good Articles
- CIA World FactbookThe World Factbook provides information on the history, people, government, economy, geography, communications, transportation, military, and transnational issues for 267 world entities.
The best place to look for articles is the library databases. Here are the best databases for discovering articles related to Russian Studies.
- Directory of Open Access JournalsFull text, quality controlled scientific and scholarly journals
- Historical Abstracts with Full Text (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
History and culture of the world, excluding the United States and Canada
- JSTORScholarly journals in the arts, humanities, social sciences, business, and sciences
- Literature Resource CenterBiographical and bibliographical information on authors and their works
- MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Index to journals, series, and books covering literature, language and linguistics, folklore, film, literary theory and criticism, dramatic arts, as well as the historical aspects of printing and publishing from the 1920s-present.
- Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window- This link opens in a new window
Full text scholarly journals in the fields of: area and ethnic studies; art and architecture; creative writing; education; film, theater, and performing arts; history; language and linguistics; library science and publishing; literature; medicine and health; music; philosophy; religion; science, technology, and mathematics; social sciences; studies by time period; women's studies, gender, and sexuality.
- WorldCat (Discovery) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Catalog of library resources held by institutions around the world. Find materials and place interlibrary loan requests for resources not owned locally.
- Underground & Independent Comics, Comix, and Graphic Novels: Volume I This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full text digitized cartoon/comic strips, comics, artwork, commentary, and other primary documents focusing on adult comic books and graphic novels from North America and Europe, beginning with the first underground comix from the 1950s to the works of modern artists.
Additional Web Resources
- BibliographiesUniversity of Arizona Library's guide to Slavic Studies research.
- The Fundamental Digital Library: Russian Literature and Folklore (FEB-web)A project instituted in 1995 by the Gorky Institute of World Literature and the Informregistr Center at the Russian Ministry for Communications. A repository of Russian verbal art and the scholarly and other texts vital to understanding it (from their website).
- National Library of RussiaEnglish version
- Slavic Reference ServiceA service of the University of Illinois Slavic and East European Library.
- The Russian Empire and Soviet Union. A Guide to Manuscripts and Archival Materials in the United StatesSearchable database of this 1981 publication.