Russian Studies Research Guide

The Mansfield Library has several sets of encyclopedias relevant to Russian Studies. Among these are:

The Blackwell Encyclopedia of the Russian Revolution 
Author: Shukman, Harold.
Publication: Oxford, UK; New York, NY, USA : B. Blackwell, 1988
Call Number: 947.0841 B632 (Level 2)

Bol’shaia sovetskaia entsiklopediia [Большая советская энциклопедия] (2^nd edition)
   51 volumes + 2 indexes
Publisher: [Moskva]: Gosudarstvennoe nauchnoe izdatel’stvo "Bol’shaia sovetskaia entsiklopediia,"
Publication Date: 1949-1958
Call Number: 037 B693 1949 (Mansfield Library - Level 4)
   Standard reference work in the Soviet era.

The Cambridge encyclopedia of Russia and the former Soviet Union 
Author: Brown, Archie; Kaser, Michael Charles.
Publication: Cambridge [Cambridgeshire]; New York: Cambridge University Press, 1994
Call Number: 947.003 C178 1994 (Level 2)

Ent͡siklopedicheskiĭ slovarʹ [Энциклопедическій словаръ /подъ редакціей профессора И.Е.]
Publication Date: 1890-1904
Call Number: 037 E612 (Mansfield Library - Level 4)
   Late 19^th century encyclopedia with articles written by leading scholars. Includes good biographical and statistical information.

Encyclopedia of Eastern Europe: from the Congress of Vienna to the Fall of Communism 
Author: Frucht, Richard C.,
Publication: New York : Garland Pub., 2000
Call Number: 947.0003 E5641 (Level 2)

Encyclopedia of Russian History 
   4 volumes
Author: Millar, James R.,
Publication: New York : Macmillan Reference USA, 2004
Call Number: 947.003 E5646 (Level 2)

Encyclopedia of Russian Women's Movements 
Author: Noonan, Norma C.; Nechemias, Carol.
Publication: Westport, Conn.: Greenwood Press, 2001
Call Number: 305.420947 E56 (Level 2) and Electronic Book

Rossiia: entsiklopedicheskii spravochnik [Россия : энциклопедический справочник]
Author: Gorkin, A. P.
Publication: Moskva : Drofa, 1998
Call Number: 947.003 R834 (Level 2)

USSR Facts and Figures Annual (v. 1-17, 1977-1992) Russia and Eurasia Facts and Figures Annual (v. 18-v 28, 1993-2002) Gulf Breeze, FL : Academic International Press.
Call Number: 314.7 U11 (Level 2)

The Mansfield Library has over 100 dictionaries that have relevance for Russian Studies. A great way to find out what we have is to use the Library's catalog and the keywords Russia? and Dictionar? (the question mark is the way to truncate a word in our catalog.) Another way is to use WorldCat and search on keywords such as Russia, Russian, and Slavic in combination with dictionaries. Here are just a few examples:

Anglo-russkii kommercheskii slovar’-spravochnik: bolee 20000 slov / 
Author: Anokhina, Irina Gennad’evna.
Publication: Moskva : Mobi", 1992
Call Number: 650.03 A6158a (Level 5)

Dictionary of Russian historical terms from the eleventh century to 1917. 
Author: Pushkarev, S. G. b. 1888.
Publication: New Haven, Yale University Press, 1970
Call Number: 947.003 P987d (Level 3 Reference Desk)

Dictionary of Russian literature since 1917
Author: Kasack, Wolfgang.; Kasack, Wolfgang.; Atack, Rebecca.
Publication: New York : Columbia University Press, 1988
Call Number: 891.70904 K19L.Ec (Level 2)

A dictionary of Russian and Soviet artists, 1420-1970
Author: Milner, John, 1946- 
Publication: Woodbridge, Suffolk : Antique Collectors' Club, 1993
Call Number: 709.47 M659d (Level 4)

Dictionary of Russian women writers 
Author: Ledkovskaia-Astman, Marina.; Rosenthal, Charlotte.
Publication: Westport, Conn. : Greenwood Press, 1994
Call Number: 891.7099287 D554 (Level 2)

Historical Dictionary of Medieval Russia. 
Author: Langer, Lawrence N. 
Publication: Lanham, Md: Scarecrow Press, 2002. 
Call Number: 947.003 L276h (Level 2)

Historical dictionary of Russia 
Author: Raymond, Boris, 1925-; Duffy, Paul.
Publication: Lanham, Md. : Scarecrow Press, 1998
Call Number: 947 R268h (Level 2)

Historical dictionary of United States-Russian/Soviet relations 
Author: Saul, Norman E.
Publication: Lanham, Md. : Scarecrow Press, 2009
Call Number: 327.73047 S256H (Level 2)

Kratkaia geograficheskaia entsiklopediia [Краткая географическая энциклопедия]
5 volumes
Author: Grigor’ev, A. A.
Publication: Moskva, Sovetskaia entsiklopediia, 1960-1966
Call Number: 910.3 K89 (Level 2)

Kratkii slovar’ literaturovedcheskikh terminov : posobie dlia uchashchikhsia srednei shkoly / 
Author: Timofeev, L. I. 1903-1984.; Vengrov, Natan. 
Publication: Moskva : Gos. uchebno-pedagog. izd-vo, 1955
Call Number: 491.731 T585k (Level 4)

Miniature empires: a historical dictionary of the newly independent states 
Author: Minahan, James.
Publication: Westport, Conn. : Greenwood Press, 1998
Call Number: 940.559 M6633m (Level 2)

Russian-English dictionary of proverbs and sayings 
Author: Margulis, Alexander, 1974-; Kholodnaya, Asya.
Publication: Jefferson, N.C. : McFarland, 2000
Call Number: 398.99171 M331r (Level 2)

Russian poets of the Soviet era 
Author: Rosneck, Karen.
Publication: Detroit : Gale Cengage Learning, 2011
Call Number: 810.9 D554 v.359 (Level 2)

Serebrianyi vek : portretnaia galereia kul’turnykh geroev rubezha XIX-XX vekov [Серебряный век : портретная галерея культурных героев рубежа ХIХ-ХХ веков]
Author: Fokin, P. E.; Kniazeva, Svetlana Petrovna.
Publication: Sankt-Peterburg : Amfora, 2007- 
Call Number: 920.047 F662s (Level 2)

Tolkovyi slovar’ sovremennogo russkogo iazyka 
Author: Ushakov, D. N. 1873-1942.; IAkovleva, A. S.
Publication: Moskva : Al’ta-print ; DOM. XXI vek., 2008
Call Number: 491.73 U851L (Level 2)

St. Petersburg Encyclopedia