Ask Us! We're Here to Help
Chat with a librarian
Our live chat is active from 10am-2pm during summer sessions, otherwise you can leave an offline message!
FAQs
View common questions about the library, including information about borrowing items, accessing online resources, using library space, and more!
Follow us on Instagram
Stay up-to-date with the latest library news, events, and research tips!
Our Collections
Physical & Electronic Resources
There's so much to check out (literally). Our physical and electronic collections house thousands of resources for you to use, including:
- Books & eBooks
- Academic journals
- Databases
- Newspapers
- CDs
- DVDs
- Vinyl & music scores
- Video & board games
- Yoga mats
- And more!!
Course Reserves
A course reserve is an item that an instructor has asked us to take from the main stacks and only allow students to use for an abbreviated period
(traditionally, 1-4 hours), usually for in-library use only. Instructors do this so students can share a library-owned source to complete class readings or research.
Course reserves are held at the Circulation Desk on Level 3. Learn more about how to search for course reserves here.
Archives & Special Collections
Located on Level 4, Archives & Special Collections holds unique and valuable historical collections that document regional history:
- Diaries
- Letters
- Photographs
- University records
- Political papers
- Maps
- Oral histories
- Zines
- Pamphlets
- Rare books
Find & Access Collections
Logging In
- On Campus - make sure you connect to the eduroam wifi network.
- Off Campus - Log into My Library Account
OneSearch
- OneSearch is the search engine for library resources at the University of Montana libraries, including electronic and physical collections.
- The OneSearch box is on our website homepage. Just enter your search terms and go forth!
- You can also use the Advanced Search to help you put together your search terms or build a more advanced query.
Need help getting started? Check out our tips for using OneSearch!
Research Guides
Research Guides are created by the library to help you find the information you need.
- Subject Guides can help you find subject-specific resources for your discipline. You’ll find this helpful if you want to narrow your search results, get help with citations, or find additional resources related to your field.
- Topic Guides are helpful if you’re looking for information on more specific topics, like Cosplay Resources or Documentary Films
- General Guides can help you find specific types of resources, learn about how to use the library, community resources, and more!
Interlibrary Loan
Get items not owned by the Mansfield Library
Not finding what you need? Submit an interlibrary loan request! If we don't have an item, our Interlibrary Loan (ILL) team can usually request materials from other libraries.
Document Delivery
Articles, papers, and book chapters requested through ILL are delivered to you via email. You can also request scanned copies of book chapters or articles from the library's physical collections.
Physical ILL Items
You'll receive a notification when an ILL item arrives at the library. Just ask at the circulation desk! We can also mail items to your home, but we limit our at-home shipping services to users who live more than 50 miles away from campus. We pay for postage to send it to you, but you are responsible for return postage.
Can't make it to the library? You can designate someone else to pick up your items using this form.
Get Research Help
Get Help From a Librarian
Reference Desk
The reference desk is located in the library lobby and is staffed Monday-Friday, 10:00am - 4:00pm. There are a few ways you can reach us:
- Come in for walk-up assistance at the desk
- Chat with us online using the chat button in the lower left corner of the website
- Call us at 406-243-6866
- Email us at library.reference@umontana.edu
Research Consultations
Feel like you need some extra face time? Librarians are available for one-on-one or group research consultations. Email us to set up an appointment.
RefWorks
Through the library, you have access to RefWorks, a citation management tool that can make your life a lot easier! You can use RefWorks to organize articles for different projects, generate bibliographies quickly, and easily add in-text citations to your paper.
Follow this link to get started with RefWorks. Select "Create an Account" and use your @umontana.edu email address to create your profile.