Graduate Student Guide

Welcome graduate students! The Mansfield Libraries are here to support you with your research, teaching, and other information needs.

Print and Electronic Collections

• Over 1.8 million items and online resources including 250 index and full text databases and streaming audio and video collections are available to you, plus Archives & Special Collections unique manuscript and print items that document the history of the region, federal government publications, and UM open access institutional repository ScholarWorks.

Circulation and Course Reserves

• Check out books, bound journals, and media for four months using your Griz Card or a picture ID.

• Course reserve items can be borrowed for the time period the instructor designates.

Interlibrary Loan and Document Delivery

• Request books, journal articles and other materials not owned or subscribed to by the Mansfield Library.

• You can also request that articles and book chapters owned by the Mansfield Library be scanned for you, and you will receive an email link to download the materials once they are available.

• Click on "Interlibrary Loan" from the library homepage for the request form.

Reference Management

• The library subscribes to two online reference management services, RefWorks and EndNote Basic. The tools enable you to: keep track of your research sources, automatically generate a bibliography in a variety of citation styles, and add in-text citations to a paper. You can store documents in RefWorks, too.

• Access each resource via the “A-Z Database List” link from the library homepage.

Librarians and Research Consultations

Librarians can answer your research questions, provide guidance on the research process, and point you to relevant resources for your work. You can receive guidance on:

• data management,
• digital file preservation,
• open access publishing, and
• reference management, among other topics.

Email a librarian or reference personnel with questions or to set up a meeting.

Reference and Instruction

• Receive assistance in-person at the Reference Desk (10am-4pm Monday-Friday), and by phone, email (library.reference@umontana.edu), and chat (linked from the homepage, 10am-4pm Monday-Friday).

• Library instruction may occur in your classes, program orientation, and is offered via drop-in Workshops.

Online Research Guides

• Subject-specific research guidance as well as information on topics such as citations, copyright, data management, and open access scholarship can be found in online guides.

• Access the guides via the “Research Guides” link on the library homepage.

The library is a large building; you can find quiet or noisy spaces, study rooms and study carrels.

• Group Study Rooms, on levels 2 and 5, can be reserved for up to three hours a day, up to two weeks in advance, these include a Family-Friendly and a Veteran’s Study Room.
• An Accessible Technology Room is also available, on a first come, first served basis.
• There are 20 study carrels on levels 1 and 2 for daily use on a first come, first served basis.

• Paw Print is a fee-based print, copy, and scan center. Color and large-format printing, as well as 3-D printing, are available.
• There are laptops, WiFi Hotspots, and webcams for check out.
• Three of the group study rooms are technology-equipped, and the library provides production studios that include a One Button Studio Space, Podcast/Video Studio Space, and Lightboard Studio.
• A full list of available equipment, as well as the software on computers, is on the library website under "Technology and Spaces."

• You’ll find computer workstations in the library, including multimedia computers, and book and bulk sheet scanners.

access databases from off-campus?

• Use your NetID and corresponding password.

find journal articles and books?

• Use OneSearch, the search engine for most library resources at the University of Montana libraries including academic journals, government documents, ebooks, movies, newspapers, and more. Access OneSearch via the library homepage (choose the Advanced Search link).

• Consult OneSearch Tips for search guidance. Review the list of databases partially covered or not included in OneSearch; search those databases individually. You can go directly to specific databases to search, too. Read the descriptions to find the best match with your needs, or consult research guides for recommendations.

find theses, professional papers, or dissertations written by UM students?

• Browse the ScholarWorks graduate student theses, dissertations, and professional papers collection by academic department, or search by topic or author. ScholarWorks is UM’s open access institutional repository, which centralizes, preserves, and provides access to the research, creative scholarship, and unique resources (including UM Graduate Student Research Conference abstracts) produced and curated by University of Montana faculty, students, and staff.

• To search dissertations beyond – and including – UM, use the ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global database.

connect Google Scholar with the library collections?

• Choose "Settings" from the Google Scholar homepage, then “Library links.” Search “University of Montana,” check the box next to “University of Montana-Missoula - Link to Article @ UM” and then click Save.

• When you search Google Scholar you will then see a link labeled “Link to Article @ UM” if the Library provides that content, and will be able to link directly to the item (once you log in to the UM system).

• See the library Google Scholar guide for more detailed instructions.

Library

Campus