Research Guides: Graduate Student Guide: Writing & Publishing

Writing

Oxford English Dictionary This link opens in a new window
Full text of the 20 volume OED with both present-day meanings and the history of individual words and language.

Bloomsbury Thesaurus
"Full of synonyms, alternatives, and a fascinating network of cross-references, reflecting both technical and day-to-day aspects of Modern English. It is designed to appeal to both established word-reference enthusiasts and younger users who are just beginning to explore the language."

Oxford Reference Online: Premium This link opens in a new window Full text of two million entries across Oxford University Presss dictionaries, biographies, companions and encyclopedias spanning 25 core subject areas. Access limited to 1 user.
"Too many concurrent users" indicates that the database is already being used by the maximum allowable number of users. Try to access the database at a different time.

It is recommended that users of this database do the following to limit concurrency turnaways and to allow for other users to gain access to the database: 1) Ensure all browsers are set to enable cookies or the system may log each individual piece of content on a page as a new request and register it as a separate session; 2) Log out completely after finishing a session. If the log out button is not selected upon exiting the database, it may take up to 20 minutes for the session to expire; 3) Use only one open browser per session. Multiple browser windows may be logged as separate sessions.
Credo Reference This link opens in a new window Continuously updated full text collection of over 1,200 general and subject specific titles from 121 publishers with particular emphasis on encyclopedias, dictionaries, atlases, and reference handbooks.

Chicago Manual of Style Online This link opens in a new window A fully searchable version of The Chicago Manual of Style.
RefWorks This link opens in a new window Web-based bibliographic research management, writing, and collaboration tool. Designed for researchers to gather, organize, store and share all types of information and to generate formatted citations and bibliographies.
EndNote Basic This link opens in a new window Web-based bibliographic research management, writing, and collaboration tool. Designed for researchers to gather, organize, and share bibliographic data and to generate formatted citations and bibliographies.

Preparing to Publish, Sarah Huffman; Elena Cotos; and Kimberly Becker
This book offers a wealth of instructional material on the topic of research article writing for publication and thesis or dissertation completion. The text provides graduate student writers with helpful information, strategies, and tips on navigating disciplinary writing in their fields and how to understand, dissect, and ultimately, construct their own research article.

Think, Check, Submit
"Through a range of tools and practical resources, this international, cross-sector initiative aims to educate researchers, promote integrity, and build trust in credible research and publications."
Directory of Open Access Journals
"Independent index containing almost 17,500 peer-reviewed, open access journals covering all areas of science, technology, medicine, social sciences, arts and humanities."

Ulrich's Periodicals Directory This link opens in a new window
A global directory of more than 300,000 periodicals, including scholarly journals, popular magazines, newspapers, newsletters, and more.
MLA Directory of Periodicals This link opens in a new window
Directory of journals in the field of English language, including language, literature, folklore, and pedagogy, compiled and updated by the Modern Language Association.
Cabell's Journalytics (Business Set) This link opens in a new window
Journal data, evaluation metrics, and manuscript submission details for over 3,000 business journals. Note: The library's subscription does not provide access to the Predatory Reports component.

Literary Magazines
"Find a home for your poems, stories, essays, and reviews by researching the publications vetted by our editorial staff and listed in the Literary Magazines database. Here you’ll find editorial policies, submission guidelines, and contact information—everything you need to determine which publications match your vision for your writing and your writing life."

Journal Citation Reports This link opens in a new window
Resource tool for journal evaluation, using citation data drawn from over 11,000 journals dating back to 1997 and includes virtually all specialties in the areas of science, technology, and social sciences. Shows journal impact factors, highest impact journals, most frequently used journals, hottest journals and largest journals.

Research Impact 101, Anne-Wil Harzing
"Provides an overview of six key issues in the assessment of research impact."