Key Communication Studies Databases
- ComAbstracts This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Index to scholarly articles and books in fields related to human communication studies including mass communication, human interaction, rhetoric, health communication, communication and new media, journalism, and communication history.
- Communication & Mass Media Complete This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Full text of over 450 journals dating as far back as 1900, as well as indexing of over 200 more, covering communication and all related disciplines, including media studies, linguistics, rhetoric, and discourse.
- Film & Television Literature Index with Full Text This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Index to scholarly and trade journals, magazines, and books related to film and television studies, including film and television theory, preservation and restoration, writing, production, cinematography, and technical aspects, as well as reviews. Provides full text for many of the most used journals in the index. - PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Index to professional and scholarly journals, chapters, books, reports, theses, and dissertations published internationally in psychology and related disciplines such as psychiatry, education, business, medicine, nursing, pharmacology, law, linguistics, and social work from 1967-present. Produced by the American Psychological Association.
- PubMed This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Indexes MEDLINE, a database of scholarly journal articles in the life sciences with a focus on biomedicine, and additional life science journals and online books. Fields include behavioral sciences, chemical sciences, and bioengineering. Install the LibKey Nomad extension to improve your research experience.
- Taylor & Francis Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full text scholarly journals covering 23 subjects in 3 core areas: science & technology, social science & humanities, and medical. Includes archival coverage dating back to volume 1 for many titles. - Web of Science This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Indexes the world's leading peer reviewed journal literature in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities and provides searching of cited references from 1900-present.
- Wiley Online Library This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full text of over 1,600 e-journals covering life, health and physical sciences, social science, and the humanities. Coverage is generally 1997-present. The library does not license all content offered on the Wiley site. Note: The 'Full Access' lock icon denotes content available to UM users.
Other Databases and Resources Useful for Communication Studies
- CQ Researcher Plus Archive This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Published 44 times a year, Congressional Quarterly Researcher offers in-depth, unbiased coverage of political and social issues, with regular reports on a wide range of topics. Full text from 1923-present. - Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Continuously updated full text collection of over 880 general and subject specific titles from 116 publishers with particular emphasis on encyclopedias, dictionaries, atlases, and reference handbooks. - Dissertations & Theses Global, ProQuest This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Index to dissertations and theses from over 3,000 institutions in 88 countries. Full text coverage spans from 1743-present, with citation coverage dating back to 1637. Note: Dissertations & Theses Global may also be searched and accessed via Web of Science, as well as OneSearch.
- Opposing Viewpoints in Context This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full text news resource on controversial social issues and current events, covering pro/con viewpoints, reference articles, interactive maps, infographics, and more.
- Open Access JournalsList of freely available communications-focused journals maintained by the
International Association for Media and Communication Research
- Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Indexes international journal articles, book reviews, books, book chapters, and dissertations in linguistics and related disciplines including phonetics, phonology, morphology, syntax and semantics from 1973-present.
Finding Books and Media
Use WorldCat to find books and media located in libraries worldwide. Request items you find in WorldCat that the Mansfield Library does not own through Interlibrary Loan.
Many books no longer under copyright protection are available online. Try one of the following resources if you are looking for a book published before 1923: Google Books, Open Library, Project Gutenberg, The Universal Digital Library or The Perseus Digital Library.