Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Business Research Guide: Energy

A guide to Accounting, Management, and Marketing

New American Energy Revolution

State Agencies

Montana Department of Natural Resources, Oil and Gas

Department of Environmental Quality
"The Montana Department of Environmental Quality (DEQ) is the agency charged with protecting a clean and healthful environment, as guaranteed by the State Constitution. The DEQ accomplishes this by monitoring environmental conditions and taking proactive measures to preserve and improve the quality of these natural resources."

Government Agencies

The Energy Industry in the United States
This fact page includes a list of industry associations and publications.

Office of Energy and Environmental Industries
Provides links for national and international resources, especially Africa.

Department of Energy:
www.Energy.gov   
The mission of the Energy Department is to ensure America’s security and prosperity by addressing its energy, environmental and nuclear challenges through transformative science and technology solutions.

Energy Information Administration
EIA
This database contains information on Electricity, State Energy Data Systems (SEDS), Petroleum, Natural Gas and Coal at national and state levels. Registration is required and free.

Currently, EIA's API contains two main data sets:

    408,000 electricity series organized into 29,000 categories
   30,000 State Energy Data System series organized into 600 categories
    115,052 petroleum series and associated categories
    11,989 natural gas series and associated categories
    132,331 coal series and associated categories (released Feb 25, 2014) 

Department of the Interior:
New Energy Frontier
This site contains reports and information from the Department of the Interior on oil, minerals and renewable energy resources.

National Institute of Standards and Technology:
 Energy Portal
Includes information on :

Export.gov Energy
This website provides the most recent market research, trade leads and event information in the Oil & Gas, Coal, Power Generation, and Renewable Energy industries including Oil & Gas, Renewable Energy, Civil Nuclear, Coal, and Power Generation with a focus on trade. Includes international information.

United Nations:
UN-Energy
“UN-Energy was initiated as a mechanism to promote coherence within the United Nations family of organizations in the energy field and to develop increased collective engagement between the United Nations and other key external stakeholders.”

Databases

Databases:
Environment & Energy Publishing - Tracks environmental and energy action in Congress.
Energy Citations Database - Energy and energy-related scientific and technical information collected by the U.S. Department of Energy.
 Environment & Energy Publishing - Tracks environmental and energy action in Congress.

Industry information can be found in the following:
Business Source Complete
Business Insights: Essentials

Standard & Poor's NetAdvantage

Statistical Abstract- Energy and Utilities
This section presents statistics on fuel resources, energy production and consumption, electric energy, hydroelectric power, nuclear power, solar energy, wood energy, and the electric and gas utility industries. More current information can be found in ProQuest Statistical Abstract- A continuation of the

Regulation and Leasing

Land/Mineral leasing
Bureau of Land Management (BLM)
Lease Sale Information

Mineral Leasing Act and Amendments (30 U.S.C. 181 et seq.)
List of regulations that apply to BLM-managed lands

BLM State Energy Pages

Regulations

The Federal Energy Regulatory Commission, or FERC, is an independent agency that regulates the interstate transmission of electricity, natural gas, and oil. FERC also reviews proposals to build liquefied natural gas (LNG) terminals and interstate natural gas pipelines as well as licensing hydropower projects.

Hydroelectric Power
Hydropower Licensing and Compliance
The Federal Energy Regulatory Commission is responsible for licensing, compliance, safety, and inspection information related to hydropower.

Hydroelectric Projects Compliance and Licensing Information
General information regarding licensing of hydro power projects and compliance.

Electric Power
OSHA Guide to Electric Power Generation
This guide explains common occupational safety and health hazards in the workplace

Gas Industry
Gas Regulation
General information regarding natural gas project regulation.

Oil Industry
Petroleum Refining Industry
Highlights environmental regulations for the petroleum refining industry.

Petroleum Sector Guide
Links to web resources containing regulatory and reinvention information about the petroleum refining sector.

PHMSA
“The Department of Transportation's (DOT) Pipeline and Hazardous Material Safety Administration (PHMSA), acting through the Office of Pipeline Safety (OPS), administers the Department's national regulatory program to assure the safe transportation of natural gas, petroleum, and other hazardous materials by pipeline.”

Oil Pipeline Profile

Hazardous Materials: Enhanced Tank Car Standards and Operational Controls for High-Hazard Flammable Trains

Nuclear
Nuclear Regulatory Commission
“The Regulatory Guide series provides guidance to licensees and applicants on implementing specific parts of the NRC's regulations, techniques used by the NRC staff in evaluating specific problems or postulated accidents, and data needed by the staff in its review of applications for permits or licenses.”

General Environmental Regulations

Effluent Guidelines for Oil and Gas Extraction (Synthetic-Based Drilling Fluids)
Guidelines and standards for the discharge of pollutants from oil and gas drilling operations using synthetic-based drilling fluids and other non-aqueous drilling fluids into waters of the U.S.

Fuel and Fuel Additives Registration and Health Effects Testing
Environmental Protection Agency registration information for manufacturers and importers of gasoline, diesel fuel, or fuel additives.

Fuels and Fuel Additive Reporting Forms
Forms required by Environmental Protection Agency fuel programs for manufactures and importers of gasoline, diesel fuel, and fuel additives.

Renewable Fuels Standard Regulations
Regulatory information on gasoline sold in the U.S. and minimum volumes of renewable fuel.

Underground Storage Tanks

Meeting Underground Storage Tank System Requirements
Virtually eliminate leaking underground storage tank (UST) systems by following the federal requirements for the installation and operation of USTs.

Underground Storage Tanks Compliance Help
Resources to help you comply with UST requirements, and protect human health and the environment.

Underground Storage Tanks Publications
Publications focused on managing USTs properly and conducting cleanups efficiently.

Workplace Health & Safety

OSHA eTool : Oil and Gas Well Drilling
This eTool identifies common hazards and possible solutions to reduce incidents that could lead to injuries or fatalities in the oil and gas well drilling and servicing industry. It explains procedures and processes such as safety meetings, job safety analyses, and general and task-specific training.

State Regulations

Founded in 1889, the National Association of Regulatory Utility Commissioners (NARUC) is a non-profit organization dedicated to representing the State public service commissions who regulate the utilities that provide essential services such as energy, telecommunications, water, and transportation.

State Environmental Agencies

 

Energy Outlook

cover of Annual Energy Outlook report, picture of powerlines, wind turbines AEO Reference case projections for key energy topics.  The AEO2014 full version is available online.


Orgainizations

Ground Water Protection Council
The Ground Water Protection Council (GWPC) is a nonprofit 501(c)6 organization whose members consist of state ground water regulatory agencies which come together within the GWPC organization to mutually work toward the protection of the nation’s ground water supplies. The purpose of the GWPC is to promote and ensure the use of best management practices and fair but effective laws regarding comprehensive ground water protection.

FracFocus Chemical Disclosure Registry
FracFocus is managed by the Ground Water Protection Council and Interstate Oil and Gas Compact Commission, two organizations whose missions both revolve around conservation and environmental protection.
The site was created to provide the public access to reported chemicals used for hydraulic fracturing within their area. To help users put this information into perspective, the site also provides objective information on hydraulic fracturing, the chemicals used, the purposes they serve and the means by which groundwater is protected.