Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Business Research Guide: Nonprofits

A guide to Accounting, Management, and Marketing

Resources

We have many books and journals for and about the nonprofit sector. Use the keyword nonprofit organizations in OneSearch from the library homepage.

America's nonprofit sector : a primer by Lester Salamon.
2012. 361.70973 S159a 2012 (level 2)

Real problem solvers : social entrepreneurs in America edited by Ruth A. Shapiro.
2013. 338.040973 R2883 (level 2)

Leading the fundraising charge [electronic resource] : the role of the nonprofit executive, Karla A. Williams. 2013. Electronic Book

Nonprofit fundraising strategy a guide to ethical decision making and regulation for nonprofit organizations,  Janice Gow Pettey, editor.  2013. Electronic Book

 

Associations

Montana Nonprofit Association
In some other states charities are required to register with the state Attorney General or Secretary of State. In Montana nonprofits do register with the Secretary of State (sos.mt.gov) and a searchable database can be used to find basic information on a nonprofit. This search will not generate a list of nonprofits.

Business Insights: Essentials Use the Advanced Search option to search for associations. This database includes the journal NonProfit Times and others.

Montana Nonprofits

Lists of nonprofits are available through the SOI Tax Stats - Exempt Organizations Business Master File Extract

Former Publication 78, cumulative list of organizations eligible to receive tax-deductible contributions, is now available in a new searchable listing with EINs called Exempt Organizations Select Check.

If an organization offers grants you can find information on that nonprofit in:

  • Foundation Directory Online
    Search a database of 108,000 foundations, corporate giving programs and grant-making public charities in the U.S.; a database of 3 million recently awarded grants; and a database of 1 million recently filed IRS forms 990 and 990-PF.

 

Demographics

Census.gov - Demographic information on National, County, City and towns. Detailed information on income, commuting, and home life available through American FactFinder.

Statistical Abstract - The Statistical Abstract of the United States, published since 1878, is the authoritative and comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic organization of the United States. This will no longer be published by the U.S. Census after the 2012 edition.

Proquest Statistical Abstract- A continuation of the Statistical Abstract published by the Census. Includes information from the number of people with pets, who plays sports, income, poverty, race, business information and much more.

Chronicle of Philanthropy - How America Gives