Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Business Research Guide: International Resources

A guide to Accounting, Management, and Marketing

International Businesses Databases

Mergent Online - Mergent Online offers research and analysis for international companies.
Factiva- Domestic and international news and business and financial information. Access limited to 3 concurrent users.
Europa World- Europa World is the online version of Europa World Year book, a source of information on world-wide affairs. This resource covers political and economic information (inports, exports, purchase power, manufacturing production) in over 250 countries and territories from Afghanistan to Zimbabwe.

WTO

World Trade Orgainzation
Where countries have faced trade barriers and wanted them lowered, the negotiations have helped to open markets for trade. But the WTO is not just about opening markets, and in some circumstances its rules support maintaining trade barriers — for example, to protect consumers or prevent the spread of disease.

IMF

International Monatary Fund

"The International Monetary Fund (IMF) is an organization of 188 countries, working to foster global monetary cooperation, secure financial stability, facilitate international trade, promote high employment and sustainable economic growth, and reduce poverty around the world."

IMF Videos

Learn more about Finance & Development

 Women in Charge

iPad Finances app

Podcasts

Business Directories

Business directories for many countries can be found here.

Country data

The World Factbook provides information on the history, people, government, economy, geography, communications, transportation, military, and transnational issues for 267 world entities

Created by the International Business Center at Michigan State University (IBC), globalEDGE™ is a knowledge web-portal that connects international business professionals worldwide to a wealth of information, insights, and learning resources on global business activities. Partially funded by a U.S. Department of Education Title VI B grant (CIBE program), globalEDGE™ is your source for global business knowledge. To learn more about the history and content of globalEDGE, please visit our history page.

 

Information on Private Companies

This is a growing list.

Asia- CSBC ASIA- Asia Business Consultancy
Includes registered businesses in China,, Thailand, Vietnam, Malaysia, India, Philippines and Indonesia.

Australia- Australian Securities and Investment Commissio
The ASIC is an independent Commonwealth Government maintains, facilitates and improves the performance of the financial system and entities in it, receives, processes and stores information and makes that information about companies and other bodies available to the public as soon as practicable.

 Brazil- Registro Mercantil
“O sítio de Registro Mercantil existe para oferecer aos seus usuários informações e serviços acerca dos procedimentos de registro de empresas.”

Canada-
Alberta- Corporate Registry
British Columbia- Corporate Registry
Manitoba- Companies Office
New Brunswick - New Brunswick Corporate Registry
Nova Scotia - Service Nova Scotia - Registry of Joint Stock Companies
Ontario – Ontario Services for Business
Prince Edward Island - Office of the Attorney General and Public Safety: Corporate/Business Names Registry
Quebec - Registraire des entreprises Quebec
Saskatchewan - Corporations Branch, Saskatchewan. 

Canadian Public Companies -SEDAR

France - Registre du Commerce et des Societes  (charges for information)

Germany- Federal Gazette/ Bundesanzeiger
“This website provides an overview of the latest bylaws passed by the Federal Government, as well as publications from courts, companies and associations. Whether you’re looking for annual financial statements or stocks and bonds – doing research, using the calendar, for example, in the many different databases of the electronic Federal Gazette is free of charge. Contact the publishing company to subscribe to the printed copy.”- Das Deutschland '

India- MInistry of Corporate Affairs

Italy- Companies Register/ registroimprese
"Registroimprese is the new portal, which the Italian Chambers of Commerce have made available to companies, professionals, trade associations and individual citizens to access the online services offered by the Chamber of Commerce network. This new site allows all users to navigate information on the Companies Register and the other main databases of the Chambers of Commerce." The site is available in English but documents are in Italian.

United Kingdom-  Companies House

“The United Kingdom has enjoyed a system of company registration since 1844. Today, company registration matters are dealt with in law, by the Companies Act 2006.

All limited companies in England, Wales, Northern Ireland and Scotland are registered at Companies House, an Executive Agency of the Department for Business, Innovation and Skills (BIS). There are more than 2 million limited companies registered in Great Britain, and more than 300,000 new companies are incorporated each year.”- Companies House

Free, online translation-

My Memory

Business and Culture

Databases useful for information regarding different cultures:

Business Source Complete

Culture Crossing
"
CultureCrossing.net is an evolving database of cross-cultural information about every country in the world. "

Sometimes you can learn about a different culture by seeing how they view Americans:
4 Russian Travel Tips for Visiting America

Books on international business communication:

395.52 M3815g
Global business etiquette : a guide to international communication and customs by Jeanette S. Martin and Lillian H. Chaney. 

 395.52 M834k 1994
Kiss, bow, or shake hands : how to do business in sixty countries by Terri Morrison, Wayne A. Conaway & George A. Borden

 395.520943 K34b
Business Germany : a practical guide to understanding German business culture, by Peggy Kenna, Sondra Lacy.  (This is one volume of a series that includes a number of different countries including China, France, Italy, Russia, Korea, Japan, and more)

UN Comtrade

Tools

The Global Industry Classification Standard (GICS) is an industry taxonomy developed in 1999 by MSCI and Standard & Poor's (S&P) for use by the global financial community.

OECD

The mission of the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD) is to promote policies that will improve the economic and social well-being of people around the world.

The OECD provides a forum in which governments can work together to share experiences and seek solutions to common problems. We work with governments to understand what drives economic, social and environmental change. We measure productivity and global flows of trade and investment. We analyse and compare data to predict future trends. We set international standards on a wide range of things, from agriculture and tax to the safety of chemicals.