Research Guides: Forestry Research Guide: Home

Start Here

Agricultural & Environmental Science Database
Full-text access to a wide range of global publications in environmental science, agriculture, pollution management, and related disciplines from 1960-present. It includes editorially-curated abstracting and indexing resources and incorporates content from: AGRICOLA (agriculture and life science), TOXLINE (toxicology and environmental health), Environmental Impact Statements (EIS), and Environmental Sciences and Pollution Management (ESPM).
AGRICOLA
Index to journal articles, monographs, proceedings, theses, patents, translations, audiovisual materials, computer software, technical reports, U.S. Bureau of Land Management and U.S. Forest Service literature, and printed works dating back to the 15th century. Subjects include agriculture, botany, forestry, grazing, and range management. Produced by the National Agricultural Library.
Web of Science
Comprehensive research platform that indexes high-quality, peer-reviewed journals across disciplines including science, social science, arts, and humanities. It offers powerful tools for citation analysis and enables users to track scholarly references from 1900 to the present.

Treesearch
U.S. Forest Service publications.

Other Relevant Databases

Environment Complete
Index of journals and monographs covering agriculture, ecosystem ecology, energy, environmental law, and related disciplines. It includes publications from both U.S. and international sources, with archival content spanning over a century. The database also provides full-text access to more than 1,200 journals and monographs. Developed by the International Academy at Santa Barbara.
Environment & Energy Publishing (E&E News)

Full text of five daily publications from E&E News—Energywire, Climatewire, E&E Daily, Greenwire, and E&E News PM—covering energy and environmental policy nationwide and at the federal level, from the past three years to the present. Also includes archives of Land Letter, published from 2009 to 2012.
Business Source Complete
Full text of thousands of scholarly journals, trade publications, market research reports, company profiles, and industry analyses. It covers key disciplines such as marketing, management, accounting, finance, and economics.
Academic Search Complete
Full text of thousands of academic journals, magazines, and other publications across a wide range of disciplines, including the humanities, social sciences, natural sciences, and more.

AGRIS: International Information System for Agricultural Sciences and Technology
Reports, conference publications, and government publications covering agriculture, forestry, aquatic sciences and fisheries, and more from over 100 participating countries.
Science.gov
Gateway to U.S. science government information.

Journals

Select List of Individual Titles

Journal Collections

Annual Reviews
Package title list: Annual Reviews
See the Library Guide to Finding Articles for information about the cancellations and other resources for obtaining full text.
Post-2020 perpetual access will include:
• Volume 1 through 2020.
BioOne Complete
JSTOR
ARTstor on JSTOR
Existing ARTstor logins automatically work on JSTOR. The separate artstor.org platform will be available until Aug 1, 2024, when it is scheduled to be retired.

Open Access books on JSTOR
More than 10,000 open access (OA) books from 125+ publishers, including Brill, Cornell University Press, University College of London, and University of California Press.

19th Century British Pamphlets
Nearly 26,000 pamphlets from collections in seven universities spanning more than one million pages. Brings together a corpus of primary sources for the study of sociopolitical and economic factors impacting 19th-century Britain.

New Collections Added Aug 2023
Thematic Collections
Three collections focusing on emerging areas of research and containing multiple types of content, including journals and open research reports. Collections include:
•Lives of Literature - Academic journals devoted to the deep study of writers and texts associated with core literary movements.
•Security Studies - Academic and open policy research on international and national security problems and foreign policy issues.
•Sustainability - Academic and open policy research on environmental stresses and their impact on society. Looks at sustainability and resilience through a broad lens spanning more than 30 disciplines.

Primary Sources
Global Plants
A growing collection of nearly three million high-resolution type plant specimens and related materials from over 300 community contributors around the world.

Struggles for Freedom: Southern Africa
27,000 objects and 190,000 pages of documents and images related to the liberation struggles and end of Apartheid in Southern Africa during the 20th Century, with an emphasis on Botswana, Mozambique, Namibia, South Africa, and Zimbabwe.

World Heritage Sites: Africa
More than 86,000 objects of visual, contextual, and spatial documentation of African heritage and rock art sites.
ScienceDirect
Springer Journals
To request non-licensed articles directly from the Springer Nature site, install the LibKey Nomad extension. To request Springer Nature articles without installing Nomad, you can look up the article DOI or PMID through LibKey.iO or OneSearch. See Get the article through Interlibrary Loan or Article Galaxy Scholar (AGS) for more information.
Wiley Online Library
To request non-licensed articles directly from the Wiley site including pre-1997 volumes, install the LibKey Nomad extension. To request Wiley articles without installing Nomad, you can look up the article DOI or PMID through LibKey.iO or OneSearch. See Get the article through Interlibrary Loan or Article Galaxy Scholar (AGS) for more information.

Peer Review

Peer Review in 3 Minutes
How do articles get peer reviewed? What role does peer review play in scholarly research and publication? This video will explain.
Sources of Information
These tutorials explain how information is created and offer an introduction to different types of research sources, from primary and secondary sources to peer-reviewed publications.

Evaluate, compare, and rank journals using citation data

Journal Citation Reports
An essential tool for evaluating academic journals using citation data from over 11,000 publications since 1997. It spans science, technology, social sciences, and the arts, offering impact factors, citation rankings, trending titles, and volume metrics.

Scimago
"The SCImago Journal & Country Rank is a publicly available portal that includes the journals and country scientific indicators developed from the information contained in the Scopus® database (Elsevier B.V.). These indicators can be used to assess and analyze scientific domains. Journals can be compared or analysed separately. Country rankings may also be compared or analysed separately. Journals can be grouped by subject area (27 major thematic areas), subject category (309 specific subject categories) or by country. Citation data is drawn from over 34,100 titles from more than 5,000 international publishers and country performance metrics from 239 countries worldwide."