Forestry Research Guide

Browse forestry materials in the Mansfield Library at Dewey Decimal call numbers that begin 634.9 (on level 5) and 333.7 (on level 2).

Browse forestry government documents at SuDoc call numbers that begin A 13 (on level 1):

• Research Papers A 13.78 (followed by Initials of Station - Number of Paper)
• Research Notes A 13.79 (followed by Initials of Station - Number of Note)
• Resource Bulletin A 13.80 (followed by Initials of Station - Number of Bulletin)
• General Technical Report A 13.88 (followed by Initials of Station - Number of Report)

U.S. Forest and Range Experiment Stations (Station Initials)          

• Forest Products Laboratory (FPL)
• Intermountain Research Station (INT)
• North Central Forest Experiment Station (NC)
• Northeastern Forest Experiment Station (NE)
• Pacific NorthWest Forest and Range Experiment Station (PNW)
• Rocky Mountain Forest and Range Experiment Station (RM)
• Southeastern Forest Experiment Station (SE)
• Southern Forest Experiment Station (SO)
• U.S.D.A., Forest Service, Washington, D.C. (WO)

See U.S. Forest Service Publications on the Forestry Research Guide at Humboldt State University for more information.

• Bibliography of Dendrochronology
• Botanical Latin (580.14 S799)
• Climate Data Online
• Concise Dictionary of Biology (574.03 C744)
• The Concise Dictionary of Botany (581.03 C744)
• Concise Encyclopedia of Biochemistry (574.192 B864e)
• The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Zoology (591.03 C744)
• Concise Encyclopedia of Biochemistry (574.192 B864e)
• Dictionary of Ecology, Evolution, and Systematics (570.3 L738d)
• Dictionary of Forestry (634.903 T319)
• A Dictionary of Genetics (575.103 K54d)
• Dictionary of Natural Resource Management (333.703 D926d)
• Dictionary of Plant Toxins (615.952 D554)
• A Dictionary of Zoology (590.3 L495d)
• Encyclopedia of Agricultural Science (630.3 E56)
• Encyclopedia of American Forest and Conservation History (634.9097 U1E5 Q Oversize)
• Encyclopedia of Biostatistics (610.72 E56)
• Encyclopedia of Ecology - Encyclopedia of general and applied ecology
• Encyclopedia of Environmental Biology (574.503 E56)
• Encyclopedia of Entomology - Online encyclopedia
• Encyclopedia of Forest Sciences - Encyclopedia of forestry and forest sciences
• Encyclopedia of Horticulture (635.903 E93n)
• Encyclopedia of Hydrological Sciences - Covers the understanding and management of fresh water resources
• Encyclopedia of Medicinal Plants (615.3203 C527)
• Encyclopedia of Plant Pathology (631 E563)
• Encyclopedia of Rainforests (578.73403 J939e)
• Encyclopedia of Seeds: science, techonology and uses (631.52103 E5646 Q Oversize)
• Encyclopedia of World Timbers (634.97 B778e Q Oversize)
• Environmental Issues in Pacific Northwest Forest Management
• Forestry Handbook; also, paper copy available (634.9 F718)
• Forestry Images
• Global Biodiversity: status... (333.9511 G562)
• The Literature of Forestry and Agroforestry (634.9 L776)
• McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of Environmental Science (304.203 M147)
• Montana Climate Office
• National Invasive Species
• Natural Resources (333.703 N285)
• National Centers for Environmental Information
• NatureServe Explorer
• Northwest Trees: identifying and understanding the region's native trees (582.1609795 A751n 2007)
• Plants Database
• Silvics of North America
• Silviculture Terminology
• Soil Classification
• Species+
• Terminology of Forest Science: technology, practice and byproducts (634.903 T319)
• Tree Guide
• U.S. Forest Service Glossaries
• Wikipedia - An encyclopedia that is written & edited anonymously & collaboratively
• Wiley Encyclopedia of Environmental Pollution and Cleanup (628.5 M6138)

Reference Databases