Library Services for Online & Distance Students

In This Guide

Our goal is to provide equitable library services, no matter where you are learning! In this guide, you'll learn the following:

1. The library services that are available to you as an online-only student at UM.
2. The types of library resources that are accessible online, including collections, online tools, and research help.
3. How to use library resources such as OneSearch (the library's discovery system) and interlibrary loan.

What's available?

Online students have access to all electronic materials available through the library! This includes:

• eBooks
• Online databases
• Journals
• Films
• Reference resources
• Theses & Dissertations
• and more!

How do I get access to library materials?

OneSearch is our library discovery system that searches our databases, indexes, journals, books, and other physical collections. You can customize your results using the advanced search feature or by using the filters on the results page. Want more information? See our OneSearch tips!

• Use your NetID and password to access the complete range of ebooks, online journals, databases, and other electronic resources in our collections
• Log in from the OneSearch results page or log in before you start searching by selecting "My Library Account" on the Mansfield Library homepage.

What is My Library Account?

My Library Account is an easy way for you to keep track of your library activity. You can:

• Keep track of your loans and due dates
• See items you have on hold
• Save searches you'll be using frequently in our catalog
• Save library items to your favorites

We are committed to providing equal access to all library materials and services. Our policy is to provide, whenever possible, universal access that enables all library users  to work independently. Persons with disabilities are encouraged to take advantage of our services and to make individualized arrangements with the library for assistance with their independent research or for participating in any of our events and programs.

Get Help from the Reference Desk

You can catch us at the reference desk Monday-Friday, 10:00am-4:00pm (Mountain Time). Outside of these hours, you can still submit offline messages through the chat icon on the website, or by sending us an email. We will respond to your question within 2 business days.

• Chat with us! A chat box is available on our website
• Email: library.reference@umontana.edu
• Phone: 406-243-6866