Research Guides: Health Professions at Missoula College: Home

Finding Books and Other Items in the Library

Many items in the library are arranged by call number (the number on the sticker on the spine of the item). Try browsing the call numbers in this range for health professions:

Medicine and Health: 610.14-618.97

Most health care journals are available online.

Suggested Library Resources for Health Professions

The Department of Health Professions offers six degree programs. The library has a variety of resources in both print and online to support these programs.

Medical Assisting (Associate of Applied Science - A.A.S.)
Paramedicine (A.A.S)
Radiology Technology (A.A.S.)
Registered Nursing (Associate of Science - A.S.)
Respiratory Care (A.A.S.)
Surgical Technology (A.A.S.)

Use your NetID and password to access library databases off campus.

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full text scholarly journal, trade publication, magazine and newspaper articles, books, book reviews, reports, and Associated Press video content, covering all subject areas.
CINAHL Complete This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full text scholarly journal and magazine articles, dissertations, standards of practice, evidence-based care sheets, quick lessons, and more with indexing back to 1937. Covers nursing, biomedicine, health sciences librarianship, alternative/complementary medicine, consumer health and 17 allied health disciplines.

ClinicalTrials.gov
Provides patients, family members, health care professionals and members of the public easy access to information on clinical trials for a wide range of diseases and conditions.

Cochrane Library This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full text independent evidence, including systematic reviews, clinical trials, technology assessments, economic evaluations, individual clinical trials, and more from the Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews, Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials (CENTRAL), Cochrane Clinical Answers, as well as special collections on specific healthcare topics.

DailyMed
A resource for access to the labels as well as to other sources and types of information about medications.
Haz-Map
An occupational health database designed for health and safety professionals and for consumers seeking information about the health effects of exposure to chemicals and biological agents at work

Health and Wellness (from Gale) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full text medical journals, magazines, reference works, multimedia, and more on health-related issues, from current disease and disorder information to in-depth coverage of alternative medical practices.
Journals@Ovid LWW Total Access Journals This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full text of over 300 medical and nursing journals published by Lippincott Williams & Wilkins (LWW), from initial publication-present for many titles.

MedlinePlus
The National Library of Medicine's web site for consumer health information.
National Center for Health Statistics
Trends in health topics.

NatMed Pro (formerly Natural Medicines) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full text information related to safety, effectiveness, clinical usage, mechanism of action or pharmacology, interactions with drugs, lab test interference, or other practice information on dietary supplements, natural medicines, and complementary alternative and integrative therapies, as well as patient handouts, consumer education monographs, and continuing education materials. Produced by the Therapeutic Research Center.
Net Anatomy This link opens in a new window
Resource for human anatomy instruction and learning, providing text and images on the topics of gross anatomy, radiographic anatomy, and cross-sectional anatomy.
PsycArticles This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full text journals in psychology published by the American Psychological Association and affiliated journals, most from the initial journal publication dates (as early as 1894)-present.
PubMed This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Indexes MEDLINE, a database of scholarly journal articles in the life sciences with a focus on biomedicine, and additional life science journals and online books. Fields include behavioral sciences, chemical sciences, and bioengineering. Install the LibKey Nomad extension to improve your research experience.
R2 Digital Health Sciences Library This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full text e-books in the health sciences including medical, nursing and allied health titles.
Social Services Abstracts This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Index to over 1,300 serials, abstracts of journal articles and dissertations, and citations to book reviews focused on social work, human services, and related areas, including social welfare, social policy, and community development. Coverage is 1979-present.
SPORTDiscus with Full Text This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full text journal and magazine articles, conference proceedings, books, and book chapters on sports and sports medicine; includes the SPORTDiscus Index. Coverage is 1930-present. Access limited to 4 users.
TOXLINE This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Index to specialized journals and other sources covering the biochemical, pharmacological, physiological, and toxicological effects of drugs and other chemicals, from 1840s-present; most citations include Chemical Abstract Service (CAS) Registry Numbers.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Indexes the world's leading peer reviewed journal literature in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities and provides searching of cited references, from 1900-present. Install the LibKey Nomad extension to improve your research experience.
Wiley Online Library This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full text of over 1,600 e-journals covering life, health and physical sciences, social science, and the humanities. Coverage is generally 1997-present. The library does not license all content offered on the Wiley site. The 'Full Access' lock icon denotes content available to UM users.

Web Resources for Health Professions

Here are a few additional resources that may be helpful.

AuntMinnie.com
This website is one of the best resources online for radiology news and continuing education.
How to Search PubMed
This tutorial is a good introduction to PubMed.
American Association for Respiratory Care
News and career resources.
St. Pat's Learning Center
This is the website for the St. Pat's Learning Center. Some resources are only available in the hospital library. It is free and open to you.

Request Materials

Request to purchase books and articles we don't have access to.

Request materials through Interlibrary Loan.

Maureen and Mike Mansfield Library

Health Professions at Missoula College

OneSearch

Ask Us! We're Here to Help

Finding Books and Other Items in the Library

Suggested Library Resources for Health Professions

Web Resources for Health Professions

Request Materials