Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Grants, Funding and Nonprofits: Nonprofits

Resources for finding grants

Page Under Construction!

This page is currently being updated. Check back at the end of April. In the meantime, check out the Public Administration research guide for potentially relevant information.

The Numbers

U.S. Census: American FactFinder
Find popular facts (population, income, etc.) and frequently requested data about your community.

Kids Count Data Center
A project of the Annie E. Casey Foundation, KIDS COUNT is the premier source for data on child and family well-being in the United States. Access hundreds of indicators, download data and create reports and graphics on the KIDS COUNT Data Center that support smart decisions about children and families.

Statistics on social and economic conditions and much more.

What is a 990?

Forms 990 and 990-EZ are used by tax-exempt organizations, nonexempt charitable trusts, and section 527 political organizations to provide the IRS with required information. A 990 will have information on how the finances of the organization. The parts of a 990 are listed below.

Part III. Statement of Program Service
Describe the organization's mission or its most significant activities for the year, whichever the organization wishes to highlight, on the summary page.

Part IV. Checklist of Required Schedules

Part V. Statements Regarding Other IRS Filings and Tax Compliance

Part VI. Governance, Management, and Disclosure

Part VII. Compensation of Officers, Directors, Trustees, Key Employees, Highest

Compensated Employees, and Independent Contractors

Part VIII. Statement of Revenue

Part IX. Statement of Functional Expenses

Part X. Balance Sheet

Part XI. Reconciliation of Net Assets

Part XII. Financial Statements and Reporting

For more information on the 990 form go to Instructions for Form 990

Information on Nonprofits

Foundation Directory Online 
Search a database of 108,000 foundations, corporate giving programs and grant-making public charities in the U.S.; a database of 3 million recently awarded grants; and a database of 1 million recently filed IRS forms 990 and 990-PF.

Foundation Grants to Individuals 
Search close to 10,000 foundation and public charity programs that fund students, artists, researchers, and other individual grantseekers. Covers scholarships, fellowships, loans, and internships; awards, prizes, and grants by nomination; research and professional support; and general welfare and special needs.

GuideStar
A database of 1.8 million IRS-recognized tax-exempt organizations and faith-based non-profits. Registration is required for access to 990 forms.

Books for non-profits

The Routledge companion to nonprofit marketing
Adrian Sargeant; Walter W Wymer 2008
 UM: Mansfield Library - Book Shelves - Level 5  (658.8 R8696 )

Social marketing and social change [electronic resource] : strategies and tools for health, well-being, and the environment / R. Craig Lefebvre.
2013 
Electronic Book 

Jossey-Bass handbook of nonprofit leadership and management / David O. Renz, editor ; [authors, David O. Renz] and associates ; foreword by Robert D. Herman, editor emeritus.
2010 
UM: Mansfield Library - Book Shelves - Level 5 658.048 J84 2010 
 

Complete guide to nonprofit management / Smith, Bucklin & Associates ; edited by Robert H. Wilbur.
2000 
UM: Mansfield Library - Book Shelves - Level 5 658.048 C73763 2000 

Effectively managing nonprofit organizations / edited by Richard L. Edwards, John A. Yankey.
2006 
UM: Mansfield Library - Book Shelves - Level 5 658.048 E274 

 Branding for nonprofits : developing identity with integrity / DK Holland.
2006 
UM: Mansfield Library - Book Shelves - Level 5 658.827 H734b 

How to form a nonprofit corporation / by Anthony Mancuso.
2000
UM: Mansfield Library - Book Shelves - Level 2 346.73064 M269h 2000

Journals for Nonprofits

Mansfield Library has access to many journals included a number dedicated to Philanthropy and grant writing. Here are a few title from our collection of ejournals:

Chronicle of Philanthropy
"The Chronicle of Philanthropy is an independent news organization that has been serving leaders, fundraisers, grant makers, and others involved in the philanthropic enterprise for more than 25 years. It offers a robust advice section to help nonprofit workers do their jobs as well as one of the biggest listings of career opportunities."

International Review on Public and Nonprofit Marketing
"The International Review on Public and Nonprofit Marketing explores marketing topics from an interdisciplinary perspective and provides a forum for researchers interested in examining these issues from practical and theoretical viewpoints. It seeks to establish a common vocabulary with which to discuss methods, procedures, results and experiences in order to improve the exchange of ideas between participants of varied backgrounds."

NonProfit Times
"Business management; Nonprofit and voluntary organizations; Business and industries. News and "how to" information on funding, management for any nonprofit organization."

Nonprofit and Voluntary Sector Quarterly
The Nonprofit Quarterly (NPQ) is an independent nonprofit news organization that has been serving nonprofit leaders, charitable foundations, educators, independent activists, and others involved in the civil sector for more than fifteen years.

Free journals:

Philanthropy News Network Online

"Philanthropy News Digest (PND) a daily news service of the Foundation Center, is a compendium, in digest form, of philanthropy-related articles and features culled from print and electronic media outlets nationwide. Published daily, each PND abstract summarizes the content of, or from, an original article, press or news release, or grantmaker Web site."