Grants, Funding and Nonprofits

As a partner with the Funding Information Network we provide access to the Foundation Center databases. The UM and Missoula communities are welcome to use these databases on public access computers within the library building.

Foundation Directory Online 
Search a database of 108,000 foundations, corporate giving programs and grant-making public charities in the U.S.; a database of 3 million recently awarded grants; and a database of 1 million recently filed IRS forms 990 and 990-PF.

Foundation Grants to Individuals Online
Search close to 10,000 foundation and public charity programs that fund students, artists, researchers, and other individual grantseekers. Covers scholarships, fellowships, loans, and internships; awards, prizes, and grants by nomination; research and professional support; and general welfare and special needs.

GuideStar
A database of 1.8 million IRS-recognized tax-exempt organizations and faith-based non-profits. Registration is required for access to 990 forms.

Catalog of Federal Domestic Assistance

"Catalog of Federal Domestic Assistance (CFDA) provides a full listing of all Federal programs available to State and local governments (including the District of Columbia); federally-recognized Indian tribal governments; Territories (and possessions) of the United States; domestic public, quasi- public, and private profit and nonprofit organizations and institutions; specialized groups; and individuals."

Community of Science
"Search for research funding opportunities from sources that include private and government sources such as the NSF, NIH, USDA. Search by keyword, deadline, funding amounts, geographic area, and more. E-mail funding alert available"

USA.gov: Government Grants and Loans
"Federal grants are awards of financial assistance to an individual and/or organization. Grants are used to carry out a government authorized purpose, and are not provided as personal benefits from the government or assistance. Grants are typically awarded to universities, researchers, law enforcement, cities, states, counties, and non-profit organizations. Loans are different than grants because they are awarded to an individual as a personal benefit or assistance. You are required to pay back a loan, often with interest".

• GovLoans.gov helps individuals looking for government loans. It directs you to the loan information that best meets your needs.
• Grants.gov helps states and organizations looking for grants.

Federal Rural Development
"The USDA offers loans, grants and loan guarantees to support essential services such as housing, economic development, health care, first responder services and equipment, and water, electric and communications infrastructure.

The USDA promotes economic development by supporting loans to businesses through banks, credit unions and community-managed lending pools. We offer technical assistance and information to help agricultural producers and cooperatives get started and improve the effectiveness of their operations."

Montana Community Foundation
"Since 1988, the Montana Community Foundation has worked tirelessly to create permanent philanthropy and build stronger communities. Our work with donors, charitable organizations, cities and towns plays a critical role in both philanthropic and community development. Since our founding, we have reinvested more than $35 million in Montana. In just the past 10 years, we have awarded more than 8,000 grants totaling more than $18.6 million."

Philanthropy Northwest
"Philanthropy Northwest in the business of catalyzing effective and collaborative philanthropy across the Philanthropy Northwest region."