Country Background
-
Business Source Complete This link opens in a new windowOver 1,200 country economic reports; as well as more than 3,800 full-text journals, including nearly 2,000 peer-reviewed journals; as well as SWOT analysis, case studies, industry reports, working paper collections and more.
-
The World FactbookInformation on the history, people, government, economy, geography, communications, transportation, military, and transnational issues for 267 world entities. Produced by the U.S. Central Intelligence Agency.
-
The World Bank CountriesData, research, and economic overviews on countries to which The World Bank provides assistance.
-
OECD (Organisation for Economic Cooperation and Development) iLibraryOnline library of the Organisation for Economic Cooperation and Development featuring its books, papers and statistics and is the gateway to OECD’s analysis and data. Includes country data in reports such as African Economic Outlook 2016. (Select the READ icon to access items, often the pdf requires a subscription.)
-
International Monetary Fund Country InformationCountry reports, working papers, survey data and reports, and more.
-
United NationsSee the Economic Outlook Database, Dept. of Economic and Social Affairs, and Data portal for information on member states.
-
USAID (United States Agency for International Development)Information on countries receiving aid as well as the aid programs.
- Consult the websites of individual countries, too.
Development Issues
-
EconLit This link opens in a new window
Index to economics-related journal articles, books, dissertations, and working papers from 1886-present. Also includes the full text of book reviews published in the Journal of Economic Literature since 1993.
-
Worldwide Political Science Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Index of international journal articles and book review citations from over 750 core serial publications. Includes abstracts of books, book chapters, dissertations, and working papers in political science and related disciplines such as international relations, law, public administration, and policy. Coverage spans from 1975 to the present.
-
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Explore over 2,800 academic journals across more than 60 disciplines, including the humanities, social sciences, and natural sciences. Access millions of primary sources from four unique collections: Global Plants, 19th Century British Pamphlets, Struggles for Freedom: Southern Africa, and World Heritage Sites: Africa. Discover over 3 million high-quality images from ARTstor, along with a growing library of 10,000+ open access books. Click more… for links to specific collections.
-
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
Full text scholarly journals in the fields of: area and ethnic studies; art and architecture; creative writing; education; film, theater, and performing arts; history; language and linguistics; library science and publishing; literature; medicine and health; music; philosophy; religion; science, technology, and mathematics; social sciences; studies by time period; women's studies, gender, and sexuality.
-
Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
Full text of thousands of scholarly journals, trade publications, market research reports, company profiles, and industry analyses. It covers key disciplines such as marketing, management, accounting, finance, and economics.
-
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Full text of thousands of academic journals, magazines, and other publications across a wide range of disciplines, including the humanities, social sciences, natural sciences, and more.
-
RePEc (Research Papers in Economics)Decentralized bibliographic database of working papers, journal articles, books, books chapters and more, maintained by volunteers in 87 countries.
-
Social Science Research NetworkAbstract database contains abstracts on over 682,100 scholarly working papers and forthcoming papers, and an Electronic Paper Collection currently contains over 572,200 downloadable full text documents.
-
WorldCat (FirstSearch) This link opens in a new window
Catalog of library resources held by institutions around the world. Find materials and place interlibrary loan requests for resources not owned locally.
-
Access World News: Research Collection This link opens in a new window
Digital news archive from NewsBank that provides access to thousands of global, national, and local news sources. Coverage dates vary by publication. To explore available titles and their date ranges, use the A–Z Source List.
-
Nexis Uni (formerly LexisNexis Academic) This link opens in a new window
Full text content from over 15,000 sources, including print and digital journals, newswires, blogs, and broadcasts from television and radio. Coverage spans local, regional, national, and international newspapers. Also included are legal resources featuring federal and state case law and statutes, along with detailed business information on U.S. and global companies and executives.
- Consult the websites of individual countries, too.
Keyword & Subject Searching
- Searching using keywords searches the words in the title of an article/report/journal/etc.; in the text of the abstract; in the subject terms; and in some cases in the full-text of a source.
- Subject Headings/Terms (also known as descriptors, controlled vocabulary, or classification terms) are assigned to each item (i.e., article) in most databases; the words are systematically used by librarians to organize/index items within a database. Searching using subject headings searches these assigned terms (that are not necessarily words in the article title or abstract).
- Research often involves using both keywords and subject terms in a search.
Citing Your Sources
- Mansfield Library Citation Style Guides and Management Tools
- Purdue Online Writing Lab
- Consult the Citation tab above for additional resources.