Research Guides: Economics Research Guide: Home

Scholarly Communication in Economics

Economists rely on three major sources of information:

1. Journal articles. Journal articles serve as a record of information that has already been communicated. They are peer-reviewed and of high quality compared to working papers. Journal articles are used to assess scholarly achievement.

2. Working papers. Working papers communicate the most recent scholarship. They are important because significant time elapses between manuscript submission and publication in the field. Working papers are not peer-reviewed and are used to gather comments and feedback on work in progress.

3. Datasets. Economists use datasets to replicate or challenge the conclusions of others in the field and as a teaching tool. Some journals, such as the American Economic Review, now make datasets available with each article.

Journal Articles (and More)

EconLit This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Worldwide Political Science Abstracts This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
ARTstor on JSTOR
Existing ARTstor logins automatically work on JSTOR. The separate artstor.org platform will be available until Aug 1, 2024, when it is scheduled to be retired.

Open Access books on JSTOR
More than 10,000 open access (OA) books from 125+ publishers, including Brill, Cornell University Press, University College of London, and University of California Press.

19th Century British Pamphlets
Nearly 26,000 pamphlets from collections in seven universities spanning more than one million pages. Brings together a corpus of primary sources for the study of sociopolitical and economic factors impacting 19th-century Britain.

New Collections Added Aug 2023
Thematic Collections
Three collections focusing on emerging areas of research and containing multiple types of content, including journals and open research reports. Collections include:
•Lives of Literature - Academic journals devoted to the deep study of writers and texts associated with core literary movements.
•Security Studies - Academic and open policy research on international and national security problems and foreign policy issues.
•Sustainability - Academic and open policy research on environmental stresses and their impact on society. Looks at sustainability and resilience through a broad lens spanning more than 30 disciplines.

Primary Sources
Global Plants
A growing collection of nearly three million high-resolution type plant specimens and related materials from over 300 community contributors around the world.

Struggles for Freedom: Southern Africa
27,000 objects and 190,000 pages of documents and images related to the liberation struggles and end of Apartheid in Southern Africa during the 20th Century, with an emphasis on Botswana, Mozambique, Namibia, South Africa, and Zimbabwe.

World Heritage Sites: Africa
More than 86,000 objects of visual, contextual, and spatial documentation of African heritage and rock art sites.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
OneSearch This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window

Working Papers

IDEAS
Search across working papers, articles, and software code in economics and finance research
NBER (National Bureau of Economic Research)
Working papers from the National Bureau of Economic Research
Social Science Research Network
Accounting, Economics, Financial Economics, Legal Scholarship, Information Systems, Management, Marketing, and Social Insurance

U.S. Data

American FactFinder
A different interface for the Census Bureau data. Statistics about population, housing, industry, and business available for download. Also allows for the creation of reference and thematic maps.
Bureau of Economic Analysis
Provides many statistical reports relating to business and economics.
Bureau of Labor Statistics
The BLS collects data on price indexes, inflation, consumer behaviors, salaries, benefits, work-related injuries, and more.
Census Bureau
The Census Bureau provides statistics on nearly every subject, including basic demographics, housing, education, income, business characteristics, and more. The American FactFinder application and "Subjects A to Z" link are especially useful.
Census Bureau Economic Indicators
The site's mission is to provide timely access to the daily releases of key economic indicators from the BEA and Census Bureau.
Federal Reserve Economic Data (FRED)
A database of over 15,000 U.S. economic time series.
Page One Economics
A core economic information portal produced by the St. Louis Federal Reserve Bank.
TradeStats Express
National, regional, and state trade statistics.

Social Science Datasets

ICPSR: Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Social science data repository, management, and curation consortium. The majority of datasets may be downloaded for analysis and data can be uploaded for preservation archiving and sharing. The ICPSR Bibliography of Data-related Literature is an index dating back to 1962, containing over 80,000 citations of works using data from the archive, including journal articles, books, book chapters, government and agency reports, working papers, dissertations, conference papers, and more.

International Data

International Monetary Fund, Data & Statistics
United Nations Global Economic Outlook Database
United Nations Statistics Division: Economics
World Bank Open Data
UN Data
This portal combines fifteen databases and 55 million records from different UN agencies with more expected in the future. Major topics include agriculture, employment, education, energy, environment, health, human development, industry, information and communication technology, population, refugees, trade, and tourism.