History Research Guide

Full text digitized pages of U.S. and global newspapers from 1607-present. Every newspaper in the archive is fully searchable by keyword and date.

Full text current and archived articles from U.S. and global news sources. Date coverage varies with individual newspaper.

Full text digitized newspapers from the 1800s, written by African Americans for African Americans. Also provides early biographies, vital statistics, essays and editorials, poetry and prose, and advertisements.

Index to journal, newspaper and magazine articles from international alternative, radical and left periodicals from 1969-present.

Full text digitized reproductions of more than 1,500 eighteenth and nineteenth century American newspapers and periodicals archived at the Center for Research Libraries (CRL). Titles include general interest, children's, women's, early scientific, and professional publications that chronicle the development of America across 150 years published from 1740-1940.

Full text digitized newspapers, pamphlets, proclamations, and newsbooks from 17th and 18th century English news media. Mainly materials published in London, with some papers from provincial England, Ireland, Scotland, the American colonies, Europe, and India. Note: Access the collection from Gale Primary Sources to cross-search a wider range of digital collections.

(1909-1975) Full text digitized newspaper covering politics, society, and events of the time from an African-American perspective

(1849-2014) Full text digitized newspaper. Includes the complete paper, cover-to-cover.

Full text of current newspaper, magazine, and journals of the ethnic and minority press, as well as historical coverage of Native American, African American, and Hispanic American periodicals from 1959-1989. Specific ethnic groups include African American/Caribbean/African, Arab/Middle Eastern, Asian/Pacific Islander, European/Eastern European, Hispanic, Jewish, and Native. See also the Diversity Collection to search Ethnic NewsWatch, GenderWatch and Alt-PressWatch in one platform.

Full text of scholarly and popular articles and gray literature titles focusing on the evolution of gender roles in society. Covers topics related to gay, lesbian, bisexual, and transgender studies; family studies; gender studies, and women's studies from 1970-present. See also the Diversity Collection to search Ethnic NewsWatch, GenderWatch and Alt-PressWatch in one platform.

Full text digitized newspapers from a range of urban and rural regions throughout the U.S. Includes major newspapers as well as those published by African Americans, Native Americans, women's rights groups, labor groups, the Confederacy, and other groups and interests. Also included are illustrated papers that bring the nineteenth century to life through the drawings of many artists. Note: Access the collection from Gale Primary Sources to cross-search a wider range of digital collections.