History Research Guide

• Afghanistan: The Making of U.S. Policy, 1973–1990 
• Argentina, 1975-1980: The Making of U.S. Human Rights Policy 
• The Berlin Crisis, 1958–1962 
• Chile and the United States: U.S. Policy toward Democracy, Dictatorship, and Human Rights, 1970–1990 
• China and the United States: From Hostility to Engagement, 1960–1998 
• CIA Covert Operations: From Carter to Obama, 1977-2010 
• CIA Covert Operations II: The Year of Intelligence, 1975 
• CIA Family Jewels Indexed 
• Colombia and the United States: Political Violence, Narcotics, and Human Rights, 1948-2010 
• The Cuban Missile Crisis, 1962 
• The Cuban Missile Crisis: 50th Anniversary Update
• The Cuban Missile Crisis Revisited: An International Collection, From Bay of Pigs to Nuclear Brink 
• Death Squads, Guerrilla War, Covert Ops, and Genocide: Guatemala and the United States, 1954-1999
• Electronic Surveillance and the National Security Agency: From Shamrock to Snowden 
• El Salvador: The Making of U.S. Policy, 1977–1984
• El Salvador: War, Peace, and Human Rights, 1980–1994 
• Iran: The Making of U.S. Policy, 1977–1980
• The Iran-Contra Affair: The Making of a Scandal, 1983–1988
• Iraqgate: Saddam Hussein, U.S. Policy and the Prelude to the Persian Gulf War, 1980–1994
• Japan and the United States: Diplomatic, Security, and Economic Relations, 1960–1976
• Japan and the United States: Diplomatic, Security, and Economic Relations, 1977–1992
• Japan and the United States: Diplomatic, Security, and Economic Relations, Part III, 1961-2000 
• The Kissinger Conversations, Supplement: A Verbatim Record of U.S. Diplomacy, 1969–1977
• The Kissinger Conversations, Supplement II: A Verbatim Record of U.S. Diplomacy, 1969-1977 
• The Kissinger Telephone Conversations: A Verbatim Record of U.S. Diplomacy, 1969-1977
• The Kissinger Transcripts: A Verbatim Record of U.S. Diplomacy, 1969-1977
• Mexico-United States Counternarcotics Policy, 1969-2013
• Nicaragua: The Making of U.S. Policy, 1978–1990
• Peru: Human Rights, Drugs and Democracy, 1980-2000
• The Philippines: U.S. Policy During the Marcos Years, 1965–1986
• Presidential Directives on National Security, Part I: From Truman to Clinton
• Presidential Directives on National Security, Part II: From Truman to George W. Bush
• South Africa: The Making of U.S. Policy, 1962–1989
• The Soviet Estimate: U.S. Analysis of the Soviet Union, 1947–1991
• Terrorism and U.S. Policy, 1968–2002
• U.S. Espionage and Intelligence, 1947–1996
• U.S. Intelligence and China: Collection, Analysis and Covert Action
• The U.S. Intelligence Community: Organization, Operations and Management, 1947–1989
• The U.S. Intelligence Community After 9/11
• U.S. Intelligence on Weapons of Mass Destruction: From World War II to Iraq
• U.S. Military Uses of Space, 1945–1991
• U.S. Nuclear History, 1969-1976: Weapons, Arms Control, and War Plans in an Age of Strategic Parity 
• U.S. Nuclear History: Nuclear Arms and Politics in the Missile Age, 1955–1968
• U.S. Nuclear Nonproliferation Policy, 1945–1991
• U.S. Policy in the Vietnam War, Part I: 1954-1968
• U.S. Policy in the Vietnam War, Part II: 1969-1975
• The United States and the Two Koreas, Part II, 1969-2010
• The United States and the Two Koreas (1969-2000)

ARTstor on JSTOR 
Existing ARTstor logins automatically work on JSTOR. The separate artstor.org platform will be available until Aug 1, 2024, when it is scheduled to be retired.

Open Access books on JSTOR
More than 10,000 open access (OA) books from 125+ publishers, including Brill, Cornell University Press, University College of London, and University of California Press.

19th Century British Pamphlets
Nearly 26,000 pamphlets from collections in seven universities spanning more than one million pages. Brings together a corpus of primary sources for the study of sociopolitical and economic factors impacting 19th-century Britain.

New Collections Added Aug 2023
Thematic Collections
Three collections focusing on emerging areas of research and containing multiple types of content, including journals and open research reports. Collections include: 
•Lives of Literature - Academic journals devoted to the deep study of writers and texts associated with core literary movements. 
•Security Studies - Academic and open policy research on international and national security problems and foreign policy issues. 
•Sustainability - Academic and open policy research on environmental stresses and their impact on society. Looks at sustainability and resilience through a broad lens spanning more than 30 disciplines.

Primary Sources
Global Plants
A growing collection of nearly three million high-resolution type plant specimens and related materials from over 300 community contributors around the world.

Struggles for Freedom: Southern Africa
27,000 objects and 190,000 pages of documents and images related to the liberation struggles and end of Apartheid in Southern Africa during the 20th Century, with an emphasis on Botswana, Mozambique, Namibia, South Africa, and Zimbabwe.

World Heritage Sites: Africa
More than 86,000 objects of visual, contextual, and spatial documentation of African heritage and rock art sites.