Finding Books and Media
Use WorldCat to find books and media located in libraries worldwide. Request items you find in WorldCat that the Mansfield Library does not own through Interlibrary Loan.
Many books no longer under copyright protection are available online. Try one of the following resources if you are looking for a book published before 1923: Google Books, Open Library, Project Gutenberg, The Universal Digital Library or The Perseus Digital Library.
Finding Good Articles
- L'Annee PhilologiqueClassical literature and information on Ancient Greece and Rome
The best place to look for articles is the library databases. Here are the best databases for discovering articles related to Classical Studies.
- Thesaurus Linguae Graecae This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Full text of most literary texts written in Greek from Homer (8 c. B.C.) to the fall of Byzantium in A.D. 1453. Produced by the University of California, Irvine. Note: Institutional users need a username and password to access TLG. Register on the site and check your email inbox for an activation link to complete the registration. As an institutional user, you will be redirected to the Full TLG.
- Index IslamicusIndex to literature on Islam, the Middle East and the Muslim world
- JSTORScholarly journals in the arts, humanities, social sciences, business, and sciences
- MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Index to journals, series, and books covering literature, language and linguistics, folklore, film, literary theory and criticism, dramatic arts, as well as the historical aspects of printing and publishing from the 1920s-present.
- Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full text scholarly journals in the fields of: area and ethnic studies; art and architecture; creative writing; education; film, theater, and performing arts; history; language and linguistics; library science and publishing; literature; medicine and health; music; philosophy; religion; science, technology, and mathematics; social sciences; studies by time period; women's studies, gender, and sexuality.
- WorldCat (Discovery) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Catalog of library resources held by institutions around the world. Find materials and place interlibrary loan requests for resources not owned locally.
- Literature Resource CenterBiographical and bibliographical information on authors and their works
- Historical Abstracts with Full Text (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
History and culture of the world, excluding the United States and Canada
- Directory of Open Access JournalsFull text, quality controlled scientific and scholarly journals
- Underground & Independent Comics, Comix, and Graphic Novels: Volume I This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full text digitized cartoon/comic strips, comics, artwork, commentary, and other primary documents focusing on adult comic books and graphic novels from North America and Europe, beginning with the first underground comix from the 1950s to the works of modern artists.