Finding Books and Media
Use WorldCat to find books and media located in libraries worldwide. Request items you find in WorldCat that the Mansfield Library does not own through Interlibrary Loan.
Many books no longer under copyright are available online. Try one of the following resources if you are looking for a book published before 1923: Google Books, Open Library, Project Gutenberg, The Universal Digital Library or The Perseus Digital Library.
Finding Good Articles
- CIA World FactbookThe World Factbook provides information on the history, people, government, economy, geography, communications, transportation, military, and transnational issues for 267 world entities.
The best place to look for articles is the library databases. Here are the best databases for discovering articles related to Spanish Studies.
- DialnetSpanish-language scholarly articles
- Directory of Open Access JournalsFull text, quality controlled scientific and scholarly journals
- Hispanic-American Periodicals Index (HAPI) This link opens in a new window
Index to scholarly journal articles published around the world on Latin America and the Caribbean political, cultural, economic, social issues, and the arts and humanities from 1960s-present.
- Historical Abstracts with Full Text (EBSCO) This link opens in a new windowHistory and culture of the world, excluding the United States and Canada
- JSTORScholarly journals in the arts, humanities, social sciences, business, and sciences
- Latino Literature: Poetry, Drama, and Fiction This link opens in a new window
Full text poetry, fiction, plays written in English and Spanish by hundreds of Chicano, Cuban, Puerto Rican, Dominican, and other Latino authors working in the United States, as well as audio files of selected poems and plays. Most works are from the period spanning the Chicano Renaissance (1965) to present.
- Literature Resource Center This link opens in a new window
Full text biographical information, overviews, full text literary criticism, and reviews on writers and their works in all disciplines, time periods, and regions of the world.
- MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
Index to journals, series, and books covering literature, language and linguistics, folklore, film, literary theory and criticism, dramatic arts, as well as the historical aspects of printing and publishing from the 1920s-present.
- Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
Full text scholarly journals in the fields of: area and ethnic studies; art and architecture; creative writing; education; film, theater, and performing arts; history; language and linguistics; library science and publishing; literature; medicine and health; music; philosophy; religion; science, technology, and mathematics; social sciences; studies by time period; women's studies, gender, and sexuality.
- WorldCat (Discovery) This link opens in a new window
Catalog of library resources held by institutions around the world. Find materials and place interlibrary loan requests for resources not owned locally.
- Underground & Independent Comics, Comix, and Graphic Novels: Volume I This link opens in a new windowFull text digitized cartoon/comic strips, comics, artwork, commentary, and other primary documents focusing on adult comic books and graphic novels from North America and Europe, beginning with the first underground comix from the 1950s to the works of modern artists.