Finding Books and Media
Use WorldCat to find books and media located in libraries worldwide. Request items you find in WorldCat that the Mansfield Library does not own through Interlibrary Loan.
Many books no longer under copyright protection are available online. Try one of the following resources if you are looking for a book published before 1923: Google Books, Open Library, Project Gutenberg, or The Universal Digital Library.
Finding Good Articles
The best place to look for articles is the library databases. Here are the best databases for discovering articles related to Japanese Studies.
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Full text scholarly journal, trade publication, magazine and newspaper articles, books, book reviews, reports, and Associated Press video content, covering all subject areas.
- CIA World FactbookThe World Factbook provides information on the history, people, government, economy, geography, communications, transportation, military, and transnational issues for 267 world entities.
- Dissertations & Theses Global, ProQuest This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window- This link opens in a new window
Index to dissertations and theses from over 3,000 institutions in 88 countries. Full text coverage spans from 1743-present, with citation coverage dating back to 1637. Note: Dissertations & Theses Global may also be searched and accessed via Web of Science, as well as OneSearch.
- JapanKnowledgeReference works on Japan
- JSTORScholarly journals in the arts, humanities, social sciences, business, and sciences
- Library of CongressCatalog of books, maps, manuscripts, photographs, films, audio and video recordings, prints and drawings, and other special collections
- Literature Resource CenterBiographical and bibliographical information on authors and their works
- MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Index to journals, series, and books covering literature, language and linguistics, folklore, film, literary theory and criticism, dramatic arts, as well as the historical aspects of printing and publishing from the 1920s-present.
- Project MUSEAccess literature from the fields of literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, economics, and many others.
- Web JapanJapanese culture, sightseeing, society, history and nature
- WorldCat (Discovery) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Catalog of library resources held by institutions around the world. Find materials and place interlibrary loan requests for resources not owned locally.
- Underground & Independent Comics, Comix, and Graphic Novels: Volume I This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full text digitized cartoon/comic strips, comics, artwork, commentary, and other primary documents focusing on adult comic books and graphic novels from North America and Europe, beginning with the first underground comix from the 1950s to the works of modern artists.