Research Guides: Forestry Research Guide: Legal, Legislative and News Sources

Legal and Legislative

HeinOnline
Full text law journals and full runs of the Federal Register, Statutes at Large, presidential documents, the Congressional Record, and Supreme Court opinions.
Nexis Uni (formerly LexisNexis Academic)
Full text content from over 15,000 sources, including print and digital journals, newswires, blogs, and broadcasts from television and radio. Coverage spans local, regional, national, and international newspapers. Also included are legal resources featuring federal and state case law and statutes, along with detailed business information on U.S. and global companies and executives.
U.S. Congressional (ProQuest Congressional)
Index of U.S. legislative and executive branch documents from 1789 onward. It includes congressional hearings, bills, reports, the Congressional Record, CRS reports, and presidential materials

Congress.gov
Official website for U.S. federal legislative information.

News

Access World News: Research Collection
Digital news archive from NewsBank that provides access to thousands of global, national, and local news sources. Coverage dates vary by publication. To explore available titles and their date ranges, use the A–Z Source List.
Alternative Press Index and Alternative Press Index Archive
Index of articles from alternative, radical, and progressive publications dating back to 1969, covering topics such as feminism, environmental justice, Indigenous rights, LGBTQ+ advocacy, and other social movements.
Environment & Energy Publishing (E&E News)

Full text of five daily publications from E&E News—Energywire, Climatewire, E&E Daily, Greenwire, and E&E News PM—covering energy and environmental policy nationwide and at the federal level, from the past three years to the present. Also includes archives of Land Letter, published from 2009 to 2012.
Missoulian
Full-text and full-color image edition of The Missoulian available via the NewsBank interface from Oct 1, 2020, to the present.
- The image edition is published by 6 a.m. on the day of publication.
- The text-only archive covers articles from 2003 through one day prior to the current date, with content typically available the day after publication.
- Image editions are missing from Feb-March 2025, due to technology issues at Lee Enterprises. Articles from the missing issues may be found in the text format.
New York Times
Log in via the link above using your email if you already have a NYT login—click Log In in the top right corner. Do not use the “Continue with work or school single sign-on” option.
To register for free access through UM's site license, click more… The subscription also provides access to Cooking, Games, Wirecutter, Athletic.
UM has a NYTimes.com site license effective Sept 19, 2024. Users can activate their account by following these instructions:
Step 1: Navigate to accessnyt.com
Step 2: Search for and click the listing for “University of Montana - Missoula, MT”
Step 3: Follow the steps based on whether you are On or Off Campus
- To perform the registration off campus, a user must be a current UM student, faculty, or staff member with a valid NetID. Retirees with a NetID also have access.
Please Note: If you have previously registered your email address on The New York Times site, you will click the "Already have an account?" "Log in here" link (below the "Create Account" button)
Existing Paid New York Times subscribers must cancel their paid subscription before authenticating via the school funded program.
Once registered, students will have access until 12/31 of the graduation year they choose and faculty/staff will have 4 years of full account access, after which they must re-authenticate by visiting accessnyt.com.
Tips:
Users may also get The New York Times app for iPhone and Android.
To switch to the homepage for a different day, click on Today’s Paper in the upper left-hand corner and choose a different date from the calendar drop-down.
Articles dating back to 2002 are available for search through the NYTimes site. To access the deep archive (back to 1851), go to the TimesMachine at https://timesmachine.nytimes.com/browser
Restrictions:
Access does not include the Replica Edition which is a digital reproduction of the printed newspaper. See the ProQuest Historical Newspapers: New York Times for image edition access for the years 1851 to 2020.
Due to copyright restrictions, archived articles published from 1923 to 1980, are restricted to 5 per day per user. Users should switch to the library’s separately licensed ProQuest Historical Newspapers: New York Times for unlimited access from 1851 to 2020.
Instructors may share NY Times articles with their students through adding a link to their syllabus or Canvas course. Students will need to have their own UM NYT account to log in with or they will be denied access to the article through the link. Instructors are not permitted to create a PDF of an article to share with their students.
Nexis Uni (formerly LexisNexis Academic)
Full text content from over 15,000 sources, including print and digital journals, newswires, blogs, and broadcasts from television and radio. Coverage spans local, regional, national, and international newspapers. Also included are legal resources featuring federal and state case law and statutes, along with detailed business information on U.S. and global companies and executives.

List of all newspaper content available via the Mansfield Library.